We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Blissful Break...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spa Hotel at Ribby Hall Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Spa Hotel at Ribby Hall Village
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wrea Green
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Blissful Break...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

From the abundant and welcoming staff to the sumptuous meals, beautiful surroundings and amazing facilities, this was a truly wonderful escape. Unlike corporate hotels of 5 star - there was real personality to Ribby and the service; staff were genuine, caring and full of personality. I think the atmosphere of calm effortless service is what really makes this stand out for me.

Welcome:
The fabulous Lisa on Spa reception spotted that it would be better value for my sister and I if we altered our package and arranged everything for us with the equally helpful man (wish I could recall his name) at the hotel reception desk... so a perfect start.

Accommodation:
Faultlessly clean and comfortable - little touches like fresh milk in the fridge for coffee was much appreciated. We stayed in a standard room that had all that could be required: hairdryer, iron & board, TV with useful info screens and bill viewing, comfy beds, rapidly-responsive heating controls, more than enough hangers and a shiny clean bathroom with lovely products.

Spa:
Pure heaven. A carefully planned 'route' moves you through all the temperature and water experiences in sequence and by the time you rush (there was snow!) to the outdoor Jacuzzi... nothing else matters but the moment and the sensation. I also opted for additional treatments and these too were wonderful. Again, more than enough friendly, professional staff to help you relax and ensure everything remained at a leisurely and calm pace; the decor too soothed with natural finishes and calming colours. Massive thanks to Alice for the powerful yet relaxing massage (I was massaged into the table and it took some time for any muscle in me to want to perform regular functions like sitting up! Bliss. Lisa provided a pretty manicure that came with a huge choice of colours and my sister felt like a new woman after her massage and facial.

Dining:
IF I was made to find room for improvement - it would only be to request an additional dish or two for vegetarians on the menu... not that it mattered because what there was, was delectable. Fantastic chef and service with much more than just a smile... finesse maybe? The Restaurant Manager couldn't have been more helpful and the staff clearly follow his example. Breakfast too was a pleasure with plenty of options - I opted for eggs Benedict (without the bacon) and my sister enjoyed a large stack of pancakes with Maple syrup and bacon... plus the buffet of cereals, bread, fruits, yoghurts and particularly yummy pastries.

Final word...
...book this for yourself or someone you love! I have instructed family members to only buy me Spa breaks at Ribby for birthdays/Christmas etc. and fully intend on doing the same for my daughter, sister, nieces etc. Excellent value, immeasurable pleasure.


p.s.
Surprise extra benefit: other guests at the spa were clearly equally content - which made for very pleasant company and conversations.

Room Tip: All rooms will be good as the standards are high but for a small payment there are some rooms with b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinalouiseUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    140
    60
    26
    19
See reviews for
148
434
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
devon england
Level Contributor
228 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for our 20th wedding anniversary, in the penthouse executive suite. it was truly perfect from beginning to end, which to be honest we expected for the amount it cost and we were not disappointed.
We had the complete package, which included breakfast and evening meal, please note the evening meal is inclusive of only two courses, you have to pay extra for the 3rd, plus some of the starters , mains and sweets carry a supplement, eg £12.00 extra if you would like the beef. If you have a large appetite you will need to order side dishes also. Food is beautifully cooked and arranged. Dress is the upper end of smart casual. Breakfast was excellent too and it is worth paying the £3.00 to have it served in your room on your last day so you can make a final use of the spa
Robes and slippers are provided for your convenience and you change in your room and wear them down to the Spa, I also noticed some were wearing them to breakfast and lunch rather than get changed again. But there is a lovely changing room in the Spa as well.Please note you can purchase entrance to the spa from as little as £29.00, so there can be quite a few people at times.
There is a "journey" of different rooms in the spa, numbered, I would recommend that you at least do thins at least once, the plunge bucket and ice fountain, were not for me, but at least I now know. this is included in the spa package, we personally found this wonderful and really enough, but we did do the mud room, which is reasonably priced, private and you apply the mud yourselves. Allow 2 hours for each journey so as not to feel rushed.
Room was fab and I liked the fact we had fresh milk, something more hotels seem to be doing now thank goodness. I really liked the fact that it was a child free hotel and Spa, nice to get away from them for a few days.
Staff are friendly and very eager to be helpful. Would highly recommend this Spa

Room Tip: All lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mozziefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was staying in the self-catering cottages over Christmas, and visited The Spa Hotel a couple of times.

The Brasserie
The Brasserie inhabits a series of awkward interconnecting spaces which make its very existence seem like an afterthought. The largest number of tables are in the most awkward space of all, a low ceilinged area right next to the stairwell which is over lit and stuffy, with tables just a little too close together.
The food was passable enough; presentation was excellent and service was good, if a little self-conscious, but my pressed pork belly with black pudding lacked flavour and my pumpkin risotto was over salted. At this price level you expect more.

The Spa
Purists and Northern Europeans may be a little bemused by the very British requirement to wear swimming costumes at all times. The facilities are very nice indeed; it was just a pity they had to be endured wearing a clammy swimming costume.
There is a nice selection of saunas and steam rooms numbering three different saunas (a ‘saunarium’, herbal and outdoor) and two different steam rooms (standard and Balinese); there are monsoon showers, a bucket shower with crushed ice to hand and a tepidarium to relax in at the end.
The concept is that of a ‘thermal journey’ of gradually increasing temperatures although most people appear not to follow it, preferring instead to splash around in the indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, which are clearly the most popular features.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We went here in october 2012, for our wedding anniversary. Well what can i say! Our room was fab we had a 2 bed suite, very luxurious the bed was great and big soft pillows and quilt to sink into, the bathroom was also of a good standard very large and spotless with giant fluffy towels.Nice touches like fresh milk in the room and mineral waters. Good sized tv's and very large couch and dining table. We booked the thermal journey which didnt disapoint. The lesuire club was lovely very clean and modern. The only little niggle was we booked the mud room, as the air in there is steam, so very wet, once you have covered yourself in the mud it just slips of you before it can do any good! But apart from that the stay was wonderful i had a facial which lasted about an hour, very relaxing and after my skin glowed for days, so money well spent. We ate in the restuarant on the first night, the food is like the standard of a michilin star restaurant, a nice experience also the breakfast was fab i had the eggs benedict you have to try this, better than some top london hotels i have stayed in. So all in all i would recommed this hotel and cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fd36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great hotel, friendly professional staff.

Food in the restaurant is excellent, full gym and spar with pool in the hotel. Set in a private quality holiday park. If you are on business in Blackpool, an excellent relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

It is rare in modern times to be able to be so completely satisfied with something that you can't think of a single improvement, but I have just experienced this very phenomenom. Having just returned from an overnight spa break at Ribby Hall ( very generously given to me as a birthday present by my friend), I can honestly say it was perfection! From the welcome on arrival to the wonderful massage, nothing was too much trouble for the attentive and highly trained staff. The rooms, spa and dining area were all spotless and very well appointed. The food was amazing, each miouthful a true culinary delight and narrated perfectly by the wonderful waiters. This is the second time I have visited Ribby Hall and it certainly won't be the last. Thank you for a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We went to the day spa at Ribby Hall to relax In-between christmas and new year. We have been a few times now and have never been disappointed, the spa is lovely and relaxing and has a good variety of sauna, steam rooms, and pools.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TripAd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrea Green
14.7 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa
18.5 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel at Ribby Hall Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel at Ribby Hall Village

Property: The Spa Hotel at Ribby Hall Village
Address: Ribby Road | nr Blackpool, Wrea Green PR4 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wrea Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wrea Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spa Hotel at Ribby Hall Village 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and award-winning 39 bedroom Spa Hotel at the 5 star Ribby Hall Village. Set in the heart of the beautiful Fylde and Lancashire countryside and only 25 minute's drive from the Lake District. Rated high 4 star from the AA. The Brasserie at The SPA Hotel has two rosettes. The Orangery opened in 2015. Bed and breakfast, spa breaks or room only rates available. A Unique aqua thermal journey / spa facilities are available, as well as a choice of more than 100 treatments for both men and women to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Spa Hotel at Ribby Hall Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Hotel At Ribby Hall Village Wrea Green, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing