We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunchtime meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Olive Grove

The Olive Grove
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Spennymoor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hidden in the corner of Spennymoor next to the council offices in Green Lane formally known as 'The Half Moon' lies a secret to be discovered after 4 months of refurbishment it opened it doors September 2012. When you enter you will be greeted with a warm welcome from the friendly staff. The setting has been themed on a rustic tuscancy hideaway filled with colours & fabrics of the Mediterranean. Its owners are a local family Steve & Lynda with Steve doubling up as head chef. We offer good home cooked food inducing fish and thick cut juicy steaks and an array of mouth watering dishes. Step outside and you will discover a tuscany courtyard and you are met with the sight of a old vineyard running round stone buildings & disappearing in the blue skyline. Exciting plans have been passed for a forty seater restaurant complete with its own kitchen and authentic open plan wood burning oven which will bring the smells and the taste of the Mediterranean
Durham
Level Contributor
262 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lovely lunchtime meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Visited the Olive Grove at lunchtime after recommendation. Went with friends and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Sizzlers were very tasty, Hunters Chicken and the Chicken in a Stilton sauce were both very good and we were impressed with the quality of the chicken. Crispy chips and little salad was very acceptable. Desserts offered a good selection, however if you can't make up your mind there is an option to choose three from the menu (obviously smaller portions) which is an excellent idea.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    79
    25
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great birthday meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked in a few days before for 25 people and they managed to fit us in.
We half expected a rush job and average food as there were another two parties in.
When the food came out we were all really happy with the portion sizes and the food tasted delicious! Atmosphere was great, good service, reasonable prices, would definately go back there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mariebesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Good food good service nice looking pub will go back look forward to the new part of the pub being finished will be back many thanks

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely leisurely lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

So nice to have somewhere like this in Spenny! Super atmosphere even at lunchtime and quite busy too.

Delicious lunch. I had sizzling prawns and my friend had steak/Stilton suet pudding, (and a child's meal at only £1!) The owner (Graham) was incredibly friendly and offered to cook my friend's husband anything he wanted to eat, as at the moment he can't eat well due to illness.

A thoroughly enjoyable meal and we will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeckyDurhamGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wabsy12, Owner at The Olive Grove, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
thanks becky for your nice comments , i felt so sorry for your your friend eating ice cream for is lunch, i do hope he gets better soon and my offer still stands if there is any thing he would like us to cook for him i will do it for him there will be no problem ps i still think he liked is real ale better ha ha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Whats hiding behind the olive tree”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wow !!
Cannot fault anything.. very friendly and the food is perfection

I am pleased the owner decided to keep it as a pub ..
We went on spec and was busy and we got a back table but we still ate like kings
Best advice BOOK A TABLE
dont think we will get lucky again

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Radar-uk-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Grove also viewed

Spennymoor, County Durham
Spennymoor, County Durham
 
Coxhoe, County Durham
Spennymoor, County Durham
 

Been to The Olive Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing