We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go if you're dieting!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Olde Coach House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go if you're dieting!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Ok, this place is nice, in a beautiful village with a lovely atmosphere. The problem for me and my fellow diners was quite simply portion sizes. I'm not greedy at all; I'm in fact very slim, but if you ate in this place daily, you'd be skeletal fairly quickly!
Our Sunday lunch had one, yes one green bean, 2 tiny slices of carrot, 2 tiny roast potatoes and 2 slithers of tough, fatty beef and a tiny pouring of gravy. We honestly thought these vegetables were garnish and a bowl of vegetables with a serving spoon would appear but it didn't. I think it was an attempt to look cordon bleu or something 'posh'!! I'm more if a hearty Sunday roast type of person myself and I found this meal a bit of a joke really. I don't need to join Weight Watchers, but when I do, I'll return here !!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rilleytherag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at The Olde Coach House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest
I am sorry you did not enjoy your Sunday lunch with us and I am surprised you were not happy with the portions.
I do wish you had made us aware at the time because we would have gladly given you some more veg.
We served 180 people on that day and did not receive any other complaints.
I do hope you come back and give us another try.
Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    159
    55
    33
    13
See reviews for
83
247
13
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice place to go for drinks and possibly a share platter, won't advise going for dinner. Very expensive for the quality of food received. You are paying restaurant prices for pub grub. Also, several of the staff we poorly trained with a lack of manners.

It's not what wanted it to be!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samski_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at The Olde Coach House, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest
I am sorry you felt we were overpriced and the service you received was not up to our usual standard.
We try accommodate the full spectrum of visitors where we offer a fixed priced daily menu Monday to Thursday with one course for £6 and two courses for £9.95 until 7.30pm.
Our main menu starts from main courses from £9.95 and all our main dishes are inclusive of potatoes and vegetables so for a country pub serving fresh homemade food we feel we do offer good value for money.
I do hope you will try us again because you may just have caught us on a bad day!
Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I call this our "Local" but in actual fact it is 4 miles from where we actually live and bearing in mind that we have 3 pubs and one club in our village we much prefer to use the OCH.
A couple of years ago before the makeover this was NOT the place to be, the plce was dirty with "sticky" bar surfaces and the food awful.
However that was in the past, what you have today is very attentive staff, excellent food and excellent wines & beers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMGVJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at The Olde Coach House, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest
I am so pleased to read your comments and delighted you treat us as your local despite the extra travelling!
Look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have stayed here several times and continue to enjoy the experience.
Be sure to book a table when booking your room as the pub gets v busy and there's a reason for that, the food is good.
Good rooms, modern, neutral colours. Bathroom was starting to look a tad tired and the pressure in the shower could have been better, but not a major problem.
Plentiful parking.
Friendly, helpful staff.
Thanks very much, we'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henriUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at The Olde Coach House, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your kind comments, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I don't know where to begin --- this is a GREAT place to stay. I was here on business, but the staff is VERY welcoming and tend to your every need, the food is PHENOMENAL, accomodations are AWESOME. Big comfy rooms with full bathroom, just a trip down the stairs to the pub and restaurant. Locals are very welcoming as well to visitors! I will be traveling back to this area in the future, and this will ALWAYS be my choice to stay - and I will be recommending to colleagues!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonpaulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at The Olde Coach House, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi J
So pleased you enjoyed your stay it was a pleasure to have you with us and I know the team really enjoyed your company.
Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

stayed over whilst attending a wedding, asked weeks in advance if we could chek in early to set up for our 4 month old and get changed and was told no problems arrive anytime - however we arrived to 4 locked doors and a frosty 'you're a bit early'. Not a great welcome. Room 6 was large, clean and warm with nice views, and the lady making up the rooms was friendly and helpful. But we didnt sleep well! A cheap mattress meant we noticed every spring. The shower was also too hot to stand under and the tap in the bath was shoddy. Breakfast hearty however. Overall think it was a bit expensive for what it was.

Room Tip: Room 6 big enough for a travel cot
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at The Olde Coach House, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest
I am sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and can only apologise for not meeting your expectations.
I was the person who you were in discussions with about checking in and I did say it would not be a problem at the weekend because as a Pub with rooms we are open all day.
I did not know you wanted to check in before 12 noon which is the time we open and if I had known you were arriving at 10.30am I could have made the staff aware.
I am disappointed you found the bed uncomfortable and surprised because we have never had a complaint about it before and in fact I stayed over in your room a couple of weeks ago and found the bed very comfortable.
I will look into the problem with the bath tap and shower and thank you for bringing this to my attention.
I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast.
Regards
Mark Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We booked this room on-line, my girlfriend and I wanted a few days away. We booked the cheapest room which we were warned "some people find a bit noisy". When we got there, the place looked amazing and we were very excited. However we were given our key and went to our room where we were VERY disappointed. The noise was unbearable even during the day, and there was no way either of us could get a good nights sleep. So I went down and asked the staff what time the noise would stop, too which i was told "iIt is on all night". I noted that we felt very mislead by the "bit noisy" remark as i cant see anyone being able to sleep. I feel it is a room that should never have been converted into a bedroom, let alone charge people to stay there. When i asked if we could be moved, i was told yes but we would have to pay the difference. From then on the stay got so much better, we came to an agreement about the room and got a wonderful room, worlds apart from the first one.
As it was late we decided to eat in the restaurant that night and booked a table. We were not disappointed. The food was very very tasty, very well presented and great value. It was so good and there was so much to choice, we booked the next nights meal there. Again the second meal was as good as the first. The staff could be a bit quicker and a bit more friendly, however these are small points that did not impact our stay or meals.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at The Olde Coach House, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the food good on both nights.
We have now resolved the noise issue with room 2, so this experience should not happen again.
Many Thanks
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashby Saint Ledgers
2.1 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa
10.3 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
16.1 mi away
The World's End
The World's End
#1 of 1 in Ecton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
8.9 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Coach House

Property: The Olde Coach House
Address: Main Street, Ashby Saint Ledgers CV23 8UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Ashby Saint Ledgers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ashby Saint Ledgers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olde Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good News in January 2014 we have been awarded AA 4 stars for our accommodation standard and a AA Dining award for the quality of our food. The Olde Coach House is set in the beautiful village of Ashby St Ledgers which was mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086.In addition to our existing 4 bedrooms we are also home to 11 individually designed boutique bedrooms all with the facilities you expect from a top hotel, but located in the converted stables of this country inn.The rooms include designer bathrooms with rain showers, heated towel rails,bathrobes,32" flat screen TVs, ipod charger, direct dial telephones, pillow menu,comfy new beds with cosy duvets and FREE WIFI.OCH also boasts a charming rustic Bar with flagstone floors, low beams and open fires, a contemporary Restaurant and fantastic garden and courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Olde Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Coach House Hotel Ashby Saint Ledgers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing