We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definately go again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wrea Green
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ribby Hall Village Self Catering Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We have just returned from a weekend break at Ribby village and must say were really impressed with all the facilities and the acommodation, Our place for the stay was a poppy bungalow, it was spotless and was fitted out and decorated to a very high standard, we had three bedrooms, the main bedroom was ensuite and looked as if it hadn't been renovated all that long. We had a lovely grass patio area to the back where the children could play safely, and feed the ducks throuhout the day as they visited us. The indoor pool was very good, and the nice touches were that there were watering cans and buckets for the younger children to play with in the small pool, The lifreguards were very attentive as my son in law was using a under water camera to photo my granddaughter swimming and was asked very politely that taking pictures was not allowed, which was not a problem.. The entertainment for the children on the Saturday night was very good with characters dressed up and a magician who was fab with all the kids. We ate out twice in the Bar and Grill and and the staff couldn't have been more obliging. There is an indoor play area for the young children and this can get really busy when the weather is bad as we found out, and also it is open to the locals to use anytime for £1 each child so is used by lots of locals. We were a little disappointed to find the New Spa and Hotel wasn't open as the staff had explained they were waiting for a shipment of beds from Germany and were delayed, so we were unable to take a look and use the facilities. The riding stables were really busy with the pony rides regardless of the awful weather we endured, and there was also bike hire and a boating lake but due to the rain, was very quiet, Going back to the bungalows, if we go again we will ask for a cottage round the edge of the fishing lake as it was lovely and u could sit on the patio and watch the men and boys fishing, don't know if any one caught any fish tho. There was also a wedding inthe banqueting Hall while we were there, and I think It is very popular for these. I have put a few pics on of our weekend, and would just like to say if you are considering going, just book and see for yourself, you won't be disappointed..We stayed in Salmons Leap No 142 and it was as i said earlier spotless. Well done Ribby

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollieNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2011

have just returned from our holidays in ribby hall which i would def reccommend i had 2 children and went with a friend who also had 2 children we stayed in the poppy acc which was great clean and comfortable beds we had patio doors to a grass area however some of the other houses patio were at the front where cars park the bar and grill was excellent good food and entertainment for the children the pool was average and wouldnt have wanted to spend the whole 5 days just at ribby it was a good base to do blackpool etc

Room Tip: check patio area is on grass area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broadcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

OK we only stayed one night, the venue was chosen for us as we attended a friends wedding held here. We never saw a "hall" it was all purpose built cottages. With that in mind you might think that they would have been well designed. Ours (1 double and 2 twin rooms) had a pleasent enough kitchen/dining area and the lounge had patio doors to a pleasent enough grass area. Not sure what the additional door was there for as it could not be accessed without moving furniture. However our only real complaint was the size of our en-suite. The loo was so squashed in you could only sit on it sidewards (I am only 10 stone dripping wet so goodness knows how larger folk manage). The shower was so small you could only raise one hand at a time to wash your hair. Finally there were no electrical sockets for a hair drier in the bedroom. If there was we could not find them.
The wedding venue was very good and our friends used the pool and sauna which they said was very nice. Lots of youngsters around with plenty of facilities for them

Room Tip: great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed for 4 days on a hen party. The chalets were fabulous, very chic and very very clean, we were extremely impressed. We were shocked though to find that only 1 car parking was free and the other charged at £5 per day which was rather extortionate considering if you book a 6 berth chalet you need 2 cars. Ribby say this is for charity but if so it should be voluntary. We asked, on arrival, if the Friday BBQ was on and was told yes it was in Harrisons Bar. The 17 of us went down at 8pm expecting to have a meal but was then told the BBQ was not on due to the weather!!!!!!!! This was the hottest weekend for months so we had to make do with a pizza from next door which I have to say was very good but not what we had gone for.
We had a meal in the Restaurant on Saturday and this was FANTASTIC.We had a cocktail which was superb and promised ourselves another one on Sunday. We went in at 9pm and was shocked to be told they closed at 8.30pm and could not serve us. Why on earth close a restaurant at 8.30pm. We then went into the other bar and was horrified to find the bar closed at 10.30pm, certainly not was was expected when your on holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoltonTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We recently had a familiy holiday at Ribby hall. took twins of 2.5yrs. We all really enjoyed ourselves. The accomondation (diamond) was clean and very comfortable, even had a washer dryer which was great ! lots of wildlife came up to the door (ducks/rabbits). The soft play was excellent and not crowded at all. Outside play was good and had something for most age groups. The pool was good. nice idea to have watercans around the spash area and this entertained them filling up buckets of water. The blue flume you were able to take down the children and they loved this. I thought the childrens character disco was well organised and so left early. Lots to do in the area but the highlight was blackpool zoo. A small zoo so able to get round all the exhibts. under3 are free. We will be going back to Ribby hall again

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank donna_fielding6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Having researched Ribby Hall online, I decided it would be an ideal holiday for myself and my family (two boys 22 months and 5 months). The reviews raved how good it was for children. i was surprised that there were not many photo's of the holiday park, just general pictures on how your accomodation should look. I booked the Poppy cottage for 4 adults and 2 children, it boasted being newly refurbised last year and the 'typical' pictures looked nice. However on arrival we made our way to the accomodation, my expectations were obviously too high! It was situated in a cul de sac of other cottages and they all looked a bit grim! The cottage I would describe as average (although it was described as refurbished' it was very dated). The carpet had dead bugs on it and appeared not to have seen the hoover prior to our arrival. it seemed trivial so we did not make a fuss, just cleaned it up. There was some very friendly ducks who visited us on a regular basis! We quickly unpacked and had a walk to explore, we headed to the Island clubhouse, which sounded good. It was meerly a shed with a kitchen, the food was the cheapest on site (however you get what you pay for). The 'Clubhouse' is situated near to the golf club and near the boating lake, unfortuantely there is a steep grassy hill that leads to the pond and there was no fence, and with an excitable toddler who wants to explore this is NOT good. A little fence maybe???!! We went to the family pool, the pictures of that are also very deceptive. The changing facilities are horrendous, there is no way a family could fit in the changing cubicle. The lockers are also not big enough, probably need two for a family of four. The pool was a bit on the cold side with varying depths which was ok for the children, but the slide was a bit of a let down (could only use the blue one, the yellow one is for teenagers!) on coming out of the pool only two of the showers were working, out of about 6. We decided not to go in the pool again as it seemed quite drab. The soft play area was small but well set out. I appreciate it is hard to keep a place like that clean but i didnt want to let my little one lie in the baby area! The outdoor play area is again well set out but situated right next to the entrance and car park, which is not ideal. We went to the Bar and Grill on Wednesday evening at 630pm for the childrens character disco, what a sham! the DJ rolled out a 645pm there were no characters, and when the children tried to entertain themselves and climb on stage, they were told to get off. Get a grip Ribby Hall they are children and want to explore and have fun !! The places to eat on site were very pricey, we only ate in the Bar and Grill and the food was average, nothing special for the prices being charged, better value leaving the site to eat or doing your own! We did actually spot a mini grill menu, which seemed reasonable value, meals for around £6, when we enquired we were informed it was the childrens menu, (why not just call it a childrens menu!!). We were also disappointed that you had to pay extra for the use of the Gym, Tennis and Squash facilities, to me this should have been included in the not very cheap price! We took 2 cars and had to pay £20 for the extra car as there was only one parking space at the cottage. The car park is very busy and you have to take your chance. The site gets extremely busy around 315pm, the outddor playground, the soft play area and the pool are swamped by older children obviously just out of school, (probably the children of the leisure club members) . They intimidated the younger children. The soft play area was taken over by a group of 10/11yr olds whose parents were outside talking and not paying attention, my little boy was pushed out, it was the same on the outside area. It was a lot of money for a poor holiday park, and the children were not catered for adequately and the safety aspect is also an issue. In addition to this there was a charge for the WiFi, which was £3 an hour, this was unreasonable due to the general cost of broadband services! It seems as if Ribby Hall have oversubscibed the venue with it being a members leisure club and a holiday site, the greediness ruins what could be a very nice place! An earlier review referred to the site as being called Robby Hall. I have to agree.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chelley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed here with our 2 year old son as we decided not to go abroad this year. We were not disappointed with Ribby Hall. Our cottage (Rose) was massive and very clean with everything you could think of. In the evening we sat in our livingroom and watched the rabbits, squirrels and ducks pass by. The village itself is beautiful and very peaceful. We spent most of our time in the swimming pool, softplay and outdoor playparks but there is a vast amount of activities for all ages going on. We ate in Papa John's pizza and Starbucks which were great. There is a Morrisons 2mins away in Kirkham so this holiday can be as cheap or expensive as you choose to make it. We mainly ate in the cottage but the bar & grill menu looked great. We didn't use the entertainment much but took our son to he kids disco's which he loved. You can visit beautiful coastal towns such as St Annes, Lytham & Cleveleys. Blackpool is about 15 mins away but Ribby Hall is in a class of it's own. We loved it so much we have booked again for later in the year! Hope it keeps up the good standards.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanilla74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrea Green
1.8 mi away
The Villa Express Kirkham
6.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,238 reviews
5.9 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#32 of 73 in Blackpool
4,021 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
946 reviews
20.3 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bolton
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribby Hall Village Self Catering Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribby Hall Village Self Catering Accommodation

Address: Ribby Hall Ribby Road | Nr Blackpool, Wrea Green PR4 2PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wrea Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Wrea Green
Price Range: $79 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ribby Hall Village, comprises more than 100 acres of beautiful Lancashire / Fylde countryside in the North West of England. Accredited as five-star by Visit Britain with a choice of luxury cottages and idyllic pine lodges with outdoor hot tubs, hosting 2-6 guests per property. Motel rooms are also available as are three larger and bespoke properties each within their own private grounds hosting 8-14 guests per property. There are an abundance of sport, leisure, dining, and entertainment options for all ages and 365 days a year. Adult guests can also enjoy the award winning SPA Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ribby Hall Village Self Catering Cottages Hotel Wrea Green
Ribby Hall Village Hotel
Ribby Hall Village Wrea Green
Ribby Hall Village Self Catering Accommodation Wrea Green, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing