We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening out for Dinner”
Review of The Snooty Fox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Snooty Fox
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morval
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel/restaurant has recently undergone renovation. what an EXCELLENT job they've done. The surroundings are beautiful, with countryside views. The interior has been tastefully done with large loungy sofas for after dinner and comfortable seating at your table.
The menu has a wide range to suit most palettes - I would think - from steaks to sea bass. I had the Lamb 3 ways, DELICIOUS!! A large lamb steak, 2 kofte and 2 sticky ribs. These are marinated in black treacle - very moreish!! My husband had the Chicken with bacon cheese and sauce, he said his was so large a breast he couldn't eat it all. You could tell it was all freshly cooked. If I had to make a complaint it would be I would have liked my chunky chips a little more crispy.
The beer was very reasonably priced for such an establishment. We chose the Real Ale -Spingo - from helston brewery. A 5% beer !!!! only £2-90 a pint.
In all, a very pleasant evening with great food and surroundings. Thankyou

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hev1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 260 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

We booked this hotel on recommendation from someone who has been several times and found it to be very enjoyable and a pleasent hotel. Having been recently extensivley referbished it lived up to expectations. It was well run and the staff were very efficient and friendly. The breakfast's were very good with an exellant choice. The rooms were nicely furnished and very clean and tidy. We would have no hesitation in returning. Very quiet location.

John & Laraine.- Dorset

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micra75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel just for one night B & B plus we used the restaurant for dinner, we had a twin room as it was a last minute booking and the hotel was full, always a good sign.
The room was small but very clean and offered a very comfortable stay, plenty of tea, coffee, and fluffy towels. Only comment the tea bags were not a brand and not good.
We had dinner which was a very high standard and very good value for money. Two courses and drinks under thirty pounds. Breakfast there is an endless choice of hot and cold it was lovely freshly cooked full english and lots of toast, fab ( only neg here were no baked beans ) that was my husbands gripe not mine I had porridge with fruit compote beautiful.
What makes this hotel is the staff ( owners ) they are friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
Only negitive thing to say is they were very busy in the restaurant it was saturday night and the lady owner was stressed and seemed to be running around, this doesnt give a calm attmoshere. Maybe more staff would be good.
I will defo return as I thought for the money it was great. Perfect views.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehousekeeper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Karen, Stuart & Family work hard to make our stay comfortable. The accomodation is excellent, recently completly refurbished to a very high standard. The restaurant is very smart with lovely views over the cornish countryside. The food is prepared to order with many local ingredients. The hotel is situated just a couple of miles outside Looe, and is easily accesible to all the attractions Cornwall is famous for.

Room Tip: Our favourite rooms are the garden rooms. These have their own private entrance accesible from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanBisphamGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

from the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome.We booked a table last minute for the restaurant and was not a problem.Karen made our son feel just as important as she did all of us.Thank you for lovely stay .room very comfortable and all you need. See you again.In great location for travelling around Cornwall

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorsetmaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We are regular visitors to the Snooty Fox, having visited many times in the last seven years, with both family and friends. We find it to be very comfortable and clean. The staff are helpful, friendly and welcoming. The food is excellent and the whole experience is great value for money. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I would like to say what a thoroughly pleasant experience it was staying at the snooty fox. This is a family run affair and all were extremely friendly and helpful. it is situated not far from looe and an ideal location for travelling around the area. the service was excellent at all times. our room was one that could be accessed from the car park, it was quiet, extremely well decorated, it felt homely and most importantly is was pristine clean. the whole hotel, bar restaurant was outstandingly clean. the food was exceptional from the huge choice at breakfast, beautifully presented and cooked. there was a large choice of meals in the evening cooked to perfection. this really was a good experience, one that we choose again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morval
4.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
901 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
2.6 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
2.9 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
275 reviews
3.1 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Snooty Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Snooty Fox

Address: A387, Morval, Looe PL13 1PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe > Morval
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morval
Price Range: $53 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Snooty Fox 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Snooty Fox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing