We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the worst hotel stay ever”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Purfleet B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 20, 2011

First off, the look of the outside of the building is run down
Then no signs for receptions or way of calling anyone to reception
we were staying for a wedding and the couple had arranged a "special discount" however this involved paying more than I could have got it online on several sites.
But it gets worse, we were put in the seperate building where a lot of the rooms appear to be, however this building is even more tired than the main building IMO hasn't been touched in 20 years.
The Room
Start with the good points
Size was good
Sheets were clean

now to the bad points
Decoration was terrible, marks all over the walls thin old carpet, bathroom floor looked like it was falling apart, bath panel was a badly cut piece of ply wood, some tiles had been replaced with ones that didn't match the rest, shower was old fashion and the bath filled with water when having a shower.
Also there was NO WIFI in these rooms, the main building does appear to have WIFI but not the seperate building
TV was a small 14inch portable in the corner of the room with only the non-digital terrestial channels.
Also bad lighting, one ceiling light right by the door and thats it, except two bedside table lights and a light above the mirror by the desk/dressing table.

Breakfast
We paid extra for the breakfast at about £7 each per day
Although the rather useless employee running the breakfast service really needed a good customer service course, and although we paid for the breakfasts at the time of signing in, there appeared no record of this.
The "buffet" part of the breakfast had very little so if you dont choose the full english option when paying you will be very very very disappointed with the "selection" no pastrys on the second day, very little fruit or yogurts
The English breakfast was ok, one egg, one very cheap sausage, one cheap hash brown, two bacon, half a grilled tomato, some mushrooms and beans.
Toast was good bread however most of the time was served cold and with butter straight from the fridge.

All in all a terrible hotel with terrible staff

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 92 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

Have stayed at this hotel many times.Its cheap and decent.The new owners have done a lot of work in 2011 and its looking good.The decor was tired but now looks loads better.My only gripe now is the food.When I last stayed,most of the menu was off.The price I felt was high for what you got.Drop the prices or give better quality .I was told where as I could have the mixed grill,there was no steak.However they wasnt going to reduce the price.Seems a little bit mad.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kane1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Stayed here for one night with spouse. From the reviews I was expecting the worse but as the most recent review had said it had new owners and was being renovated I thought we would take a chance as we got a good price for the room. Our room was in the annexe with views onto the river which was nice. The room itself was clean, the bed comfortable and the facilites provided in the room (tea/coffee, towels, tv) was all to our satisfaction. The decor was fine probably do with some updating in the near future but we could see that work was already in progress in the main Hotel areas so I hope they will continue the uplift to the annexe as well. The staff were all friendly and arranged our cab while we had a quick drink in the bar. Overall the stay was plesent and adequate for our needs. If you are looking for a luxury room then you may have to wait until the refurbishment has finished, If its just a good nights sleep then this is fine.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopperEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

This was Once a Very Desirable Hotel, of the victorian period,Quaint, Located overlooking the Thames,with nice views of the river.stretch your imagination, like stepping back in time. until recently had been allowed to fall into a neglected
condition by punch taverns, Has now Been sold and currently being renovated,
By the new owners who intend to spend a fair amount of Money bringing it back to its Glory days, When completed,If you like Local history, This is a great place to stay, RSPB reserve, 500 yards away, which is sculptured out of the old MOD, purfleet rifle range, Next to the Garrison,.. Previously Gunpowder stores since the 1700s,also the sight of the first German Zeppelin L15 shot down here, by the anti aircraft battery of purfleet, So Much to see, but if you dont mind roughing it, its still taking bookings, if you want your luxuries wait for the refurbishment completion, at the end of which, it intends to become a carvery. Buen appettite!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beenfarandwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Pulled up outside and thought " DUMP"
Taken to our room which was a family room and it was located above the bar. The double bed was broken so we were moved into an annexe at 11pm at night.
The annexe was damp and mouldy and full of spiders!!!
This hotel could do with a visit from the HOTEL INSPECTOR.
Would definately not advise people to go here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maz6221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

So we pulled into the place looks terrible on the outside thought you know what it might be nice inside and all done out. So we paid our money and made our way to the room. The journey to her room was interesting and it felt like a hostal. We got in the room and it was dirty and smelly. The TV didn't work and there was urine stains all the way down the room - hence the smell. Lets just say we told them we were leaving and booked into the premier inn which was heaven compared to here. I think we stayed less than an hour the place is a complete dump....don't stay there!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lornz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

The hotel is pleasing to stay at and convienient for surrounding working areas. It is clean and tidy with a friendly atmosphere and the food quality was very good. I will stay again if I need a hotel in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fesmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Purfleet
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#1 of 2 in Grays Thurrock
636 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Thurrock M25
Travelodge Thurrock M25
#3 of 3 in West Thurrock
131 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Bexleyheath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel
Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bexleyheath
736 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ibis Budget London Barking
3.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: London Road, Purfleet RM19 1QA, England (Formerly Royal Opera House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thurrock > Purfleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Purfleet
Price Range: $63 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing