We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Break” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Plaza Market Harborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travel Plaza Market Harborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Desborough
Ely, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Bedroom clean, but duvet cover the seam had come undone and cover was too small for the bed, bed comfortable, quiet location, bit disappointed about the restaurant next door as it was an Indian restaurant, but breakfast in there next morning was ok no smells from the Indian food from the night before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    9
    10
    10
See reviews for
15
14
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

You can tell it was previously a travellodge and is in need of a refresh to make it brighter. Decor aside the room was clean and well maintained, the sheets were clean but untucked which i found a little frustrating. Could be better toilet paper though!
Reception service was swift and friendly, helpful too. A walk into Desborough was refreshing.

The resturant was fantastic. Superb well cooked food. Doggy bags available! The owner is friendly and good company. A very interesting individual.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonshiregirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4, having booked around 5 weeks earlier. I was a bit concerned that my card had been debited immediately.
When we arrived the receptionist was lovely, very friendly and helpful, but said that we had only paid for 2 breakfasts. My booking clearly showed 2 adults and 2 children with breakfast added, but we had to pay £15.90 for 2 extra breakfasts.
The receptionist recommended the food in the Indian restaurant which was part of the hotel, and we booked a table for later.
She explained that as we had only originally paid for 2 breakfasts they expected only 2 people so the childrens' beds would not be made up, but said this would be done when we were having dinner.
This was done as she promised, and the room was large, clean and comfortable. There was a shower over the bath, although the bath itself was rather small.
We did not have dinner in the restaurant, as after we had drinks there and were seated we did not like the atmostphere. Whilst there was a box of toys there was no welcome for the children, or us. There was only one other table occupied (on a Saturday evening) and the sole waiter seemed more interested in takin frequent cigarette breaks just outside the restaurant door than serving us. The smoke came into the restaurant and when he seated us at a table with food on the carpet below, immediately next to the other diners, and was rude when we asked if it was possible to have one dish (which are allegedly cooked to order) made with another meat, we decided to leave. My 9 YO daughter politely handed him back a menu and told me later that he had snatched it from her.
We had a meal from a local take away which we were very happy with.
There was no air conditioning in the room and we had to have the windows open, which made it a little noisy due to traffic, but otherwise the room was fine.
We paid for English breakfast. The breakfast waiter was very polite. He pointed us in the direction of drinks and juice. There was a jug of coffee, tea was available and 2 jugs of fruit juice. The choice was orange or orange! There was a machine to make our own toast, and some individual butter and preserves. There was no cereal, no dried or fresh fruit, no pastries, nothing apart from sliced bread.
The 'english breakfast' came ready plated without even a choice of eggs. It was poorly presented. The fried eggs brown around the edges, and some of the yolks broken. The mushrooms and baked beans were tepid, the tomatoes blackened in patches on the outside and raw and cold in the middle, the sausages clearly made from mechainically reclaimed meat, and even then over heated in a microwave. The whole meal would be out to shame by the most humble cafe' We asked another party if they were impressed with the breakfast. The reply was 'Not at all'
The best advice I can give is stay at the hotel as the rooms are good, but get a takeaway from one of the several in Desborough - and have breakfast in the nearby McDonalds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aniste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. When we booked the hotel we were charged twice for the room. The hotel weren't too keen on refunding for their mishap. When we stayed in the hotel it stank. The pillows and the room was mucky. The service in the hotel was less than helpful. On the first day they refused to serve me a breakfast during kitchen opening times and then when we came to leave they charged me for 2 breakfasts that weren't ordered and are now refusing to refund for these breakfasts. This has been my worst stay in a hotel I've ever encountered. I came away from there angry from my arguments with the hotel staff and feeling itchy from my stay in the unclean rooms. I would strongly recommend that people wanting to stay in this area choose somewhere else to stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chriswf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Desborough hotels

Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I spent one Saturday night at this hotel and it was a positive experience. Spacious and clean room and the bed was very comfy. Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is set back off the main road between Market Harborough and Desborough and so is in a handy location, yet quiet. My room was on the ground floor and had a lovely grassy area outside the window.
Good value and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We knew well before hand that this hotel's location is somewhat distant away from its main town. Nevertheless, we deliberately chose it for its quietness.
This is a simple, 'no frills' type of a 3* hotel and yes, all that they provide is essentially comfortable. You get a nice and bouncy bed; either a king size or a double. If you have kids with you, they get their own bed too! Clean towels and clean linen provided. Complimentary tea & coffee making facilities and toiletries are also provided. There is a TV with satellite in your room. You get free WiFi too! Best thing, kids stay free with every full paying adult!
I mean what more can one ask for? We stayed here for 2 nights and had the best sleep ever compared to the sleep back at home. Their in-house restaurant 'Gurkha's' is brilliant too. The food there is excellent. Personally, we wouldn't ask for any more than what we were already getting. We had no complaints staying here.
So, would we go and stay there again? Yes, of-course, why not? Couldn't ask for a better place than this.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SRK7495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel was clean and the rooms were spacious, the shower was better than expected for this type of accommodation.
However, service in the restaurant let things down badly. There was nowhere else nearby to eat, so We booked for 20:15, drinks were served promptly but we didn't get any food until 22:00, even though the starters we had ordered were not complicated to cook. A group who had arrived before us, with children, eventually left without eating. It wasn't just that the service was so slow, more of an issue was the complete lack of communication. I presume there were issues in the kitchen, so an apology, and explanation, even a complimentary dish of popadoms would have all helped. None was forthcoming. The food was good when it arrived, and the portions were generous, but at that stage in the evening my appetite had waned.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank By_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desborough
7.6 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Market Harborough Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kettering Corby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 5 in Market Harborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Corby Hotel
2.9 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Plaza Market Harborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Plaza Market Harborough Hotel

Property: Travel Plaza Market Harborough Hotel
Address: (B 576 Harborough Road | Northamptonshire, Desborough, Kettering NN14 2UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Kettering > Desborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Desborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travel Plaza Market Harborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel Plaza Market Harborough Hotel is conveniently situated between Market Harborough and Kettering next to Desborough on the old A6 (B576)overlooking the rolling countryside of Northamptonshire and Leicestershire. Travel Plaza Hotel has its own restaurant,The Gurkhas & The Orchid, offering the best in authentic Indian and Nepalese cuisine and a pleasant bar area along with large screen TVs. The hotel offers two meeting rooms for up to 14 and 40 people respectively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Travel Plaza Market Harborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing