We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Falcon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Falcon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falcon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Ashby
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Falcon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

we booked a room and dinner for 14th feb we arriverd to a very warm welcome and hand shake from the staff which was a very nice welcome touch .. the food was amazing and the room was cosy warm and clean ,,although short staffed the service both at the bar and during the meal was was first class ,The staff here were friendy and could not do enough to make sure your stay here was hassle free and relaxed , we liked it that much we have booked to return again in a few weeks ,i little gem on our door step ....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
8
42
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

from the moment we arrived we relaxed straight away-friendly staff, spacious room , beautiful surroundings. We sat and read books by the log fire, with a glass of beautiful wine in our hands whilst it was snowy outside.
Just 2 critisisms of the room was that it was quite dark, with only 1 bedside lamp and no light over the dressing table, and it was noisy in the night-strange scratching noises (not sure if there was a ghost in our end of the hotel-certainly could have been ! ( room 3)
A big plus point for the room-the bed was wonderfully comfortable.
Nothing to put us off though-would certainly book again, if the new management keep the same ambiance and not get greedy and overprice it once renovated.

Room Tip: the annexe rooms looked nice, but on a cold or wet day the last thing you want is to have to run dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

The Falcon is cosy, friendly and above all excellent value.
We spent a winter's night there with snow outside which was ideal with the roaring fire and comfort food on the menu.
The room was beautiful and the bathroom was a real surprise with a roll top huge free standing bath. Staff were really friendly and prompt with service. Went straight on website on our return to see when we could book again and they are very busy on lots of dates. I can understand why

Room Tip: Room 1 has a lovely view of the tiny hamlet monument out of the window. Bathroom brilliant with roll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

A casual stop on the road for a couple in need of food. It was early on a Friday lunchtime and I think that we were the only customers.
We were shown into the cellar bar, ordered sandwiches and beer then relaxed. The sandwiches came with a small bucket of chips. I thought that my meal could have been larger, but the quality was fine. My wife thought her omlette really good.
The two staff we met were both friendly and helpful
I think that we will try and find an excuse to stay at the Falcon sometime.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forkinggeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent visit, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We dropped into the Falcon for lunch one Saturday recently. There were a few cars in the car park, but only one other party in the restaurant. The menu read very well but the meal was awful. My wife found the "locally reared sausages" and mashed potatoes totally inedible. The mashed potatoes looked and tasty like mouldy wallpaper paste. My own chicken and cherizo was only OK. A very disappointing meal in a charming country hotel. I should have read the tripadvisor reviews!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPhillipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent lunch at the Falcon, I am sorry your meal was not upto our usual high standards, we will review the quality of the local sausage and mash dish to ensure that in future it is first rate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

The hotel was exactly what I expected, a cosy country hotel with charm. Staff were very good. Food was not good. I had eaten there many years ago and the quality was below par. This said, we were the only residents that night (out of the way place and a weekday night) and we were only booked for one night. breakfast was great. Restaurant personnel need to be trained and listen better. All in all, my party enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

After arranging to meet family members we all decided The Falcon would be a good halfway point for all of our party. We had all travelled approx 2.5 hours to get there.
We had booked a table for 1pm and all arranged to meet up at 12pm so that we could have a chat and pre lunch drinks beforehand.
When we arrived a man was sat at the reception and informed us that some of our group had already arrived. When we walked through the fire had not been lit in preparation of anybodies arrival that day, and the whole atmosphere was cold and not very welcoming or homely. When the rest of the party had arrived we were shown to the Cellar Bar where we had to wait 10 minutes for anyone to serve us, then there was no ice behind the bar to go with any drinks.
After having our drinks we were then given the menu which we all decided to have the "Roast of the day" When we asked what meats were on offer the waiter/bar man went to the kitchen to ask. We then asked what the "soup of the day" was only to find that he did not have the answer to this question either!
We were then shown to our table and the food shortly after, firstly our starters where nicely presented but not what I would call value for money. When the main courses came it was already plated up with a small amount and disappointing selection of vegetables with the gravy in what can only be described as a cream jug! Portion control is the only way to describe it was small! Infact the childrens meals where larger and therefore better value!
As we had Roast Beef we asked for Horeseradish Sauce - Not what you would call an unusual request,but when this came we were told that this was all they had in the building!! And they were right as the table next us where told there was not any for them!!
The cost of the food in general in my opinion was not cheap but to have it all plated up was not at all impressive. Top prices and with not the quality to match.
The service was very poor too. there was not anybody around to make sure all was well with the meal.
After reading several reviews prior to our visit I do wonder..... are we talking about the same place? I would not go back and nor would I recommend The Falcon. they have a lovely location and lovely building and that is where it ends!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Foxy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Ashby
0.0 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Walnut Tree Inn
The Walnut Tree Inn
#12 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.0 mi away
French Partridge
French Partridge
#1 of 1 in Horton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel

Property: Falcon Hotel
Address: Castle Ashby, Northampton NN7 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Castle Ashby
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Ashby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Falcon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing