We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Belfry at Yarcombe
Nearby Hotels
The George Inn(Chardstock)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Home Farm Hotel(Wilmington)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeview Manor(Honiton)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerrington House(Axminster)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Honiton(Honiton)(Great Value!)
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
193
41
13
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
193
41
13
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssarah janethe pubwarm welcomefruit juicefried breadcandlelight inncomfortable bedlovely toiletriesen routelocal producelight sleepersmall villageenjoyed my stayduckevening mealexcellent breakfastriver cottage
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 259 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

A last minute booking and so glad I did.A really beautiful spot and received a real hearty and warm welcome from Sarah Jane and Neil - lots of chat and gave me a good local overview.My room (Tennyson) was spot on - lovely comfortable bed,lots of light,so many thoughtful extras,and the idea of a half bottle of wine for purchase,was creditable!
It was a beautiful evening so I walked to Howley to The Tavern,had a delicious meal and a couple of jars and walked back.Lovely rolling countryside and passed by only one car there and back!!!
Slept like a log.Breakfast was one of the best anywhere - scrummy local produce and wonderful home-made jams...recommend the rhubarb & ginger! Next time i would like to sample the restaurant.There are so many thoughful additions here...fridge at the bottom of the stairs with juices and selection of teas.The lounge is comfy and relaxing.
You have it nailed.Will certainly return and wish you every success in the future!

Room Tip: Any room would not disappoint!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morchwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We've just returned from out 4th visit to the Belfry and i never fails to disappoint. It is next to a main road (but this is a country main road - not the M4!) but in a beautiful setting in th Blackdown HIlls. Neil and Sara-Jane are fabulous hosts and provide a welcoming rleaxed atmosphere. We love Coleridge which has a fantastic bed and amazing feature window. Don't just stay for B & B: Sara-Jane is an extremely clever chef with great attention to detail and a great menu sourced from local fresh produce. A lot of highly rated hotels would be proud to have her in their kitchens! We are real foodies and going to the Belfry is always a treat. Also no far from lots of great places to visit.

Room Tip: Coleridge is on the quieter side but we have never been disturbed by the road.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adelaide_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I think most of the reviews have covered all the great bits of the place. I always feel like my holiday is starting when I reach The Belfry. I love all the little touch's - a friendly welcome when you arrive, tea/coffee as you sink into the sofa and homemade cakes or biscuits. The beds are great, the showers have plenty of pressure and the breakfasts are to die for.

Any complaints - only one - too many people are getting to know about this gem and I might not get a room one of these days!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Having booked The Belfry because it looked nice and a darn sight cheaper than a Premier Inn i was so pleased to find everything perfect, the hosts, the food, the rooms and even the other nice guests.
Sarah-Jane and Neil are doing a great job. I cant wait to return to stay again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank philonhisbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The old school has been transformed into a quaint little B&B perched across the road from the village church.
The rooms are compact but comfy, with lovely L'Occitane bathroom goodies and nice little touches to make your stay as relaxing and cosy as possible.
The hosts, Sarah-Jane and Neil, offer a quintessentially English welcome, including the heartiest and tastiest of breakfasts, using locally-sourced ingredients.
We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kew_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews