We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Weekend at The Villa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Villa, Wrea Green
Ranked #1 of 1 Wrea Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Made a booking through Booking.com for the Friday night, the atmosphere was so good and so relaxing we decide to stay another night. Although there was a function in the Pavilion attached for 200 people it was still very quiet and comfortable. The staff very helpful, friendly and courteous. There is a great selections of beers and the breakfast plentiful and fresh.
A must stay place if you are in the area, the building and decor wonderful this time of year

Room Tip: Look at the duck collection in the cabinet in the foyer, you will get a surprise and a bargain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 473 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

The setting and furniture in the dinning room promise old world charm and service and as a well established establishment we decided to try a lunch when in the area.
The signage could be better on the main road and we missed the turning.
We eventually were seated after being ignored by the two members of staff and actually had to ask to sit down.
They didnt do anything wrong but were so busy pottering that they expected each other to have delt with us.
The menu looked delicious but when my scallop and langoustine starter arrived the spinach liquid that it was served in had the consistancy of a consomme and I had to ask for a spoon to continue.
It was ok but tepid.

The bread looked rustic but was very dry and sour.

The main course was vennison which was divine......however the vegetables mashed potato cauliflower fennel and a tiny spec of pea puree rather too much gravy was a great dissapointment.

The mash was slop the cauli overdone the fennel was ok but flabby and the pea puree was too tiny to form an opinion of and it was all luke warm

it was only just after noon so there was no excuse and there were 4 other diners and as many members of staff

We didnt bother with pudding

and we wont be going again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YorkshireStyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely wedding venue great fires and atmosphere. Friendly service and nice rooms. Great to have good family rooms that work for families of all ages. Food reasonably good and service friendly. Bar very atmospheric with comfy chairs and sofas and real fires that very maintained and kept burning.

Room Tip: Great family rooms more like an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hjones-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went to the villa for our friends wedding on 28/09, it was lovley. For the ceremony although the space was small it felt evenmore intimate for the friends and family that were there to celebrate with them. The three course meal was very nice and the wine was flowing by the bottle, which is always a good thing! Later on at the night do the room is decked out amazingly, asthough you are in a huge markee. All in all a very memorable day. :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Villa is a superb hotel in a lovely location, with little or no local competition in the immediate vicinity. It's only four miles from Lytham making the coast easily accessible. We ate in both nights which is rare for us as we prefer to dine out, but the food was so good on the first night in the dining room that we stayed in on the second night too. Just a couple of minor niggles, our suite was freezing on arrival (around 4 o'clock) and I think our bedroom must have been situated above the laundry room as there was a constant humming most of the night which kept us awake.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Over the years The Villa has had it's ups and downs in terms of quality. The biggest strength is the original country house and idyllic rural setting. This survived (just) the addition of a hotel wing. On our last visit there were displays setting out grandiose plans to transform The Villa into a spa resort and no doubt sentence it to an existence in discount internet voucher sites.

On our arrival our eyes were drawn away from the lovely old building to a huge and tacky marquee on the side of the building which apparently houses wedding parties. This delightful sight is enhanced by there being ten (honestly) blue bottle skips outside it. Not a good start.

Going into the bar you are greeted by a plastic pull up sign inviting you to download an 'app' so you can keep upto date with the Villa. This is only the start of the marketing assault on your senses. There are posters and leaflets on every table about various events including 'posh bingo' a 'fifty shades of pink' evening. Never let a bandwagon pass without jumping on it! Don't even mention the 'all you need to know about internet dating' evening also advertised.

To add to the visual pleasure someone has thought it a good idea to put (near the otherwise delightfull feature fireplace) a cheap and nasty red plastic and glass display case featuring some costume jewellery. Being careful not to contrast with the crummy display case the jewellery is carefully selected at the level of Christmas cracker prizes. We assumed this treasure was for sale but the only information was a sign in the case saying 'go to reception'. No reason thought necessary?

Anyway, on to the bar food. to be fair my steak sandwich was OK albeit at £8 or so towards the top end of the normal price. My bettter half's chicken sandwich was simlar. Good enough but a tad pricey. We both ordered a portion of fat chips. Good job we did because you get a small dish with very few chips.

The service, i have to say, was excellent and the bill including some wine was a hefty £70 which I think is quite a lot for a bar meal.

My overall view was that The Villa needs to decide where it is going and what it wants to deliver. Lots of the poorer reviews on here are about people going for a meal and being swamped by a wedding or other function. This is a lovely building and location but is filled with more misguided and frankly seedy marketting devices than a Little Chef. The food is middle order in terms of quality but top end in terms of price and people will see through this.

Why not play to your strenghts and deliver quality and sophistication instead of selling glass jewellery?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steph1T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Held my Daughter's wedding here in early August and had a fantastic day.The weather was, surprisingly, very warm and sunny, which added to the charm of the hotel. The location is beautiful and the Villa has a lot to commend it.The wedding breakfast food was delicious, as was the food at the evening reception: bacon barms and delicious chips - just the job! Breakfast too was very good and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. We opted to stay in the new wing of the hotel which is truly luxurious and added to our enjoyment of the occasion.I would love to have spent more time at the Villa following the wedding but, and this is the one fly in the ointment,due to the increasing and understandable popularity of this venue, there was a wedding the next day and the day after that and we had no choice but to check out. I am sure that this is a common "problem" for most wedding venues,but it felt ever so slightly "conveyer-beltish" in this respect,which is a pity as it is very classy overall. I have read the comment about the customer who had booked a table only to find that there was a wedding on, and his booking didn't "exist" as a result and I can sympathise with this. I would not like to stay or eat here if I knew a wedding was taking place that day. I believe that there are plans to develop function rooms specifically for weddings and while I would mourn the possible loss of the Villa's quirkiness, at least this would keep weddings separate, allowing other guests to fully enjoy the Villa's ambience. I wish the Management every success. They certainly work hard enough!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrea Green
2.6 mi away
The Villa Express Kirkham
3.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
325 reviews
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#31 of 73 in Blackpool
4,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
5.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,245 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Spa Hotel at Ribby Hall Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa, Wrea Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa, Wrea Green

Address: Wrea Green PR4 2PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wrea Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wrea Green
Price Range: $60 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa, Wrea Green 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Wrea Green is a quaint country house hotel based in idyllic country side near Preston Lancashire. Set amidst rolling parkland, The Villa presents an imposing aspect from the sweeping private approach and, once inside, the beautifully planned accommodation certainly lives up to its promise, offering handsome, well-proportioned public spaces and luxuriously appointed bedrooms. Set in wonderful surroundings of the Lancashire countryside, The Villa is the perfect location for any occasion. The Villa’s historic appearance, well-equipped conference rooms, spacious restaurant & bar, pavilion marquee dedicated service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business and to create memories that will last a lifetime. Many visitors come to The Villa for its historic charm and splendid location, but they stay - and often return again and again - because of the warm hospitality and excellent personal service that they experience here. The hotel rooms are spacious and appointed to the highest standards, offering stylish, comfortable accommodation. All thirty one air-conditioned rooms feature superior en suite facilities and have been tastefully designed and furnished to create the ideal atmosphere for a relaxing visit. In addition, The Villa also offers two lovely suites and four fantastic state rooms, two of which have king size 4-posters and two have split-level mezzanine floors. All four have spectacular bathrooms with TV, surround sound system and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Villa, Wrea Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Hotel Wrea Green
The Villa, Wrea Green England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing