We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Friendly Staff”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Betchworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food - Friendly Staff”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Called in when we were staying at Hartsfield Manor and fancied good pub grub and we certainly achieved it. Food was excellent and very good value for money.

Very friendly staff which I believe were the new owners and made my colleague and myself very welcome.

We did consider staying however an offer at the nearby hotel tempted us away, however I certainly will be staying here when I'm next in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    42
    16
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“IT COULD BE SO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a local pub ... it has changed hands a few times, but the current owners promised great things. Unfortunately it hasn't lived up to expectations. The food is average and I personally feel that although there is new furniture inside, the walls could do with a coat of paint to brighten it up! Sorry!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia W, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Belinda C,


Please don't be sorry, we welcome all feedback from our customers in order to improve our standards where necessary, and are happy to respond. Taking over from the previous owners, we have given the pub a brighter feel with a lighter colour, ultimately making the most of the natural light, and also helping to enhance any darker areas. In addition to the new lick of paint we have a detailed focus on our menu and our passionate kitchen staff work hard to generate new ideas and exciting specials, whilst maintaining the quality of the existing dishes on our menu. They are currently working on our new summer menu and we hope that you will return in the future to give our dining experience another try.



Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and friendly staff”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stopped here for lunch whilst staying in the area. Staff very friendly with beautiful surroundings.
Great value food, would highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandyH126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia W, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

From all the team at The Red Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very friendly pub”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

A very friendly pub in the lovely surrey countryside staff make you very welcome and food is best described as possibly requires a little more quality and maybe a touch more thought.Curry was really just far too hot.Out of four people 2 very happy and 2 not so happy.I am sure it is getting better week by week.o

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Booked here for a romantic gateway and to visit nearby areas (Reigate) The host and staff are all very friendly and have a great sense of humor, good pub food and ale, traditional settings.
The room was large, modern, and clean, fluffy towels, Very comfortable king size bed. The rooms are accross the courtyard, so you don't hear any noise from the pub. Very peaceful settings. Plently of parking. The landlady really could not do enough for us. Breakfast was included with the room (full English plus juice and cereals also set out). The village its beautiful! Convenient location, good for exploring nearby Reigate as well. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bubble_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

 
Holmbury St Mary, Surrey
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing