We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not been for 2 years - improved beyond all recognition!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smithaleigh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smithaleigh Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not been for 2 years - improved beyond all recognition!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Called in for a quick "supper" on Friday - family of four. Not been for two years, because although only up the road for us, the last time we visited the food was average and the time it took to serve two courses was interminable. However, a revelation - food & service tonight was excellent. We had soup, scallops & parfait to start, chicken piri and pulled pork burgers as mains. Good presentation, quality & fair price. Friendly, efficient service. Definitely back on our radar.
Well done & thanks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marros19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirka M, General Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for giving us an opportunity to show our improvements! I hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    55
    46
    19
    20
See reviews for
52
76
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

My mum and dad had their wedding here, it was fantastic. The staff are very hard working and will try their best to satisfy your needs, the food is amazing and the rooms are nicely decorated and 100% clean, was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteDickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirka M, General Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review, it is a real booster! I have passed your comments onto our staff as well, they were very pleased to see their efforts don't go unnoticed.
I hope to see you at The Smithaleigh again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Visited in Feb 2014, with the Groupon offer for a 3 course sunday lunch. To be honest, the price of the Groupon was more than reasonable, which makes reviewing difficult, however, there were still some logistical issues that need to be addressed. It started with the fact that we couldn't access our Groupon voucher because the wireless internet was not working. 2 positives came out of this - one of the waitresses lent us her own phone and internet to access it. Unfortunately, there was no signal (be aware that it appears to be a blackspot), but Alvaro, the manager, said it was ok for us to take our booking and to forward him the voucher when we got home. Great service indeed. Once we were seated, we had our starters of crayfish tails in marie rose sauce. These were disappointing, in that they consisted of a large amount of green salad and sauce, with minimal crayfish. For the roast, I had beef and my partner had lamb. Despite the restaurant being 25% full, there was a long wait between the courses. There was fresh veg and the meat portions were generous. The roast potatoes tasted like they had been cooked a long time ago and held since then - thick skinned and chalky. My partner was gutted to find there was no mint sauce for the lamb - it had ran out! After despatching the roast, the puddings arrived. They had obviously been microwaved in the bowls they were served in, which was disappointing, meaning the bowl was red hot and the puddings did not look 'fresh'. If anything, it felt like they had been pre-plated and put in a fridge(?), for use as required.
In essence, had I paid full price, I would not have been very happy. My comments are mitigated because of the value of the groupon voucher, but surely standards, once set, should be maintained?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased to see you got all the help and assistance needed from all the staff including Alvaro, the manager. The location of the hotel can indeed affect the network coverage, but with time this seems to be improving and most of the big brands have good signal strength.
We have similar feedback about the cray fish tails with marie rose sauce from some more guests, it has been addressed with the Head chef and will be changed straight away. This is occasion where your feedback can immediately help us improve our services, thank you!

Back in February we experienced high staff turnover and on the day you came to see us we had few new trainees, therefore the food and service quality was not up to our usual high standard. This has much improved since and I do hope you will come to visit us again so you can experience our usual high standard of service.

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review and helping us to improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We recently held a party here for aprox 85 guests. The venue was very nice food excellent and the management team could not have been more helpful. Our only concern would be with some of the waiting staff there were problems with the language barrier and an overall unfriendly approach this was noted at breakfast where we waited along with others for considerable time to be served when we asked for more coffee we were given clean cups on our dirty saucers We have to say we have not experienced this on previous visits with the local staff

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving us review here on Tripadvisor as well. I am very pleased you have enjoyed the party and most of all that it was a surprise!
I really appreciate your feedback about our venue and staff, I will use this to move forward and to improve the service we offer.
I hope to see you at The Smithaleigh soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We bought a 3 course meal for 2 from Groupon. With the price we paid (£18 for 2 people / 3 courses) we were satisfied with what we had but wouldn't be back again even on the offer.

Upon arriving the grounds and building are very small in comparison to the photographs on the website. We parked up and walked through reception feeling absolutely 0 ambiance. The reception area is ok and seemed to appeal to the older generation. The staff were ok, very average and did not greet with a smile and warm welcome. Mediocre really. The most random part was the dining area, very small area which felt like a lounge area that had been renovated to a restaurant with tables placed inside. The appearance needs work, the restaurant needs to have a more 'open' feel - maybe the bar should all be open plan. The view out the window was the car park so not very attractive.

The food: unfortunatly when we recieved the very basic menu with a few choices for starter/ main / dessert the pork main was crossed out along with the crumble dessert. This was disspointing. I mean, catering such a small menu anyway you should ensure the kitchen has enough supplies to serve the customers that come in regardless of how busy it gets. This put me off the most. You would have thought the groupon offer was an opportunity to show off the restaurant and accelerate further business so this was very stupid in terms of making an impression on new customers.

The food was OK, the prawn cocktail had more leaves than prawns and did not come with a little slice of bread (common practice) this was a bit strange.
The roast was a good portion and the beef was very nice. The gravy let the dish down though.
It lacked beef flavour and was like a red wine bland gravy.

The dessert was very nice, the choc fondant was the nicest dish. It was a bit strange how the sauce was placed on the slate plate under the dishes?

Obvious touch ups are needed here. I can see why the restaurant needs to create business by giving an offer to new customers but at least think about keeping them?

Nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aringles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Oh dear, you have not enjoyed our Sunday lunch at all! I'm very sorry to hear that as it usually is very popular.
It is very true that we did run out of few item on the mentioned Sunday. For some unknown reason the pork was very popular that weekend and even though we had enough to feed 20 people we did run out! I'm sorry there was none left for you, please be assured this was very rare occasion and our Sunday lunch is usually very well stocked.
I have also followed up the shortage of the crumble with our new head chef and we have learned from this mistake. I do hope that the remaining 4 main courses and 4 desserts were enough choice for you.
I will forward all your comment to our head chef as well so he can take these into consideration and learn from your feedback.

I have taken all your comments on board and will bear them in mind when refurbishing our lounge as well as restaurant.
Once again i am sorry you have not enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and thank you very much for letting us know how it went for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed three nights reasonably comfortable but on arrival no heating in bedroom or main lighting.
This was sorted after advising hotel in about 10 minutes. Room (no6) somewhat tired like the rest of the place but decent value overall. Breakfast good in the main cleanliness fair could do with a little more care.Staff friendly and helpful.Location easy to find but the A38 road cuts in front of hotel and awkward getting to from some directions to it.

Room Tip: rooms on the back are perhaps less noisy but people in rooms above ours could be heard clumping abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you very much you took the time to write about your stay.
I am sorry that upon your arrival the rooms was cold and you experienced difficulty with your electricity. It is great to see that the problems were dealt with promptly and efficiently and you have enjoyed your stay!

I hope to see you at The Smithaleigh in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed one night and paid £54 with breakfast included. After reading the reviews on here we assumed we would be getting a good basic hotel room. From our experience I could only assume people have been leaving reviews for the wrong hotel! Soon as we opened the door we were greeted by filthy carpets (see photo) mud and dirty tracks went up the room. The second thing we noticed was the damp smell. The room didn't feel like it had been stayed in for a while, the air and the bedding all felt cold and damp. This could have been attributed by the woefully fitted windows. Fully closed it sounded like they were open. Pull back the curtains and around the windows it was filthy and gaps around the window let in noise from outside.

Looking around the room one of the corners had moisture coming down the wall, it was damp to touch, because of this the wallpaper was coming away from the wall. There were black spots of mould on areas of the wall and on the bathroom blind. The room wasn't cleaned very well at all, other peoples hairs could also be found in the bed.

It was late, we were tired so we settled down for the night. I have never stayed in such a noisy hotel room in my life. The guests above us wasn't being noisy on purpose but every tiny move caused the ceiling to creak. You could hear them talking and by the time they were asleep you could hear them snoring! I'm so lucky I had brought some earplugs otherwise I would never have got any sleep. In the morning about 6am upstairs phone alarm clock went off for half an hour. BUZZ BUZZ BUZZ from the vibrating phone alarm, it went on for what seemed like an age, this I could hear through ear plugs. The bed was very uncomfortable I later found out in the morning a few of the wooden slats were broken beneath the bed.

The only things that saved this hotel from a 1 star review was the staff were all quite friendly and the breakfast was nice. The rooms are desperate and its a shame because this hotel could be a nice budget stopover but we will be avoiding in the future. In contrast we stayed in a different hotel the next night as part of our trip, we paid exactly the same but it was wonderful. Fully renovated throughout and a proper budget hotel!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here request a 1st floor room to avoid the noise from people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rich210uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
I would be grateful if you could contact me directly at the hotel. Everything you described above is definitely not the usual standard we aim to provide in our hotel and clearly not acceptable.
I would love to get some more information from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plympton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plympton
6.9 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
3.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
6.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
5.2 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#17 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
7.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smithaleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smithaleigh Hotel

Property: The Smithaleigh Hotel
Address: Smithaleigh, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 5AX, England (Formerly New Country Inn & Smithaleigh Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth > Plympton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smithaleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smithaleigh Hotel is located in the picturesque South Hams area of Devon, just a few miles away from Plymouth. Its secluded location is only a few hundred metres from the main Exeter to Plymouth A38, but is just far enough away from the main road to offer a relaxing and peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Smithaleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smithaleigh Hotel Plympton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing