We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would happily stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shard Riverside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would happily stay longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and ate 3 dinners and 3 breakfasts. This is a straightforward hotel, ie there are no pools, gyms etc, but what it does it does well: modern, clean rooms and a good bar and restaurant with lovely views over the tidal river. The service has been very good, the food has been consistently very good with a broad menu, so much so that we have chosen to come back and eat here each night (we don't usually choose to eat in hotels. The food is freshly cooked and they have been very happy to cater for the gluten-free person in our party (gluten-free chips!) with knowledgable staff. We wish we could stay longer as this hotel is well placed for reaching Fleetwood, Blackpool and Morcambe too.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view risk a little noise from the river terrace on summer evenings with open wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLK791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
With reviews like this that reflects all that we stand for, we hope you return on many occasions and for long periods. Thank you for your kind review. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    159
    49
    14
    6
See reviews for
121
241
20
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,241 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 658 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

A combination of nice friendly helpful staff, good food, a modern simply furnished room and a very nice location.

First the staff - nice initial welcome at check-in with relevant information, through to good bar and breakfast service. Food wise I enjoyed a chicken liver pâté, followed by fish which was good. Sat at tables outside enjoying the view downstream with a nice local ale before eating.

Room had an LED TV and views of the river (I was in room 5 but I reckon room 6 has even better views). Walls and floors a little thin so certainly heard people come and go; but bed was comfy.

Free wifi in rooms and bar area. Very good value at £65 B&B.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Certainly no faults in your kind, thorough and accurate review. We are pleased that we ticked all the boxes for your stay and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel and restaurant in the near future. Regards and many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for our anniversary and requested a window table, we were told they would do their best. Bearing in mind this was 2 weeks in advance. On arrival no window. The food was good but no one came to ask if it was ok until we had finished. We had to ask twice for coffee and then waited 20 mins. We felt the lighting could have been a little more subdued as it felt a bit like you were in a cafe. Just needs some attention to detail to make it a lovely restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LancashireDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Our apologies for the obvious lapses in our usual high standard service. We learn from our mistakes and hope that these are not repeated when you visit us again.
We can never, unfortunately, guarantee window seats as the volume and size of group bookings can dictate how we can arrange tables. We always try our best and we hope to place you by our windows on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Comfortable rooms over looking the river. Clean and tidy. Helpful staff. Relax in your room, restaurant or on the terrace and watch all the birds along the river. Good quality, local food at fair prices.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
You sum up our standards and fantastic location so well in so few words. We thank you for such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
507 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Not bad. Rooms were adequate but the bed was too small for a couple. Asked if they had rooms with Kingsize beds to be told no. Haven't slept in a double bed for years. Price was steep for the quality. The lack of lift didn't help as we were on the top floor. Would agree with the other reviewer with regard to service as was OK but not what one would expect for the price. Breakfast was excellent however and the only redeeming feature

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMacartney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I am sure many more guests would disagree with your assessment of our quality and value.
We appreciate your opinion though and thank you for reviewing us. Good to know that your last experience was the excellent breakfast enjoyed by many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were visiting family and this is the best place to stay in the locality. The setting on the River Wyre is quite special - lovely to sit out on the terrace of an evening, and so pretty popular with the locals. There's no lift - bit of a pain if you have a lot of luggage, as we did, on a long trip from Australia. Rooms are adequate, but don't expect bathroom 'add-ons', bathrobes etc. Service mostly cheerful, if a bit erratic and inattentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoganhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
An incredible setting in the sunshine of July. We do all we can to live up to our 4* rating for service and quality in all areas of the hotel. I am sure the 'erratic' was a result of the extremely busy trade that the sun has brought us but we as a team do our utmost to provide the best service levels that we can in such circumstances.
We hope to welcome you back to our shores in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here whilst attending a wedding in the area, excellent location, rooms very clean, nice furnishings, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and liquid soap/hair body wash provided. Lovely view over the river, food excellent in the restaurant and also the full English breakfast. Would definitely recommend this hotel. The hotel was quiet apart from some inconsiderate guests who decided to have an argument at 1.50 in the morning, hotel can't account for this.

Room Tip: We had a standard room overlooking the river, couldn't fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smaPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
'Excellent stay' and excellent review of our hotel and standards. It is a shame that some guests can mindlessly disrupt other's rest but it is infrequent......and we thank you for taking your time to acknowledge all the positives of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poulton Le Fylde
3.5 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.9 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,803 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,210 reviews
5.0 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shard Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shard Riverside Hotel

Property: Shard Riverside Hotel
Address: Old Bridge Lane, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Poulton Le Fylde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poulton Le Fylde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shard Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning river views, comfortable sleeping and free wifi throughout, the Shard Riverside is the perfect choice for the modern traveller or discerning business guest. Just a stone's throw away from the M55 Motorway yet nestled in Lancashire's finest rolling countryside, the Shard offers a relaxing get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Enjoy our riverside restaurant with fabulous views, serving local Bowland Ales and a wide choice of Lancashire dishes all prepared using the best in local produce. Just 10 min drive from the M55 Motorway and 2 miles from Poulton-le-Fylde train station, the Shard Riverside is well connected for the modern day traveler. So if you're staying for one night or more, come and see why guests regard the Shard Riverside as a jewel in the crown on the Fylde Coast. Our 23 bedrooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with most enjoying stunning, panoramic river views. All rooms have free wifi, plus internet connected TVs for your modern convenience. Rooms range from standard double en suite to luxury signature rooms with guaranteed river views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shard Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shard Riverside
Shard Riverside Hotel Poulton Le Fylde, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing