We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Stansted”
Review of The Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Tonsberg, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Close to Stansted”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Close to Stansted,just 10 -12 miles away. A nice pub on the groundfloor serving real ales and meals from a extensives menu. A very pretty historic village . Value for money .
The only negative may be a little noise from the planes arriving and departing Stansted some minutes away.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Trondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for putting your feedback online. We at the glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    144
    61
    49
    46
See reviews for
61
206
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

How many hotel rooms have you stayed in with a view of a Church, Thatched Almshouses and a Windmill? We had all of theses when we stayed at this hotel. It is on the outskirts of a lovely little village but is right on the corner of the main road through the village so if you want it a little quieter book one of the rooms at the back. We had a warm welcome, the room was a reasonable size as in these old places space is always at a premium, the bathroom was large with a shower over the bath. The furnishings and décor are a little tired but its an old place. The hotel itself was full of character and we had a lovely evening meal there on our first night. It was very popular so guests would be advised to book for evening meals. The second evening we were at a wedding so didn't eat there. The breakfast on both days was very good. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely stay here again if ever in this part of the country.

Room Tip: If you don't like Traffic noise at night ask for one of the rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dandd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for putting your feedback online. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Swan and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex/sufolk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

a pleasant old inn. with a good clientele.

Alas Old English Inns are starting to let the standards slip a little.
Tired and grubby mismatched Light fittings with poorly matched wattage bulbs.

Something rather odd going on with the Decor in the matter of pictures grouped together in mismatched frames & subjects and 'planted' into odd groups.
a general air of 'something lacking'
.
Staff are for the greater part of the time woefully under staffed & having to do several jobs at once, leaving the finer points such as keeping tables & bar area clear & tidy.
plus being available to serve customers.

current manager rather elusive & could spend more time 'doing' as to 'overseeing'.
it is very common to have the Bar stacked with dirty glasses awaiting the single glass washer to finish cycle before next batch can be cleaned.
Whole place has the air of a business that's awaiting the receivers to call any day.

Beer (real ale) is of good quality, and well kept and food is acceptable and well cooked.
Honest Pub food with Restaurant facility.
just a shame. the finer points have started to slip & slide.

Cleaning Rota to Lavatories could be better. as in deed Old English inns should allocate a 24hr period & have a coat of emulsion applied and chipped paint work esp around bar area touched up.
But Main failing is the Lighting & general decor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripwatching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online, and let me assure you that we are working hard to make sure that The Swan is at the standard that it should be, we will also of course be addressing the points that you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

i stayed for three nights and found it a wonderful place from the time i arrived to the tmie left nothing was to much trouble for the staff i had room no 12 which was very nice with a large single bed and bathroom which was keep very clean each day food was very good with a good menu and food served all day, in the bar was a very good choice of beer and spirits all in all a very enjoyable weekend with the addition of being in thaxted a most beautiful village.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for putting your feedback online. We at The Swan are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to us, and Thaxted, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Swan for one night and at reception the man is charge was very polite and helpful giving us the information we needed to know. Our room No 10 was at the back of the pub and next to the fire escape. The down side of this would be the security of the room if the window is left open for ventilation as access is very easy from the outside. The room was clean although there appeared to be a plumbing issue with the toilet. We decided to eat there during the evening and there was a leaflet on the tables advertising a special offer which started that day (Cask & Kitchen £9.00 for a meal and drink) We opted for this menu and I asked the barman if I could substitute the beer with wine (as stated on the menu) which he said was fine. After ordering the meal he said that the cost was nearly £25 not £18.00 as stated on the menu. I questioned this and he said that the deal was not on his till yet! Why put the leaflets out if they can't do it? However the meal was good albeit a different price. Breakfast was good with an excellent selection. When I went to checkout the lady on reception seemed confused and said that I had already checked out! I assured her that I was still there. Not a major problem but they do need to know who has left and who is still there (H&S issue!) Overall a pleasant stay and Thaxted is a lovely location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidA129541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
We always appreciate feedback from our guests so thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights and where made very welcome by all the staff, the room was nice with another small room with the wardrobes, tea/coffee facilities, (room 9)although we did have a bit of traffic noise. The food was good and reasonably priced, and although busy at times,we never waited long to be served.
Thaxted is a lovely village with a pretty church opposite pub/hotel and a windmill about 100 yards away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, which we always appreciate from our guests, so thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are delighted that our team were both friendly and efficient and that you enjoyed breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed 1 night and booked 2 rooms. The staff were so very lovely at the hotel it made our arrival very welcoming. We had a double room and twin room. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were as well. We would recommend this lovely pub to anyone. We wished we had been able to stay longer. The restaurant has a good menu for dinner and the breakfast had an excellent selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for putting your feedback online. We at The Swan are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaxted
6.2 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#1 of 3 in Saffron Walden
264 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
293 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
9.8 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
175 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Property: The Swan
Address: Bull Ring, Thaxted CM6 2PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thaxted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Thaxted, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing