We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Purfleet B&B and Inns
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Booked for two nights on phone for room with river view which got(top floor annexe)as was
Wanting to explore the river(which I used to sail from),room was good size,clean bed linen,
(most important any B&B/hotel)powerful shower,full tea tray,comfy bed.Downside condensation
In double glazing,some carpet squares needed replacing,grassy area outside needed a clear up.
But cheery staff especially gent in and around the bar/food area,good seating with views,pity
About the swearing at bar by a few.The food from ok bar type menu was good and well cooked,
Real home baked large pizza excellent,chicken dishes good value.Perhaps not for families or
those expecting a lot but it suited me,just perhaps a little bit more TLC in rooms needed(& a
picture or2 on walls would help?),the Royal deserves better & I wish it well..

Room Tip: Top floor,annexe,riverside,away from communal door banging
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    26
    15
    28
See reviews for
7
27
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Upon arival seem ok bit tired, but all changed when i.got in the roomnone of windows stayed open, heater fell off the wall onto my two year old daughter. Her bed looked like it had been dragged out a skip, never seen so many stains. Shower dint work and plug to.sink did not fit. Trying to find someone at reception was a joke, hd to.wait at bar where the person working had very bad bo! Changed rooms only to have same problem with dirty stained beds that i would.not let my dog sleep on let alone my 2yr old. Got offfered a travel cot which was fine with untill i see it, it stunk.and was stained with god knows wot. We left after about 3hrs do not stay here unless u want to stay in a tired,dirty run down place wound not even call it a hotel, its a run down pub that needs money spent on it and managers that care avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loupykeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Purfleet hotels

Devon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

on arrival me and my wife thought dont judge a book by its cover ............. well we were very wrong with that .we were told our room was in the annixe and headed towards our romm were we bumped into a couple of down and outs who were living in the hotel smokeing wacky backy......... we quickly made our way to the room to find urine stains on the walls and spit stains over the walls (or we thought they were spit stains ) until we found out the hotel was being used by working ladies and gents if you get my drift.

We made our way to the bar area were we felt intimedated by an very drunk irish man who constantly made lude comments to my wife and i. After being intimidated by this guy for 15 mins i made my way to receipetion to report this incident where to my astonisment i was confronted by the local hard man who thretend me with violence and offered to provide my wife with a good time if wanted a real man... at this point we left the hotel and will not return in shape or form ( unless iam working for a demolition firm )

Room Tip: keep well away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I m stopping here now with my mate craig as contractors and i dont understand what everyone is moaning about, the rooms are big, clean and everything works. For £70 a night with breakfast for two of us i think thats a spanking deal, you moaners wanna get a grip

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damianpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The decor was disappointing, wallpaper dropping off, couldn't see the river view as dirt covers the outside window. It would have be forgiven if it was a 2* hotel or hostel. Thank goddess we were only staying for one night. The location was isolating & we had to wait over 15 minutes for rail crossing which is annoying when u r running late.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nai77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just had a one night stay here.We found staff to be pleasant on arrival & was told we are staying in the annexe rooms next door (on site) Room was clean with nice fresh bedding & towels however yes room in need of an upgrade! Lovely view of the thames from our window.Breakfast was very nice & we felt quite welcome as guests.Did the job for us & if needed to stay in area again we would return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busterStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is probably one of the most quirky places I stayed in and not sure if I liked it or not.
Stangly its situated in quite a pleasant location overlooking the river Thames not too far from the Dartford Crossing. Waterfront access along a cycle track and path to local RSPB marshland project & povided a good walk after a long drive. The surrounding area is a mixture if old cottages and newer council flats. Not a lot else there.
Its fits into the cheap and cheeful bracket and is not eveyones cup of tea. frequented by quite a lot on contractors the lauguage in the bar can get a ilttle ripe. Good pub grub and hearty breakfast.
As a one off I quite enjoyed it but the accomodation is little more than a hostal, pretty basic and could be cleaner but just passable. Not for the faint hearted or families

Room Tip: budget price place, no frills with pleasant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magoireachtaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Purfleet
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
#2 of 3 in West Thurrock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#3 of 6 in Grays Thurrock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Thurrock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Campanile Dartford
Campanile Dartford
#7 of 7 in Dartford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
5.4 mi away
Granby Hotel
Granby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northfleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: London Road, Purfleet RM19 1QA, England (Formerly Royal Opera House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Purfleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Purfleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing