We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of The Snooty Fox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Snooty Fox
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morval
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent two nights at The Snooty Fox and had a lovely time. The place is spotless, food excellent, our room was top notch with en-suite and a very comfortable bed. A seperate living area with TV, fridge and coffee/tea making facilities complimented the experience AND we were able to take our dog!
The owners were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
You MUST try this place.
Nick and Pauline.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    54
    28
    18
    36
See reviews for
57
139
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a great place. Sometimes you just can't believe your luck on finding a little gem like "The Snooty Fox". We visited there on 25/06/2013 for two nights after my wife surprised me with an early Birthday present as we were driving down to see some friends in Portreath.
Set about 3 miles out of Looe, although by the side of a reasonably busy road, you just wouldn't have known it, very quite. We were welcomed by Jayne and Stewart as soon as we arrived on the car park and our adventure began.
We had intented to use it just as a base but after seeing the menu couldn't wait to get back on the first evening to sample the food so wonderfully prepared and cooked by Jayne. Breakfast, just the same. Great choice and lots of it.
Our room, Room One, was perfectly placed for the well stocked bar and dining room. Once again, no noise even though they were full. A sign of just how great the Snooty Fox is.
Perfectly positioned for the Coastal walk, (highly recommended).
A 5 mile walk to Polperro via Tallend Bay was a great way to spend the day. Your challenge is to see if you can walk back or weaken and use the boat to Looe or catch the bus or a taxi. We walked. Not for the Flip Flop brigade although they were alive and well as we passed them.
Can't wait to re-visit them and can't recommend Jayne, Stewart and the Snooty Fox enough. Look out for Stewart's mother-in-law (Jayne's mother), she's great, not as bad as Stewart makes out ha ha. Thanks to you all. Geoff and Julie Leicester.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacoLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here with my fiance recently, and after reading reviews, we were abit put off. However I'm glad we still went ahead with staying here, as we had a wonderful room, and a wonderful time. We got a groupon deal for 2 nights in a standard double room for £85, however when we phoned up to book, they were all sold out, so had to pay an extra £20, but it was well worth it!!

Room was one with own entrance, on the lower floor - one double and one single bed. Huge bathroom, plenty of room! Nice living area, good sized television etc. Room was spotless - and trust me, I'm picky!! Bed was extremely comfortable, towels cleaned, and you could see everything in the room had been hand picked out, and wasn't cheap.

Breakfast the next day was small, but tasty! Everything looked to be locally sourced too.

The reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is due to the fact the hospitality wasn't too great - didn't see much of the owners, and when we did, they looked miserable and only said about 5 words to us.

However don't let this put you off, and the location and the actual hotel is fantastic! Will definitely be coming back - its worth the full price!

Room Tip: Try and get one with your own entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeJaynee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a place, nice room; great food; great hospitality; lots of very nice other residents and nice staff. Close to the south Devon & Cornwall coastline with their lovely resorts, beautiful countryside and interesting places to visit. My wife, myself and our dog had a lovely 2 night stay and wished we could have stayed longer. In fact, we have already fixed that wish, by booking again in August and September.
Thanks Karen and Stuart, see you again soon.

Room Tip: If you are 'well built' ask for a room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S8PHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Pleasant owners,nice breakfast and clean but rooms tired decor we paid £85 for 2 nights on deal and it was worth that but would be very disappointed to pay full room rate for the accommodation.
We had whistling wind through gaps in windows,a shower that was either hot or cold,basin taps both ran hot water? The place needs some money invested in it and an update.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Cannot fault this place, friendly, very clean, food top class, hosts friendly, great room, will go back soon, thanks for a great time. Close enough to Looe only around four miles, large car park, great views

Room Tip: Ask for a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The location is good, food is reasonable as is the accommodation.

Unfortunately we were never made to feel welcome by the man of the house who remained unfriendly throughout our stay - indeed he gave the impression that the place was run for his benefit and not that of the paying customers. It isn't a hotel the bar seemed to close at around 8.30 - 9pm - the restaurant never appeared to be busy (which speaks volumes to me). The place lacks atmosphere or character. We won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KomradeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morval
2.9 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
262 reviews
4.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
855 reviews
2.6 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Snooty Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Snooty Fox

Property: The Snooty Fox
Address: A387, Morval, Looe PL13 1PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe > Morval
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Snooty Fox 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Snooty Fox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing