We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money. Great staff serving good wholesome food”
Review of The Pheasant

The Pheasant
Ranked #32 of 74 Restaurants in Batley
Cuisines: Eastern European
Restaurant details
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very good value for money. Great staff serving good wholesome food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Having read previous reviews I feel I should defend the pub.
I always write honest and frank reviews. I have now eaten twice within 2 months and in both occasions I have enjoyed the experience; the food, drink, service and atmosphere have been excellent. We usually visit very early evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ubl666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    25
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Some common sense please reviewers”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I feel the need to come to the defence of what is my beloved local. Reviews like the previous that claim the 'restaurant' (its a pub dear) uses frozen burgers. You just paid £6.50 for it and it came with a free drink. Of course its frozen! This is clearly value food not gordon flippin ramsey. The clue is in the price folks. Pound for pound this is probably the best out of the abbundance of cheap food places you will find around the retail park. I eat here very regularly and where i cirtainly wouldnt use it to entertain the queen, the food is always hot, quick and tasty. It has a very pleasant atmosphere and very friendly staff. The managers are always a pleasure and the beer is always tip top. I cannot fault the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter-vencman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food less than average”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I visited this restaurant recently with my partner and we both ordered burgers. We were both very disappointed with the quality of the meat - it did not seem to be fresh but rather like something they just pulled out of the freezer. I also had battered mushrooms for starter and again they were definitely not freshly made. Area outside needs some updating or at least good cleaning. Not nice to sit at the table with ash tray filled with cigarette buts.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great pint and ok food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Some of the most recent reviews are outrageous really, the one at length using adjectives such as "pond life" and "gollum" to describe staff shows nothing more than lack of intellect of the reviewer.

People should use this site for honest reviews with honest but civil language, not an excuse to have a pop. Reviews like that should not be in public view IMHO.

The pub changed management and decided on a no football policy as they had obviously grown tired of the problems this caused on a weekend. this was undoubtedly not a popular decision as there aren't many pubs in Birstall that have SKY, but then it is so expensive.

Their pub, their rules

Came here at the weekend for a few beers, and the cask ales were all in tip top form. Good selection of Ciders and other drinks for the ladies in attendance, so no complaints.

Staff have always been pleasant and polite when we have been. The food is comfort pub grub, don't expect any more than that and you won't be disappointed. or if you have higher expectations eat elsewhere. It is certainly no worse than the expensive chains you can find half a mile up the road at the retail park.

I hope the pub carries on down the road of beer festivals and good drinks, that is what good boozers are about, not SKY tv and football. If you are too tight to pay for it yourself don't expect a pub to fork out the astronomical fees they would be charged so you can go get a beer and a burger for a fiver and watch the match. Or go into Leeds and pay £3-50+ a pint.

Good boozer, decent food, pleasant staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nedthewonderhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good little pub”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I do agree that the atmosphere is somewhat lacking - this is not all the time.

A little music or football on the TV would sort that out - I visit the Pheasant regularly, the bar staff are nice and friendly.

The food is good, I always order 1 of a few things, I would recommend the Pheasant for a cheeky pint and a burger.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank one_time_on_the_MIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Batley, West Yorkshire
 
Birstall, West Yorkshire
Batley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing