We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is poorly managed - avoid!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Elizabeth's House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2010

This was our second stay in this hotel. On arrival the room was cold although the bathroom was pleasantly warm. We found the radiator thermostat valves and the check valves to be shut off - and there was still frost on the ground! Only one dressing gown was provided for a double room 'we find they are only used by the ladies' . No fresh milk, no tissues, some toiletries missing many other brochure misprints and errors . As we had problems getting a restaurant table on a previous stay we had requested dinner at 8pm on both nights which was confirmed by e-mail. Despite a telephone check of our booking the day before arrival and two meals in the restaurant we were not warned that our Tuesday evening meal would be in a cramped annex with uncomfortable chairs as there was a block booking of the restaurant. Later that evening we noticed a strong smell of drains from the bathroom - but able to be blocked by turning off the fan and closing the door.
The following morning when we checked out at 0900 no duty manager was available to comment. We were promised a telephone call from the owner. No call and an e-mail reminder was allegedly delayed as it was in their junk mail! 5 days later a manager telephoned. He did not appear to understand the basics of customer satisfaction: an apology would have been better than his attempts to brush off or minimise my comments.
The food was good though!
A shame - this could be a lovely place if properly managed by its owners

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndySoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 489 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for a birthday weekend. The feel of the hotel was lovely and the staff extremely helpful and very welcoming. The bar area has a lovely atmosphere with with tasteful decor (Christmas decorations up already). The food was of a good quality and breakfast was a relaxed affair . The only slight downside was that our room was above the kitchens and they like to have their music on fairly loud early in the morning. However when we phoned reception it was turned down immediately. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We married at another venue on the 8th September and held our evening reception on the 17th September at St Elizabeths
We had 140 guests, 28 of which also stayed the night in the hotel.
The evening was amazing, the food was excellent, service fantastic and venue simply stunning.
Everyone has a wonderful evening, myself and my husband loved every minute.
I'd highly recommend St Elizabeth's to anyone who is planning on getting married. Nothing was too much trouble for this family run business.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBleazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

This was a stop over on a trip back from Cornwall to London and booked through late rooms. We were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The room, especially the bathroom was very good- especially enjoyed the roll top bath and waterfall shower.

Just don't have dinner at the pub across the road- monumentally terrible!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallym106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We had a superb stay for long weekend. The hotel has very modern fixtures and fittings all to a very high standard, and the staff are superb, the bar/ restuarant manager in particular really looked after us. Whether you are looking to chill and read the sunday papers over coffee or sit in the bar and chat this place has it all. The only negatives I would say is that some new carpets wouldnt go amiss and on our last morning there the owners daughter (I think) was in charge of breakfast which took ages! We intended to eat in the restuarant a couple of times but the food was so good and such good value (dont believe the reports otherwise!) that weate there every evening!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev_NicDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I had the castle room and was impressed by the size and quality and how quiet it was at night .Being on a budget i had dinner at the pub across the road . I can recommend this hotel as a base for exploring the Devon and Dartmoor region . The space , grace and class of this hotel really met my expectations of what a true boutique english hotel ought to be.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiegypsy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This is a gem of a hotel. Set in beautifully landscaped grounds, the hotel is an imposing building. The staff were welcoming and very warm and friendly, the room was immaculate, spacious, and you just sunk into the bed! The food was great, a romantic resteraunt, with a great choice on the menu. I would thoroughy recommend this hotel for literally any kind of trip - business, romance, leisure - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellTravelledYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plympton
1.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
132 reviews
4.4 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,051 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
790 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Elizabeth's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Elizabeth's House

Address: Longbrook Street | St Maurice, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 1NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth > Plympton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Price Range: $142 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Elizabeth's House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Elizabeth's House in South Devon is a celebration of luxury, style and service. This Devon hotel combines contemporary, state-of-the-art features whilst retaining the Georgian manor's traditional charm. Situated in the historic village of Plympton St Maurice and surrounded by 9 acres of sweeping lawns and beautifully landscaped gardens, St Elizabeth's House offers an idyllic retreat from the stresses of busy lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Elizabeth's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Elizabeth`s House Hotel Plympton
St Elizabeth's House Plympton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing