We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Healey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Healey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batley
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

Awful service:-
- I reserved a room a couple of weeks before I travelled. I called a couple of days before and my booking had been lost
- When I arrived the second booking had also been lost, but after a long wait was found again. It was then incorrect and I had only been booked for one night instead of two
- I specifically asked for a quiet room and was put in a room directly above the speakers at a wedding - it was so loud the cups and saucers were moving across the coffee table and I couldn't hear the TV. It seems that one of the staff had changed my room so a member of staff could stay in my original one!!
- Some of the staff were criticising the new management saying that they didn't know what they were doing
- I asked for a discount in view of the mess ups and it was agreed a £15 discount would be taken from my card, however, full payment was taken without my authorisation
- Despite numerous phonecalls and E-mails the proprietor never called me back
Terrible service, avoid at all costs. The only person who tried to help me was called Louise, but her hands were clearly tied. (Can I add that it wasn't Louise who criticised the management, she was the only professional member of staff there).

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartineDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    91
    49
    26
    52
See reviews for
57
94
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2009

We booked this place for our daughter's naming ceremony as it met our criteria of being half way between both sides of the family & they allow dogs.

The private room was perfect for our gathering & the food & bar service were great. The staff were so helpful & friendly, they really did bend over backwards to accommodate our needs. Breakfast was included & was a welcome hangover cure the following morning!

We only booked it for this purpose & stayed one night so I can't comment on any other aspects but all our guests had a really good time & if I was going to name any future children Id happily come here again! The dogs enjoyed the large gardens too!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thejudderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

Restaurant and bar areas of the hotel are very nice - recently redecorated and welcoming. The bedroom that we had it had good view to the back garden. Staff very friendly and helpful and food excellent (Breakfast & dinner).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2008

What a wonderful hotel. Enjoyed my stay here staff very friendly and beautiful Hotel would say it was more like a 3 star. Modern decor great service all staff very helpful and the surroundings were beautiful and would highly reccomend to anyone as good price for what you get.
Will definatley return when staying in this area again.
Food great and breakfast delicious.
Thankyou for a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jayne29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

the food was superb, we were there on the weekend and found the service was great, nice clean rooms and it was reasonably priced. the garden at the rear was beautiful and like a hidden oasis. i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — the gardens and free car parking
  • Disliked — the bar closed at 3am
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank deemers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batley
2.3 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gomersal Park Hotel
Gomersal Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gomersal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
1.5 mi away
Healds Hall Hotel
Healds Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Liversedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.9 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Healey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healey Hotel

Property: Healey Hotel
Address: Towngate Road, Batley WF17 7HR, England (Formerly Alder House Hotel Batley)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Batley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Healey Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Hotel is just minutes from the town of Batley, and a short driving distance to local beauty spots, including Bronte Country, Summer Wine Country, Yorkshire’s Skopos Motor Museum, Howley Hall Golf Club, and Bagshaw Museum, to name a few. Guests can also visit surrounding cities including Dewsbury at 1 mile, Brighouse at 2 miles, Cleckheaton at 2 miles, Osset at 2 miles and Leeds, Wakefield, Huddersfield, Halifax, and Bradford that are only 5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Healey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel Healey Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing