We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel needs to decide what it is?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highgate House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Creaton
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hotel needs to decide what it is?”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very strange layout to the complex, gave the impression of a 1950's holiday park. Some lovely buildings/rooms in the old part of the hotel, unfortunately locked/hidden away and not used. The hotel seems to cater for team building corporate nonesense and Coca Cola selling training rather than on a personal level. Leisure facilities were excellent if not a bit spread out. Sauna never turned on, although we were advised it would be. Restaurant was not open, although we were only advised of this at 5pm. A hunt around the local eateries was unsuccessful so we ended up with a hotel bar meal in a crowded bar, food was however tasty and good value. Breakfast was adequate but some of the hot food items looked like they had been brought out for the umpteenth time. Fresh fruit looked overripe and inedible. Room was spacious although some wqork needed on dated and worn out fittings/decor. Shower was a dribble. Finally £25 for our dog to travel with us was extortionate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GP1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    182
    72
    32
    15
See reviews for
96
262
23
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My daughter's wedding was held at Highgate and I cannot praise the staff enough. Everyone we came into contact with was courteous, helpful and did everything they could to make things go smoothly.

The food was wonderful including the meal the night before.

I would certainly recommend Highgate as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have only stayed one week (so far) but have nothing but praise for this venue. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The food is lovely. The bar is well stocked ranging from champagnes...to whiskys and they even have a few real ales too. The rooms are an ideal size for me (single room as i'm working away from home) and the fact that there is a swimming pool and gym/sauna means that i'm not just sat twiddling my thumbs or drinking beer....

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room so far located in the courtyard. Gets a little noisy when people are leaving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Lussh hotel, lush location, lovely staff. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay at this amazing highgate house. The rooms are up to date an sooo cosy. The resteraunt was closed when we eaten but the pub food was just as nice. Our surroundings were lovely, shame we didn't get to see much of it but what we seen was beaut. Defo going to stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaaaayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestSessex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lovely location. Excellent catering! Very friendly and very helpful staff. You get the impression that everyone from the ground staff to management enjoy working there. They are always checking that things are fine, even one night at 3 a.m. when I was still in the conference room working late.
On my first night there I had an attic room which was extremely warm. OK, it was 30 degrees outside but there was no way of cooling that room down. Needless to say, I was upgraded the next morning.

Room Tip: Avoid the attic rooms in summertime
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P1L0TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had heard good things about Highgate House and went there for lunch. In the end I never ended up eating there due to a very rude security guard at the gate who insisted on there being a reservation (despite me having phoned the restaurant & left a message when they didn't answer the phone). Talking to the restaurant manager later on the phone the hotel seemed confused and arrogant about their booking policy and to be honest there are better placed and more customer focused restaurants in Northampton. I shan't be bothering to try and eat there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Family00traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundialmarketing, Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I am really sorry to read the catalogue of events that took place.Clearly we were not performing as we should have.We were under the impression we had resolved the matter but we clearly have not. I would relish the opportunity to fully make amends and would be grateful if you could contact me at your convenience

Kind Regards,Paul Williams,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My Daughter had her Wedding breakfast here and the wedding party stayed for two nights.
Found everything to be very well organized and the staff friendly.
The Bridal suite is just fabulous and worth booking for the Bride and Groom.
The food at the wedding breakfast was very well cooked and tasty and very well presented.
We also had dinner at the hotel which was very nice and had lots of vegetarian options.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsladybirdface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creaton
24.9 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
12.9 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
10.6 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgate House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate House Hotel

Property: Highgate House Hotel
Address: Highgate House Grooms Lane, Creaton NN6 8NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Creaton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Creaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Highgate House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in and around a 17th century mansion, Highgate House is a beautiful country house hotel set amongst rolling countryside,just 7 miles from Northampton. Accommodation consists of 97 en-suite bedrooms, all of which are individually decorated. Some of the bedrooms are located in the original building whilst the majority are housed in areas across the estate. Each room is fully equipped with hot drink facilities, an alarm clock-radio with iPod docking station, a television and toiletries from the Gilchrist and Soames 'BeeKind` range. You stay also includes includes free WiFi, use of the fitness room and pool, free parking on-site and unlimited tea and coffee. Guests can look forward to a delicious seasonal menu prepared by the award-winning team of chefs, headed up by Lee Gaskins, who has won Northamptonshire's Chef of the Year twice. Food is served in the brasserie-style Terrace Restaurant and lighter meals can be enjoyed in the main bar area. Traditional afternoon tea is available between 3-6pm daily, with a selection of sandwiches,homemade cakes and scones with cream and jam. Leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna and tennis courts. The hotel's 26 acres of grounds also offer an idyllic setting for walking, with easy access to the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Highgate House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highgate House, a Sundial Venue Hotel Northampton
Highgate Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing