We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveler rating
512
257
95
38
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
512
257
95
38
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deer park afternoon tea library restaurant country park beautiful hotel grounds are beautiful evening meal trouser press four poster bed lovely room following morning both nights wedding reception sunday lunch steak full english fish and chips
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 926 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

Going about this chronologically, booking in was straight forward, the room was lovely albeit slightly dusty (trying to be open and honest about this).
The evening meal was part of the package, (somewhat disappointing) -sea bream with boiled potatoes. (Fish not cooked through properly and the potatoes were cold). However the sweet was very very good. The other meal, a venison burger was adequate!
However this paints a bad picture that does not fully cover the weekend as the venue itself was very nice and the staff were very helpful.
Q/ Would we stay there again? R/ Yes we would.
That in itself says it all, it is what it is, a three star hotel.
Just what one should expect, not trying to be anything that is is not.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank BjHarrisonDueWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGeneralManager, General Manager at Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Hello and thank you for your review and comments posted here on Trip Advisor, great to read how, on the whole you enjoyed your time with us, and would return. I have passed on all the comments raised to the hard working team and I thank you for bringing them to my attention, we use them all in a constructive way to move the property forward.

Once again thank you for your review, and for choosing Whitworth Hall Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Christopher Ashby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017

Greted upon arrival and shown to our table in a beautiful part of the hotel with the whole room and tables beautifully laid out and flowers and decorative ornaments placed on ledges etc. Sun was streaming in which made the excitement even more great. Tea,coffee was limitless and always served hot and in pots. Assorted sandwiches, scones and cakes brought in on matching three tier stands. Everything was fabulous and we all agreed at the end of our visit that ut was a wonderful way to continue to celebrate a 90th birthday with this lovely Afternoon Tea...very reasonable too at a cost of only £14 each. Looking forward to a near future return.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGeneralManager, General Manager at Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Thank you firstly for choosing Whitworth Hall for such a special birthday celebration, and thank you for such a great review about our afternoon tea and service, in the Garden Room.
We do hope to see you back again in the near future, in the meantime Happy Belated Birthday!


Yours sincerely

Christopher Ashby & all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

This is an amazing hotel. The staff are warm and welcoming. The rooms are good beds are superb. Our window looked out onto the old water mill which was lit up at night along with the path leading to it. The breakfast was well presented the continental breakfast was bountiful. After we booked out we were treated to a beautiful sight, the herd of deer which had come down to the front of the hotel. We were able to feed them by buying the food from reception. Amazing place we will be back.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chrissiecomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGeneralManager, General Manager at Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Wow, what a fantastic review, thank you for such kind words, great to read how you enjoyed your time with us, and slept so well, I have passed on all your comments to the hard working team, and we do hope you will return again in the future,

Kind regards

Christopher Ashby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

A really good hotel , lovely food , good rooms and nice staff and to cap it all ? Deer that feed out of your hand .We booked on a Secret Escapes £89 Dinner , Bed & Breakfast - really good value for money

Room tip: Ask for a Dene view
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank susane4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGeneralManager, General Manager at Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Hello
Thank you for your Deer Review, posted here on Trip Advisor, loverly to read how you enjoyed your short break with us, and we hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Christopher Ashby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

Hiya I just want to say thank you all so much for making my husband Eddie's 60th birthday so special we stayed at the hotel for two nights the 3rd to the 5th of march with my family of 6 we had a fantastic stay the rooms were gorgeous & clean the food & staff was great thank you again hope to be back .

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank mariatV7821NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGeneralManager, General Manager at Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

First of all thank you for choosing Whitworth Hall for celebrating your Husbands special birthday, and thank you for a great review, fantastic to read how you and your family enjoyed your time with us, we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Christopher Ashby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews