We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Villa, Wrea Green
Ranked #1 of 1 Wrea Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Stayed for one evening when we saw special offer - there was a jazz night on prior to which we had a lovely meal. Staff and management were very friendly and helpful and what great value for money - would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cannelloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    109
    53
    34
    29
See reviews for
139
134
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Lovely stay for one night at bargin price of £45 for double room B+B (laterooms.com) had nice meal in restaurant good service. Well cooked breakfast plenty choice.Clean reasonable size rooms, lovely village near coast perfect for a relaxing getaway!!! Will return hopefully.

  • Liked — Situation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank janbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We booked to stay overnight as we were attending a Xmas party night at the hotel. Living nearby we have often been to the Villa for lunch/dinner but this was the first time we have stayed over.
Our room, no 15. was comfortable and an adequate size. Nice clean bathroom, but a bit stingy with the travel size toiletries , 1 bottle of shower gel and 1 bottle of shampoo - no conditioner! ( extra points for Molton Brown though!)
An average meal served in the restaurant, nothing too exciting, staff were nice and friendly.
The low point of our evening though was when my husband and 4 friends were stuck in the lift! Luckily I had walked up to our room - which was situated right next to the lift shaft - and I heard an alarm. It was not possible to hear this alarm from the corridor and when I went downstairs for help the staff were unaware of a problem! Hardly reassuring, especially when 1 staff member came to the 1st floor with me and just said "oh c***!" and walked away!
My husband managed to force the door open himself, and he and our friends clambered out ( the lift was not at floor level) I have been told that this lift does not comply with DDA regulations as there was no intercom available.
No apology the next morning when checking out - I had to ask if the alarm was being fixed and the lady just told me that the manager "was aware". Gee thanks.
Nice breakfast!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Being stuck in the lift
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

This hotel is situated just oustide the village of Wrea Green.
If you are looking for a quiet, get away from it all hotel , then this is the place.
A bar area with an open fire is all that you need on a winters night.
The restaurant seemed to be busy, but we did not eat there.
The rooms where of a good standard , and breakfast was plentiful.
The staff and management where mire than helpfull, I will be returning !!!!

  • Liked — The breakfast and location
  • Disliked — Bar staff dont know how top make an Irish Coffee
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAZEFC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston upon thames, Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We stayed at The Villa at the end February 2008. Such a lovely area and setting. When you arrive from the outside The Villa looks like the ideal weekend get away. Unfortunately there is a but........................the rooms were a slightly higher standard than a travel lodge, such a disappointment as I was expecting a lovely country hotel. The bed was uncomfortable, squeaked & was too soft. The room was a lot smaller than I expected, it was clean and had furniture with character which made it slightly less bland than a travel lodge. However this hotel is a lot more expensive than a travel lodge, I would have felt very ripped off had we not got a good deal because it was last minute. We had dinner which was good, tasty food and well presented, although the duck was over cooked, unfortunately the service was very slow - London prices for courses which didn't quite live up to the cost. Breakfast wasn't great, I have had a lot worse, but I have had much much better. The scrambled eggs were uneatable: rubbery, the quality of bacon was dreadful, and again the service was pretty terrible, we had to ask for out dirty table to be wiped and it took 1/2 for the breakfast to arrive, with the toast arriving nearly 10 minutes later. All in all this should have been great stay, but the standards of room and the service are just not up to it - so promising yet so disappointing.

  • Liked — The area and the outside of the Hotel
  • Disliked — The service and the bed
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BankerGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2007

Stayed in room 12. Paid £80 B&B. Room was very comfy and quiet, plus well equipped with stereo, tv and Molton Brown toiletries. Felt like a pricier hotel. Lovely setting, lots of parking. A lovely venue for a relaxing weekend away.

  • Liked — quiet location, quality of rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluenose-Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Villa Hotel.

The room wasn't huge but was well furnished and comfortable. There were all the usual bits and bobs, trousers press, drinks tray, bottled water, etc. The room also had aircon which I am sure if it wasn't freezing for July. As it was the heating was more useful (and more than adequate.)

The bar and restaurant were lovely and very quirkily furnished. We ate in the restaurant but bar meals were an option. Husband and I both had fillet steak which was served with red onion rolypoly. It was wonderful, one of those meals that you know will stick in your memory and come our discussion even in several years time.

Equally impressive was how they dealt with a problem on the next table. The gentleman complained his T-bone steak was tough. The waiter immediately offered to change it. Two minutes later the waiter was back to say that as all the T-bone was from the same batch the chef was taking it off the menu so would the customer consider something else instead. Later another table tried to order T-bone steak, a different waiter at once said it was off the menu due to a quality problem. I was very impressed by the way they handled the problem and it was nice to see a customer so happy with how the problem was handled instead of having an upset evening.

After our meal we retired to the bar and live jazz.

A great break.

  • Liked — Absolutely the Food...........
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitandIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrea Green
2.6 mi away
The Villa Express Kirkham
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
918 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 69 in Blackpool
3,530 reviews
4.8 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
886 reviews
3.2 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa, Wrea Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa, Wrea Green

Property: The Villa, Wrea Green
Address: Wrea Green PR4 2PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wrea Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wrea Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa, Wrea Green 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Wrea Green is a quaint country house hotel based in idyllic country side near Preston Lancashire. Set amidst rolling parkland, The Villa presents an imposing aspect from the sweeping private approach and, once inside, the beautifully planned accommodation certainly lives up to its promise, offering handsome, well-proportioned public spaces and luxuriously appointed bedrooms. Set in wonderful surroundings of the Lancashire countryside, The Villa is the perfect location for any occasion. The Villa’s historic appearance, well-equipped conference rooms, spacious restaurant & bar, pavilion marquee dedicated service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business and to create memories that will last a lifetime. Many visitors come to The Villa for its historic charm and splendid location, but they stay - and often return again and again - because of the warm hospitality and excellent personal service that they experience here. The hotel rooms are spacious and appointed to the highest standards, offering stylish, comfortable accommodation. All thirty one air-conditioned rooms feature superior en suite facilities and have been tastefully designed and furnished to create the ideal atmosphere for a relaxing visit. In addition, The Villa also offers two lovely suites and four fantastic state rooms, two of which have king size 4-posters and two have split-level mezzanine floors. All four have spectacular bathrooms with TV, surround sound system and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Villa, Wrea Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Hotel Wrea Green
The Villa, Wrea Green England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing