We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give it a try!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Olive Grove

The Olive Grove
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Spennymoor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hidden in the corner of Spennymoor next to the council offices in Green Lane formally known as 'The Half Moon' lies a secret to be discovered after 4 months of refurbishment it opened it doors September 2012. When you enter you will be greeted with a warm welcome from the friendly staff. The setting has been themed on a rustic tuscancy hideaway filled with colours & fabrics of the Mediterranean. Its owners are a local family Steve & Lynda with Steve doubling up as head chef. We offer good home cooked food inducing fish and thick cut juicy steaks and an array of mouth watering dishes. Step outside and you will discover a tuscany courtyard and you are met with the sight of a old vineyard running round stone buildings & disappearing in the blue skyline. Exciting plans have been passed for a forty seater restaurant complete with its own kitchen and authentic open plan wood burning oven which will bring the smells and the taste of the Mediterranean
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Give it a try!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Friendly staff, lovely food, clean pub!!!!
My wife and i have been in a couple of times now and enjoyed both occasions.
We will be back....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leigh l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wabsy12, Owner at The Olive Grove, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for your great review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    79
    25
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a table booked for 22 people on a Saturday night, a challenge for any restaurant! The restaurant was full and the staff were kept very busy, but despite this the service was excellent and even though our orders were taken separately our starters and main courses all came out at the same time and all hot. We didn't wait as long as expected for our food considering how busy the restaurant was. People walking in were told that there would be a wait so they wouldn't expect to be served straight away (unfortunately some people expect miracles). The staff were all friendly and still managed a smile and a joke in the midst of it all. A perfect place to go with a family or as a couple. The lay out of the restaurant gives it a cosy atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaSunderland14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wabsy12, Owner at The Olive Grove, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you emma for your kind words , the staff welcome people that leave comments on this way as it makes them feel they have done a good job , the Saturday you were in was the first Saturday that this as happened , we had made a few mistakes on the booking side but learned a big lesson , the staff at the end of the shift were feeling a little down as we could not service 2 tables , but im so glad you enjoyed you self , i will pass your comments on too the staff and im sure that will give them the moral boost they were looking for , many thanks again emma hope to see you soon . THE OLIVE GROVE TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service at a very reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Came here with 15 other work colleagues to eat from the bar menu on 20th December, as we only wanted a light meal and many pubs only serve Xmas Faye at this time of year. Despite the pub being full we were met with friendly staff, and our meals arrived really quickly and piping hot, which isn't an easy feat given the dining room was full as well as the bar. Portion sizes were just right and presentation of the food was also good.

Will definitely be returning here with family and friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSSNCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wabsy12, Manager at The Olive Grove, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
20th December how can we forget one of our busiest days! So pleased to hear some good feedback from the day glad you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to seeing you again in 2013. The Olive Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit, just ask for Jackie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Fabulous food and friendly staff. Jackie our waitress was attentive and friendly. Would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaffa0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wabsy12, Manager at The Olive Grove, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thanks for your kind words will let Jackie & staff know they are doing a good job. Hope to see you again soon. The Olive Grove Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place to eat , 5 star food , excellent all round !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

As we live in Spennymoor we always had to travel for a good meal. Since the olive grove opened we have eaten here 10+ times and every meal from the Steaks to Sunday lunch have been excellent. We have taken party's of 10 and all really enjoyed the food ! Set in a really nice environment and the atmosphere is brilliant. We have recommended to friends and family and all said they will be back . All the staff are great well done. Thanks Liam & Laura

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Big1277636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wabsy12, Manager at The Olive Grove, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thanks Liam & Laura for your custom in 2012 and we look forward to carry on seeing you in 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Grove also viewed

Spennymoor, County Durham
Spennymoor, County Durham
 
Coxhoe, County Durham
Spennymoor, County Durham
 

Been to The Olive Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing