We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, Great Ambiance, Superb Staff”
Review of Shampaan

Shampaan
Ranked #35 of 130 Restaurants in Grays Thurrock
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Ambiance, Superb Staff”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have been eating either in or the odd take away from the Sampann since July 2012 and every meal has been outstanding. So much so we have taken others to the restaurant too and they have been very impressed too. The staff are very friendly guys, very polite and nothing is too much trouble. Believe the restaurant has recently had a refurb and has been completed to a very high standard, modern and very clean. The food is stunning and all our dishes we have ordered have not been swimming in oil like some of the other local restaurants just nicely fresh presented food. If you do like to eat earlier in the evening then definately book a table as this restaurant does get busy. Likewise if you want to order a takeaway early evening then allow at least an hour for delivery as again..this restaurant is very popular but in my opinion well worth the wait. Well done guys and keep the good food flowing!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TezEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    19
    4
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the Best Local Indian Restaurants”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Greeted by thr proprioter was very polite excellent service a great deal of money has been spent on the place, service was very good and prompt, food was very good, all in all a very enjoyable meal i would eat here again.
Complimentary drink as we left was nice and then helped with our coats and shown to the door well done.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnyboy13317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“One of the best Curry House's in Thurrock!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is an excellent place which starts from the friendly lads serving on the 'shop floor' to the quality of the food!
The place should (and will no doubt will be in the future) be bigger as it can be packed out on Friday and Saturday nights.
The pace of service is about right....not too fast as when you go for a curry you need to relax and chat and have a few beers....eat Indian style and when the food arrives it arrives...piping hot and really tasty....they will even make it to your taste...ie Lamb Buna Madras strength etc, etc.

It is so good that I am organising a Xmas get-together meal for friends to catch up and who I have not seen for months...CAN'T WAIT!

I HAVE PROBABLY TRIED VIRTUALLY ALL THE CURRY HOUSE'S IN GRAYS...this is 1 of 2 which I rate as the best....I'm Indian so I should know; and no I am not realted to Shampaan!

1baloo

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BALOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best for miles”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It was always busy even when it was a bit shabby but since the refit it is 5 star in every way. The food varies from very good to superb and is very reasonably priced

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank riderjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Top quality”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband daughter and went on a Saturday night, the food was top quality, the staff polite and courteous, we did find that it took a long to get our food but we didn't mind as it was such a nice place.
We will definitely be going again and we recommend the restaurant

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shampaan also viewed

 
Grays Thurrock, Essex
Grays Thurrock, Essex
 
Grays Thurrock, Essex
Grays Thurrock, Essex
 

Been to Shampaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing