We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good evening out”
Review of The Kings Arms - CLOSED

The Kings Arms
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Under new management, used to be Oak Tree We have been in The Kings Arms since 3rd September 2014 we look forward to welcoming old customers as well as new ones.
Reviewed October 3, 2014

atended the kings arms last night and had the offer of two steaks and a bottle of wine for £22.99and it was great value the steak was just how i like it and the sides were well presented the staff were very attentative through the whole evening we will be back thank you very much paul and all your staff

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 18 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2014

Please read the review from September 18th.....that sums it up ....also, the pictures used on this advert are NOT of food being served.....they belong to the previous owners .....shocking .....surely you cannot advertise something you do not serve !?

1  Thank yourchoicemodern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

I would like to mention as we have just taken over the pub we have not had a chance to add any photos to the site and we will be doing this asap with a photo of our food and our rooms now.The photos are old and belong to previous owners and I need to sit and re design our page.
I have also commented on your other response on 18th September. Please come in and chat to myself and we can sort out any problems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2014

We called into the Kings Arms on Thursday evening 25th Sept for a bite to eat and a drink. It was our first time and we did not know what to expect .. but we were more than pleasantly surprised. The food was cooked well , generous helping and piping hot .. it was out of this world delicious! I had the house red wine that went down really well !! The staff very helpful and polite ...we feel that the people of Desborough have a little gem in their midst ... most definitely will be calling in again soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Thank you very much for your trip advisor review we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2014

Good atmosphere, very friendly, accommodating staff. The menu offers an imaginative variety of food along with conventional choices interspersed. We can highly recommend the chilli burger which was an appetising tower of juicy burger, bacon, onion rings and homemade chilli sauce in a lightly toasted brioche bun, delicious.The sizzling chicken certainly lived up to its name, arriving on an iron skillet, spitting and hissing and smelling wonderful. Packed full of tasty, spicy chicken, onions, peppers and cheese it was absolutely scrumptious. What a refreshing change to the usual drab pub food often served in British pubs. Can't wait to try one of the other enticing choices on offer!

Thank lolaloolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2014

Ate here for the first time with family yesterday on recommendation from some friends who have been a few times lately. The food was good and staff were very helpful. One of our party had the chicken melt which looked delicious and the mixed grill looked great too. I'd say probably cut out the black pudding on the steak dishes though. Chips were lovely, nice to have truly home made chips for a change. Will definitely be going in again as it's almost on the doorstep. We're hoping that the chilli will be a good choice next time. One thing I might recommend would be to replace the vending machine in the ladies toilet with one more suitable for family viewing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EmmaE71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Thank you very much for your review we are very glad you enjoyed it and look forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

Desborough, Kettering
Desborough, Kettering
 
Desborough, Kettering
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing