We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveler rating
377
208
65
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
377
208
65
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river suet pudding sister hotel signature room lovely hotel no lift full english attending a wedding definitely stay here again business trip lovely setting smoked haddock conder green top floor an evening meal booked a table one night stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 676 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped here as we try to do from time to time effectively on those few occasions when the early evening sun still generates sufficient warmth to sit outside. And with a predominantly blue sky in the offing there is quite frankly no better place to be beside this country-side like broad expanse of water.

You can also have a snack or a full meal.

Prices for drinks are on the high side but you do get a good choice and you're really paying for the setting - can't be beaten.

Excellent service from smart, informative and efficient waiting staff.

Spotlessly clean throughout with an impressive decor.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey l, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review ,we are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to us,hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wanted to get off the tourist track and away from Blackpool and Fleetwood but not too far as I had business in fleetwood.
I was lucky I found this lovely hotel tucked away in Poulton-le-Fylde, loved it nice room great staff and delicious food.
I actually looked forward to coming back each evening.
Don’t miss it, it’s away from all the Rock, Candy Floss and kiss me quick.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank geoffmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey l, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you for your lovely review,yes we are close enough to Blackpool but far enough away to enjoy the peace and tranquillity of our river setting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend at the Shard having stayed here numerous times over the past 5 years whilst visiting family in the area and it never fails to please. The rooms are always of consistently high standard, spacious, warm and cosy, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, a decent sized en-suite and so quiet and peaceful. Add to this the stunning views over the river Wyre, what more could you ask for? The breakfast is fabulous with a good choice of hot food freshly cooked to order. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant, huge portions and again those views. The staff here are very friendly and courteous, hard working but always spare time for a chat. We are moving to the area soon and will miss staying at this lovely place but won’t hesitate in recommending it to family and friends.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 309LindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey l, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review.We certainly ticked all the boxes for you and this makes us really happy.We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

Came across this place when searching for a picturesque place to have lunch on my husband's 65th birthday.
The photographs of The Shard don't lie. It's in an easy to get to, yet tranquil, location right on the bank of the river. We booked on line and asked for a window table so we could take in the view, there are only 5 window tables so booking would always be best. The restaurant itself is airy yet cosy, the menu is quite comprehensive and do bring your appetites with you as the portions are anything but mean! All the staff who served us were very professional yet friendly.
While we were dining we were the tide turned on the river and we saw much birdlife taking advantage of all the water was stirring up.
It's definitely worth a trip to sample the food, I would expect on fair weather days and weekends it gets very busy.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey l, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely comments.we are so happy you chose to celebrate a birthday with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

My wife and I stayed at the Shard in May.We found it catered mainly for corporate or business clients as opposed to the casual visitor.The restaurant fare was small on portions and over priced .The bar tariff was also over inflated.As I stated, The Shard caters for business or company personnel, so the inflated prices are claimed on expenses ,which in turn are claimed as tax relief .The cleanliness of The Shard is not up to the standard expected considering the cost of the rooms.Fluffy dust was prevalent behind settee in bedroom.After showering ,the bath mat was quite dirty from the floor.The place honestly ,would benefit from a deep clean.We couldn't find any access for wheelchairs.In fact,anyone with mobility problems would find access to the premises difficult,especially the bedrooms which are all on the first and second floors,with no lift..Must make it clear that the restaurant staff(one of them at least)were quite delightful.That is ,apart from the breakfast staff...just the one,were not at all welcoming.It seemed that the job was an unwanted chore.Never smiled once while we were there,we did try to coax her but to no avail.By far the best attribute of The Shard is the setting by the river.Really sorry that I can't give a favourable opinion .Maybe others will find The Shard more tasteful.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the river are the best.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank goggyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey l, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2019

A nonsense inaccurate review.
Constructive feedback is all ways welcome. However in this case it is just not true to say the room needed extra deep cleaning. We have recently been regraded by the English tourist board as Four star based upon hygiene,cleanliness,food quality and value for money.
Picking fault at the waitress who served breakfast also reflects that the review writer was just looking for things to complain about. Shard Riverside is a modern Inn offering quality accommodation with a pricing structure offering value for money. We do also provide wheelchair access to our restaurant and accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews