We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Thankyou”
Review of Falcon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falcon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Ashby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special Thankyou”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Special Thanks to Jon and Chris and Donna who made our wedding day so special and faultless, food delicious service excellent .just added to such a special occasion.all our guests thought it was great too.what a wonderful memory.thanks to you all.linda and gary.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindagary29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
8
42
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We chose The Falcon as it was convenient for a trip we had to make. All the staff were charming and friendly right from the word go - the manager, kitchen/dining room staff, housekeeping staff. It was a Friday night and the hotel was full and had a big wedding on the Saturday but it felt as if we were being looked after all the time and everyone had time for us.
Our room was in the cottages beside the hotel and it was everything we needed, though a little on the cool side. I usually find noise from other guests annoying but did not notice anything disturbing at all.
We had not planned to eat in but we had seen nothing else in the vicinity and the cost of dinner looked reasonable and we were both very pleased with our meals - I had the best salad I have ever been served - and we were glad we had not stopped anywhere on route.
Overall it made for the ideal impromptu break and we both said we'd like to return some time.
I will definitely be recommending The Falcon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjc242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2012

we booked a room and dinner for 14th feb we arriverd to a very warm welcome and hand shake from the staff which was a very nice welcome touch .. the food was amazing and the room was cosy warm and clean ,,although short staffed the service both at the bar and during the meal was was first class ,The staff here were friendy and could not do enough to make sure your stay here was hassle free and relaxed , we liked it that much we have booked to return again in a few weeks ,i little gem on our door step ....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

from the moment we arrived we relaxed straight away-friendly staff, spacious room , beautiful surroundings. We sat and read books by the log fire, with a glass of beautiful wine in our hands whilst it was snowy outside.
Just 2 critisisms of the room was that it was quite dark, with only 1 bedside lamp and no light over the dressing table, and it was noisy in the night-strange scratching noises (not sure if there was a ghost in our end of the hotel-certainly could have been ! ( room 3)
A big plus point for the room-the bed was wonderfully comfortable.
Nothing to put us off though-would certainly book again, if the new management keep the same ambiance and not get greedy and overprice it once renovated.

Room Tip: the annexe rooms looked nice, but on a cold or wet day the last thing you want is to have to run dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The Falcon is cosy, friendly and above all excellent value.
We spent a winter's night there with snow outside which was ideal with the roaring fire and comfort food on the menu.
The room was beautiful and the bathroom was a real surprise with a roll top huge free standing bath. Staff were really friendly and prompt with service. Went straight on website on our return to see when we could book again and they are very busy on lots of dates. I can understand why

Room Tip: Room 1 has a lovely view of the tiny hamlet monument out of the window. Bathroom brilliant with roll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

A casual stop on the road for a couple in need of food. It was early on a Friday lunchtime and I think that we were the only customers.
We were shown into the cellar bar, ordered sandwiches and beer then relaxed. The sandwiches came with a small bucket of chips. I thought that my meal could have been larger, but the quality was fine. My wife thought her omlette really good.
The two staff we met were both friendly and helpful
I think that we will try and find an excuse to stay at the Falcon sometime.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forkinggeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent visit, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We dropped into the Falcon for lunch one Saturday recently. There were a few cars in the car park, but only one other party in the restaurant. The menu read very well but the meal was awful. My wife found the "locally reared sausages" and mashed potatoes totally inedible. The mashed potatoes looked and tasty like mouldy wallpaper paste. My own chicken and cherizo was only OK. A very disappointing meal in a charming country hotel. I should have read the tripadvisor reviews!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPhillipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent lunch at the Falcon, I am sorry your meal was not upto our usual high standards, we will review the quality of the local sausage and mash dish to ensure that in future it is first rate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Ashby
0.0 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Walnut Tree Inn
The Walnut Tree Inn
#12 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.0 mi away
French Partridge
French Partridge
#1 of 1 in Horton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel

Property: Falcon Hotel
Address: Castle Ashby, Northampton NN7 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Castle Ashby
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Ashby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Falcon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing