We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an overnight stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avalon Stansted Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Close to the airport (5 min drive) and the early morning transfers are a huge bonus. The part we stayed in was just a converted house, but the private room with ensuite was clean and basic. Thin walls but just what you need for a short overnight stay. The included breakfast was cereal and toast, and some fruit.

Wouldnt recomend staying for more than a night as the area is fairly remote but there did seem to be a grocery store and a few restaurants near by. If you need a place to stay near Stansted Airport this will definately do.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landerson_135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 92 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2009

I have been here for almost 2 months and Mariola, Janice and Lucy are the most friendly proffesional and overall they make you feel welcome... thanks for all your hard work and thank you for everything that you have done for me. Antonio Sandoval

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSIO1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I stay at Avalon at least twice a month as I am a regular customer. I wouldn't say a bad word about this place as the staff is very friendly, helpful and I feel there like at home.The rooms are very clean and the advantage is free transfers from and to the airport. I would recommend Avalon to everyone just come and see and experience yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryfairy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I checked into this hotel last night (29th July) and was shown to an extremely small, dirty single room. I pulled back the bedspread and immediately found a live bed bug. When I took this to the woman who worked at the hotel and explained that I did not want to stay in the room she phoned the owner who suggested that I move rooms within that hotel or move to their other hotel but that I would have to pay £15.00 extra for the night. I asked for a full refund and was told that I couldn't not have a full refund I could have £20 refunded from a total of £36 paid. I told them that this was unacceptable and that under these circumstances I would expect a full refund and a lift back to the airport. There was another long staying guest there who was extremely abusive and rude to me because of my complaint. After a stand off I was given a full refund and taken back to Stanstead Airport. It was a thoroughly unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosalitacornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank juliette a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank AroundTheWorldLyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank balmanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elsenham
3.2 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
442 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,982 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,108 reviews
3 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton London Stansted Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Stansted Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Stansted Lodge

Address: 1 Mill Close, Elsenham CM22 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Elsenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Price Range: $64 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avalon Stansted Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Avalon Stansted Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Stansted Hotel Elsenham
Avalon Stansted Lodge Elsenham, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing