We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lancashire hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shard Riverside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Lancashire hospitality!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stopped overnight on a business trip.
The hotel stands pretty much alone on the bank of the tidal river Wyre opposite the town.
On arrival, the outlook is wonderful and parking plentiful.
The room was absolutely fine with great views over the river.
Everything worked as it should and tea/coffee making facilities were provided.
Be aware that there is no lift/elevator if you have bulky or heavy bags and all rooms are upstairs.
I dined with a colleague and we chose to do so at the comfortable tables in the bar area, where the full restaurant menu is also served.
The food was excellent and the service fine.
My one gripe is that the bar offered a selection of Eurofizz (lager!) but only one proper ale.
Having said that it was a good beer and I did not feel too short changed. The wine list was perfectly OK.
Getting ready in the morning was made a treat by the river view and the antics of the waterfowl, specially a very industrious heron.
Breakfast was cooked to order and excellent.
Altogether this is the kind of hotel that you look forward to staying at again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi Mike G,

Thanks for giving up your time to write a lovely review. The good thing about the Shard is we cater well for families and people looking for a relaxing break, as well as business travellers who are looking for a better experience than some chain hotels can offer. Our relaxing waterside positon really does help you to unwind, yet we are still only minutes from the major road networks.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    162
    51
    14
    6
See reviews for
124
244
21
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

last weekend my partner and i had a lovely 2 nights stay at the shard as a treat for my birthday. we have been here before but only for meals but always said that we would like to stay. we know and love the area very well as we have a static caravan in singleton. we werent disappointed with our stay it was lovely. food, as we already knew, was gorgeous, room overlooking the river was spotlessly clean, warm and plenty big enough for the two of us, but what really made it for us was the warmth and friendliness of the staff.
thankyou
we would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillmerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi jillmerseyside,

Great to hear we looked after you well for your Birthday trip. It's always nice to hear of guests who have enjoyed our restaurant and decide to come back for an overnight stay. I personally never tire of arriving early and enjoyed the early morning river view. It really is quite spectacular.

Thanks again and happy belated Birthday!

Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Thank you for our recent stay at the Shard Riverside. A warm welcome upon checking in and out. The room was modern and clean and we had a lovely view of the river. All staff very polite and friendly. Special thanks to your chef (Lee) who was able to cater and was very knowledgeable about my gluten/wheat free diet due to coeliac disease. Would definitely return, hopefully for a little longer to explore the local area.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with river view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RplusM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi RplusM,

I'm glad you found our hotel a clean and enjoyable experience. Lee, our Head Chef is a new(ish) member of our team. Already he and his team have improved our restaurant. His knowledge and experience is helping to establish our dining experience as one of the best in the area.

Thanks for your kind comments,

Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Internet booking was very straight forward. On arrival we were warmly welcomed at reception.The room was clean and appeared to have been recently re-furbished, A flat screen TV and full tea/coffee making facilities were provided. Bathroom was substantial and included a large corner shower. Bar & Dining Room were clean and pleasant with friendly staff.Both Breakfast and Dinner were substantial with a good selection on both menus. The position overlooking the River Wyre is excellent. We both enjoyed our two night stay and will not hesitate to return at a later date and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are excellent for bird watchers. At low tide there is a good selection o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi Singly,

Great review so thanks for that. At the Shard one of our ongoing concerns is to always keep our rooms looking fresh, clean and well presented (so thanks for noticing).

I'm pleased you enjoyed the local wildlife and sea-birds. We are lucky to have year round migrating feeders, and they are a constant delight to watch and observe. Also look out for greedy herons who usually patrol the area.

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I've stayed at the Shard a few times and it's always my first choice when I'm in the area.

The rooms are spotless and comfortable, en-suites have showers rather than baths but with good water pressure, and heated towel rails.

Breakfast is cooked to order and always high quality. I always eat in the restaurant (which is great), so it's a one-stop shop.

Parking is easy outside, so long as you don't arrive during the Sunday lunch rush!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi Singly,

Thanks for continuing to use the Shard when visiting the area. I'm pleased we serve as your 'one-stop shop' (great phrase). It's great to know we tick all your boxes and provide a reason to re-visit us time and time again.

Many thanks for your valued custom.

Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in the Shard in February 2013 for a family birthday. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the restaurant was busy as there was another party on at the time but the staff coped well with the situation. The meal was excellent with a varied menu of locally sourced produce and good portion size. The hotel is set back from the road so there was no noise during the night and the room was comfortable and very clean. i would highly recommend staying here and i know i will be doing so whenever i am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi Geoff W,

Thanks for reviewing the Shard. I'm glad you enjoyed our locally sourced, seasonal menu and your party enjoyed their dining experience.

Many thanks, do come back again soon,

Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I have just enjoyed a delicious meal in the shard riverside restaurant. This is my first visit on business and I had no choice of where I was staying. I'm glad to say I am delighted with the choice and will definitely be staying here in the future, on business and pleasure.
Food was outstanding, staff extremely helpful and attentive. Can't ask for more.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbrayns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi pbrayns,

Glowing review, many thanks for that. I guess it was fortunate your work booked you into the Shard on your behalf. I'm pleased you enjoyed everything we have to offer. Please do come back again on business or pleasure, as repeat business is always the best feedback we get!!

Thanks
Chris Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poulton Le Fylde
3.5 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
212 reviews
4.9 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
517 reviews
5.0 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,905 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,091 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 70 in Blackpool
3,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shard Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shard Riverside Hotel

Property: Shard Riverside Hotel
Address: Old Bridge Lane, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Poulton Le Fylde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poulton Le Fylde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shard Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning river views, comfortable sleeping and free wifi throughout, the Shard Riverside is the perfect choice for the modern traveller or discerning business guest. Just a stone's throw away from the M55 Motorway yet nestled in Lancashire's finest rolling countryside, the Shard offers a relaxing get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Enjoy our riverside restaurant with fabulous views, serving local Bowland Ales and a wide choice of Lancashire dishes all prepared using the best in local produce. Just 10 min drive from the M55 Motorway and 2 miles from Poulton-le-Fylde train station, the Shard Riverside is well connected for the modern day traveler. So if you're staying for one night or more, come and see why guests regard the Shard Riverside as a jewel in the crown on the Fylde Coast. Our 23 bedrooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with most enjoying stunning, panoramic river views. All rooms have free wifi, plus internet connected TVs for your modern convenience. Rooms range from standard double en suite to luxury signature rooms with guaranteed river views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Shard Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shard Riverside
Shard Riverside Hotel Poulton Le Fylde, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing