We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hopwood
Post
Inbox
Search

“Excellent”
Review of Hopwood House Inn

Hopwood House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Hopwood
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time i had visited , it was really nice, i had the lasagne and cheesecake for dessert, friend had veg soup and a ploughmans, food was really tasty, the staff really polite and friendly, it was clean and tidy,i will go again

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NigelT530, General Manager at Hopwood House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review , we look forward to seeing you again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 728 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Booked on line got there early let the young lady sorting the bookings out we had arrived and to let us know when the table was free, but to the point all the staff were brilliant service was second to none andthe food was hot and delish. No complaints at all going again next Sunday

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank noelb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NigelT530, Owner at Hopwood House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback , and that you enjoyed your dining experience at Hopwood .
We hope to see you again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

We decided to drop in on the off chance being a Saturday and close to Christmas we hadn't booked. The Staff were very kind and we just had to wait a short while to be seated. We took our gc who is 8YEARS OLD, AND GUESS WHAT Santa was there greeting everyone. We ordered our meals, they do gf as well. While we were waiting our gc was asked if she would like to see Santa oh yes she said, she had a chat with him and she was given a present. How wonderful and free as well you couldn't ask for more than that,We all enjoyed our meals and left full and with one happy little child thanks Too all the staff

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Eddystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NigelT530, General Manager at Hopwood House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Happy new year , I will pass on your Thank you to Santa and the team .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

Plenty of staff and not too busy but there was no real welcome or information as to how to order your meals. Staff were friendly but it was all a little sloppy. Two out of the four meals were ok but two were not at all good. We sent one back - staff very apologetic and quickly rectified the problem.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Inspire507445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NigelT530, General Manager at Hopwood House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Thank you for your feedback , and that the team resolved your issue .
I’m not sure if you were in the bar area or restaurant as you haven’t stated .




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

Visited for a family meal on New Year’s Eve. Didn’t have a particularly great experience when I ate here last time. Ordered a prawn cocktail which was served with no sauce. I had to ask for this and was given a separate pot of Mary Rose sauce which took a while to come out, so I was sat looking at mine while everyone else was eating. The menu said it was serviced with ‘rustic bread’. As the pic below shows, I was given the crust of a standard, cheap quality loaf of white bread. Feel you have to ask for everything. Ask for more cutlery between courses, ask for a plate for wife’s chicken wings starter, ask for glasses to be cleared. Wasn’t that busy either. Thankfully, the mains made up for it which were nice. Average is the perfect word to sum up the service and quality of food here

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank Kennedys14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NigelT530, General Manager at Hopwood House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Your quite right about the bread unfortunately we as a company had issues with our suppliers , and the bread was not our usual quality .

I will go through the points you have made with the team , and relay your observations on meeting guests expectations and improving our service.

Thank you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopwood House Inn also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Barnt Green, Worcestershire
 
Alvechurch, Worcestershire
 
Alvechurch, Worcestershire
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Hopwood House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing