We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has deteriorated since last visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Villa, Wrea Green
Ranked #1 of 1 Wrea Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2010

The general ambiance has hampered by the hotel being nearly deserted and it being a somewhat gloomy, wet January evening.

The 1st room allocated was baking hot so asked for another room, the 2nd was fine but the overall decoration of the accommodation block is starting to look worn since my last visit and not in keeping with the image they portray (or their prices..). The TV was only tuned in with 2 stations and couldn't been fixed. The receptionist advised it was a known problem that they had evidently chosen not to get resolved. The remote control was held together with sellotape which said a lot about their attention to detail, likewise the paint-splattered bathroom floor.

The exterior of the hotel is illuminated at night with rather harsh orange sodium flood-lighting (think motorway street-lighting...) which is kept on the whole night and gets through the curtains. The earlier comment about a glorified Travel Lodge is apt.

The bar food was to a high standard, breakfast ditto.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidbush, Manager at The Villa, Wrea Green, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2010

I am sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay as much as you have done in the past however i must let you know that the hotel was bought in May this year and as a result is getting a well deserved make over. Most of the rooms have now been redecorated including one which has been turned into a suite with large double shower, mirror TV at the end of the bath and a sitting room. The new televisions are also due shortly which will give you access to approximately 60 channels. I must thank you for your comment about the outside lighting as noone has mentioned this before and as such i will look into this problem and find a solution for the light coming in at night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 487 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2009

The hotel was really lovely and a nice contrast to nearby Blackpool and Lytham St Annes given its country setting.
The rooms in the hotel were a good size and nicely appointed, my mother-in-law claimed it was the best hotel room she had ever stayed in but i am not sure i would quite go that far!
The best thing about the hotel in my opinion is the quality of the food and drink served in the restaurant.
Both dinner and breakfast were excellent, particularly the cooked breakfast, and there was even a couple of nice real ales in the bar.

The only problem we had was that they charged us for using a cot they provided even when we brought our own travel cot but this was very quickly rectified once pointed out to them.

I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Armstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidbush, Manager at The Villa, Wrea Green, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2010

Thank you for your kind words. I am sorry you was charged for the cot but am glad that we rectified this for you quickly and efficiently. I do hope we will see you back with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We found this hotel to be a hidden gem. It is situated in a country setting with pastureland on either side. Parking was sufficient. The rooms were comfortable, warmly decorated and of average size. The pub and dining rooms were terrific!! Dinner was very good, breakfast was typical. The outside tables with umbrellas were perfect for enjoying a drink, tea or chatting on a warm summer's afternoon or evening. We loved it here and
would definitely return on future vacations.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zanzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We had our wedding at the villa having had a few lovely meals here previously, and as it has always been highly recommended by business aquaintances. Everyone thought that the food was the best ever. We chose to have a barbeque and a buffet in the evening. The staff were so nice and helpful and everything was so well managed. The only thing missing was music, although background music was apparently playing we couldn't hear it.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheriescanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Picked this hotel the night before our departure for Lancashire. Offered a good deal and was just a bit out of the way from the many hotels of Lytham and Blackpool, which was what we wanted. We were pleasantly surprised by a little gem of a hotel, with a very clean and comfortable room, a lovely bar, and a reasonably accomplished restaurant. The breakfast was excellent, although I would have preferred a jug of coffee rather than having to ask for it a cup at a time!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Stayed for one evening when we saw special offer - there was a jazz night on prior to which we had a lovely meal. Staff and management were very friendly and helpful and what great value for money - would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cannelloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Lovely stay for one night at bargin price of £45 for double room B+B (laterooms.com) had nice meal in restaurant good service. Well cooked breakfast plenty choice.Clean reasonable size rooms, lovely village near coast perfect for a relaxing getaway!!! Will return hopefully.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank janbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrea Green
2.6 mi away
The Villa Express Kirkham
3.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
328 reviews
3.2 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
5.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,260 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Spa Hotel at Ribby Hall Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa, Wrea Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa, Wrea Green

Address: Wrea Green PR4 2PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wrea Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wrea Green
Price Range: $61 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa, Wrea Green 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Wrea Green is a quaint country house hotel based in idyllic country side near Preston Lancashire. Set amidst rolling parkland, The Villa presents an imposing aspect from the sweeping private approach and, once inside, the beautifully planned accommodation certainly lives up to its promise, offering handsome, well-proportioned public spaces and luxuriously appointed bedrooms. Set in wonderful surroundings of the Lancashire countryside, The Villa is the perfect location for any occasion. The Villa’s historic appearance, well-equipped conference rooms, spacious restaurant & bar, pavilion marquee dedicated service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business and to create memories that will last a lifetime. Many visitors come to The Villa for its historic charm and splendid location, but they stay - and often return again and again - because of the warm hospitality and excellent personal service that they experience here. The hotel rooms are spacious and appointed to the highest standards, offering stylish, comfortable accommodation. All thirty one air-conditioned rooms feature superior en suite facilities and have been tastefully designed and furnished to create the ideal atmosphere for a relaxing visit. In addition, The Villa also offers two lovely suites and four fantastic state rooms, two of which have king size 4-posters and two have split-level mezzanine floors. All four have spectacular bathrooms with TV, surround sound system and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Villa, Wrea Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Hotel Wrea Green
The Villa, Wrea Green England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing