We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under New management - worth a visit”
Review of Red Lion Pub

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Lion Pub
Ranked #2 of 4 Betchworth B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Under New management - worth a visit”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here two days after the new owners had arrived, they were supposed to be in on the Saturday but were delayed due to some problems, not their fault, and were still having teething problems with payment systems when I was there. My room was a good size overlooking the cricket green and away from the pub, clean throughout with a good shower and comfy bed. The food in the pub was an mix of traditional pub food and some interesting dishes on the specials board. My salt and pepper squid was very good as was my main course, good sized portions at a reasonable price. The breakfast is now served in the pub as opposed to a platter sent to your room which is apparently what happened previously. Breakfast was also very good. If I am staying in the area again i would look to book in here. Staff very friendly and eager to please

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troydyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    26
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
29
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Booked a table on the Monday for dinner on Saturday night with a group of friends, reservation made fine. However, turned up to find a few vans in the car park, not looking good, we then get told upon entering that the restaurant is closed for a refurb as new owners just taken over!?!!? very courteous to notify customers in advance of this, especially when our table as only booked four days prior! No apology for the error or inconvenience, shan't bother trying here again if this is how they value customers!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed there for two nights at the weekend and really enjoyed our stay.

The rooms are surprsingly large, clean and with very comfy beds.

There is a nice beer garden and ample car parking.

I do think the breakfast tray left in your room the night before left me wanting a little but didn't prevent me enjoying my stay.

I also agree with a few of the comments that the service from the staff was acceptable but far from friendly or welcomming.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We decided to try the Red Lion for a change, wrong move. The ambiance was really not good, very dull and dreary, could do with a really good spruce up, even the furniture left a lot to be desired most unatractive. The welcome on arrival could have been a lot more convivial even a smile would have been nice.
The food though plentiful and well cooked and presented nicely was quite expensive and we were not asked part way through if all was well and satisfactory.
I think perhaps they rely more on their B & B and Sunday lunch is just an off shoot. The wine was nicely chilled and of quite good quality, my lady not having different from me this time foregoing her rose or red. It had the usual gang of Senior Citizen gents enjoying their Sunday lunch time pint which because of the length of the bar precluded anyone else getting to the counter which would not have been good for business.
Altogether not a good experience and we shall not be returning for any other meals at any other time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

i had nice food here, service was great. nice outdoor area for larger parties. Looking forward to another trip in the future many thanks. Recommendatory the sunday lunch for others! a good little gem hidden away

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAdviso432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are well presented, very clean and comfortable so tick all right the boxes in these departments. They are situated in a separate building from the pub, are a decent size and look out over a cricket pitch and so are quite light and airy.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and this is extended to dog owners and their dogs, though this doesn't bother me, some might be put off.

What can I say about the pub's food? The food is simply excellent. The menu has reasonsable variation, with the usual suspects steak, burger and fish all with excellent chips, but you must try the ribs. The steak and chips and beef burger were excellent, but the ribs blew those away!

Unfortunately, breakfast was a little lacking. I like to stay in places like these as you usually get a great tasting cooked breakfast, not the overcooked (or even under-cooked...), kept warm and now turned-to-rubber stuff that you get in the large chains. However, breakfast was alpen with coco pops or Special K and some fruit, placed in your room on a tray the night before and this is why I've marked The Red Lion overall as only "Very Good" and not "Excellent".

This wouldn't put me off staying here again as the location was great for a good night's sleep and all taken in account, I think it represented good value for money, but I might be swayed by a similar establishment that offered a cooked a breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoyFromEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk.England
Level Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great for an overnight stay as attending a wedding nearby in Redhill,perfect location for Reigate,Redhill and Gatwick.Excellent room in adjacent building,pub is located in quiet lane in pretty village by a stream so little traffic noise.Wine and Beer fine,can comment on food apart from breakfast ,which,as expected was a tray delivered to our room in the evening (fruit juice,cereal,cereal bars,fruit-perhaps a fresh joghurt would have been nice too) Tea/Coffee facilities in room,good sized room ,plenty of hot water and towels,very clean with good ensuite facilities, All in all a very pleasant stay and would have no hesitation in recommending.For those desperate for a cooked breakfast did notice a carvery pub five mins away that was serving breakfasts every day (on Reigate road.) We were happy with what we had as had eaten a five course (!) meal the evening before at the wedding.Food in pub looked good,plenty eating there lunchtime.

Room Tip: All away from pub so guess no noise can be heard from pub,ours was certainly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ange55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betchworth
0.4 mi away
Hartsfield Manor Betchworth
2.9 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
2.5 mi away
Best Western Reigate Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Reigate
333 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
293 reviews
3.2 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Pub

Property: Red Lion Pub
Address: Old Road, Betchworth RH3 7DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Betchworth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Betchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Pub Betchworth, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing