We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon Stansted Lodge
Nearby Hotels
DeSalis Hotel(Elsenham)
$88
$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$140
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$114
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Cricketers' Arms(Saffron Walden)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel London Stansted Airport(Stansted Mountfitchet)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$86
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$74
$68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
23
35
17
4
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
35
17
4
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstansted airportone nightan early flightbooked last minutewould stay here againon arrivalnext morningtaxiplane
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 93 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

wonderful clean accomadation , well worth the money so cheap , we stayed overnight after travelling from cornwall to get a flight early the next morning , we arrived late due to our taxi not turning up on time and the lady waited up until 2.30 am to let us in and she still made us feel most welcome , she even made sure our taxi was all sorted out for the morning just in case she needed to arrange a lift with their shuttle service ! The breakfast was self serve but again for the price it was great , i would use again !

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Very clean and nice rooms. Id recommend making your own way there if you dont have too much luggage as their transfer services/fees are confusing and just too much. The is a pub in the village with good food , though id personally recommend staying in Stansted Mountfitchett village as there are lots more pub/restaurant options.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed in Avalon room 2 (ground floor, window overlooking front yard) in April 2012. I have to admit that having read some of the less-positive comments on tripadvisor I was a bit apprehensive of how good the room and airport transfer service was going to be - yet I wanted a place to sleep in close proximity to the airport. I have to say that once arrived, what I saw EXCEEDED my expectations. A very cosy and very clean room, cosy bed - what else is needed when you've got a flight the following day???

Room 2 was classed as semi-ensuite, which meant a shower cubicle in the corner of a room, but a shared toilet, which was just outside of the room anyway. Towels were provided. The room also had a TV, an electric kettle, a cup and tea/coffee/hot chocolate assortment). No problem with the noise at night, which some other tripadvisor users reported.

Airport transfer was excellent - only 3 pounds (where else would it be so cheap and convenient if the owners did not trouble themselves with organising the morning transfers for their guests!?). From Avalon transfers were every hour from 4am onwards, Mariola was the driver and the people carrier that she uses is officially registered as a taxi.

Overall: I would definitely stay again at Avalon when flying from London Stansted again! I DO RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

stayed for one night, happy with service, especially as it was nighttime and i struggled to find the place, got rescued by owner. Good nights sleep , very clean.
Although there was nobody visibly there in the morning we had been shown where to help ourselves with breakfast. All in all really good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeedsLookaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel is a basic hotel that easily meets the needs of being close to Stansted Airport (London). I stayed in a double that had a bathroom ensuite. Downstairs there was a kitchen with food that you could help yourself to.

Overall, it's nothing extravagant but meets the needs for early morning flights out of Stansted. I would recommend on that purpose alone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cclemens31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews