We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent small hotel in a lovely market town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Elizabeth's House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Certificate of Excellence
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An excellent small hotel in a lovely market town”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had one night here last Friday night on our way down to Newquay. It was in a lovely setting and a very impressive driveway. All the staff at the hotel were attentive and very pleasant and very efficient and friendly. We had the Sir Christopher Wren room overlooking the gardens at the back with a lovely view. Lovely bathroom with a large shower and a roll top bath. We had the three course dinner in the evening which was definitely Michelin star quality. AfterwRds we went a walk around the village. It was hot and beautifully served in a most welcoming dining area overlooking the gardens. Breakfast to was excellent we were very impressed. If down there again we would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Sir Christopher Wren room was lovely but I would imagine any of the rooms overlooking the gardens wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolannpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    92
    23
    13
    2
See reviews for
149
148
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Skawina, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Nice little hotel, impressive bar area and nice function rooms. Stayed in the Elizabeth suite with its huge bathroom with sunken jacuzzi bath. Room was nice although I felt that the style of the wooden furniture and settees was a bit dated and not in the period sense. Breakfast was good although everything on the buffet was not put out till approx 0720 rather than the 0700 start time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleepyNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Myself and I partner stayed here for a week in July and we were not disappointed, the hotel is beautiful inside and out, it's set within lovely grounds set back in the small town of plympton. Our room was beautiful we had a lovely view over the gardens and the bathroom wow! Had a gorgeous freestanding slipper type bath and separate shower which was generously sized. Was very clean and everything was perfect. The bed was so comfy and would recommend a stay here highly! We did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on food. The service from staff was very high and we were well looked after, when returning from an afternoon out to find our power had gone this was resolved within minutes and we received an apology, very good service. They also gave us a local taxi number who we used all week and they were very reliable and friendly! Definitely recommend a stay here it is a beautiful place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Arriving in London after a long overnight flight from Canada (4 hours late) we were on our way to St. Ives but wanted to break up the long train trip to re-charge our batteries. St. Elizabeth's House fit the bill nicely being just outside Plymouth in a very quiet area. An unexpected bonus was an excellent dining room. The bar is a lovely place for a drink before going in for dinner. Very glad we stopped in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memphismickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Spent the day here at St Elizabeth's last Sunday for my brother's wedding. Can honestly say the venue was perfect, staff were attentive but not in your face, food plentiful and delicious (including the childrens'), beautiful grounds for equally beautiful photographs, speeches delivered on the staircase made a nice touch. Family members who stayed in the hotel were delighted with the rooms, incredibly clean and spacious with stunning decor. Looking forward to having an opportunity to return for a family meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hills3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My daughter and her fiancé chose St Elizabeth House as their wedding venue.
It was absolutely wonderful. The setting, accommodation, food and staff just could not be faulted. All staff had that little extra, enough character to be able to engage in conversation with their customers, this just added to the whole enjoyment of the day.
Our food was amazing, wonderful presentation & so tasty.
Whether you choose to dine here, overnight stay, or have a special day, you will be delighted.

Room Tip: All rooms I saw were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7ony55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had birthday lunch here, great food, great service, great value for money. Second time we've had lunch here and each time good variety on menu, food excellent, staff very attentive will be back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plympton
1.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
4.4 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
614 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,339 reviews
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,934 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Elizabeth's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Elizabeth's House

Property: St Elizabeth's House
Address: Longbrook Street | St Maurice, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 1NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth > Plympton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Elizabeth's House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Elizabeth's House in South Devon is a celebration of luxury, style and service. This Devon hotel combines contemporary, state-of-the-art features whilst retaining the Georgian manor's traditional charm. Situated in the historic village of Plympton St Maurice and surrounded by 9 acres of sweeping lawns and beautifully landscaped gardens, St Elizabeth's House offers an idyllic retreat from the stresses of busy lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Elizabeth's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Elizabeth`s House Hotel Plympton
St Elizabeth's House Plympton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing