We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful rooms but let down by restaurant.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Elizabeth's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Elizabeth's House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms but let down by restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a business trip in April for one night. Absolutely beautiful, and made a lovely change for us, as we usually stay in travel lodges etc. The grounds around the hotel are lovely for a walk with animals and seating areas, there is also a large gravelled car park to the rear.

We checked into a standard room. Beautiful! Superbly comfy soft bed with lovely clean white bed sheets and (?feather/down) pillows. All the extras you could want I.e tea/coffee/hot chocolate, mini bar fridge (chargeable of course), large flat screen tv mounted on the wall etc etc.

The bathroom was a big plus for me. Large freestanding roll top bath and large separate shower with roof window to let plenty of light in. All very clean and very nice complimentary toiletries. Bathrobes even provided. I had a wonderfully relaxing afternoon having a bath and chilling out while the hubby was out at work!

As we didn't know there area we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. We had taken a menu up to our room at check in and booked a table for the evening.

The restaurant is really lovely. As the building dates to the georgian period, as you can imagine there are lots of period features. The menu is very varied with plenty of choice. The prices are expensive but we thought it seemed like it must be worth it. We both had scallops for starters, I had pork belly and hubby had steak for main then we both had creme brûlée for desert. It was nice but not excellent and the waiter was very sloppy and a little obnoxious if I'm honest. We had a drink in the bar after dinner and that was lovely also. With a glass of wine, one beer and a coke, the dinner bill came to around £90. Breakfast in the morning was well cooked and tasty.

We would stay there again but probably wouldn't eat in the restaurant. We had a great sleep and the staff are all very nice and pleasant in general.

Room Tip: Standard rooms themselves are pretty 'high spec', I doubt you would be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRMR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    86
    20
    12
    2
See reviews for
136
142
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here with the bride to be night before the wedding. On arrival the staff were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble, one member of staff was particulary helpful to our party, his name was Chris, he carried all the bags to our rooms (and their was a lot of them), was really helpful and nothing was too much trouble, this was extended to all the staff. The location is amazing and the rooms are fantastic, food is absolutely exquisite, could not fault this hotel, the wedding was amazing and as a proud auntie of the bride would like to thank all the staff for making my nieces day special and memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeline953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We took 31 people to the restaurant at St Elizabeth House for lunch on Bank Holiday Monday in the large private dining room at the front of the building for my husband's 70th birthday.
We discussed the menu in advance with Nick - one of the family - and he was so right with his advice about the choice. All the meals were delicious - of a very high quality and plenty of it. The people who had sea bass particularly commented on the taste and each person had 2 fillets. The room was beautifully decorated - looked like a wedding setting - and the service was excellent. The waiters soon realised that I had coded all the name plates with the appropriate dishes and it was all delivered perfectly.
As the meal was priced at the usual rate for a 3 course lunch it was excellent value for money and we all had a fantastic experience

Room Tip: The private dining room takes up to 40 people on large round tables and is ideal for a small functio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

lovely people and staff, so very helpful ,nothing to much trouble and happy in there work . Beautiful gardens and stream and a wedding pagoda .Nice views from your rooms .Food is excellent and a good wine list .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notabene15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have recently stayed at this hotel for my friends wedding. It is a very cosy intimate venue and the whole wedding was staged here. The surroundings was lovely and they made great use of the whole venue for the wedding. We stayed the night and the rooms were lovely! Modernly designed and spotless just a shame we weren't there long enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wyalong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a beautiful family run hotel with lovely appointments. A stately old home with much history.We were greeted cordially and shown to our lovely room. The bed was as comfortable as I have ever slept in.A very large room. High ceilings, lovely old fireplace. Beautiful ensuite with full size bath. Plenty of parking. Wonderful garden right at edge of village. Really enjoyed our walk around this old village. The dining room is beautiful. Has a Michelin rating. Unfortunately we only partook of breakfast. The best scrambled eggs I have eaten in over 4 weeks with smoked salmon. The waitress delightful. Only problem we encountered was the wifi, which simply did not work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margtierney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My daughter, Suzanne, and her partner, Mark, chose St Elizabeth's House for their wedding. It was a superb choice. The weather was dour, with rain all day. But nothing could dampen the day. The staff worked over and beyond their call of duty to accommodate any wishes and sort any problem, of which there were few. The House is licensed for weddings, drinks, food and music. Their prices are per room and at about £145 per night, are not exactly the cheapest in town, (we had stayed at the I*is the previous night, and the difference was chalk and cheese) but saying that, the rooms were luxurious, the food was hot and beautifully prepared, (I had opted for sea bass....melted in the mouth....all kudos to 'le chef'), the bed, (king size) when my wife and I eventually dropped into it, embraced us in it's comfort, so much so that I awoke the next morning feeling like I had slept forever.

I cannot praise the hotel enough. As a one or two night stay this is a luxury you need to try if or when visiting the West Country.

We are planning a stay there later in the year.

You have to try it to appreciate what you may be missing.

Bill

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but there are two suites on the ground floor which are accessible for disable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieWonka48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plympton
1.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
4.5 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
4.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Elizabeth's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Elizabeth's House

Property: St Elizabeth's House
Address: Longbrook Street | St Maurice, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 1NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth > Plympton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Elizabeth's House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Elizabeth's House in South Devon is a celebration of luxury, style and service. This Devon hotel combines contemporary, state-of-the-art features whilst retaining the Georgian manor's traditional charm. Situated in the historic village of Plympton St Maurice and surrounded by 9 acres of sweeping lawns and beautifully landscaped gardens, St Elizabeth's House offers an idyllic retreat from the stresses of busy lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your St Elizabeth's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Elizabeth`s House Hotel Plympton
St Elizabeth's House Plympton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing