We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast in a charming hotel”
Review of The Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The village of Thaxted is a bit out of the way, but this hotel is definitely worth it. Lovely charming old pub / hotel with a good selection of beers and a friendly atmosphere, topped off by an amazing breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nluk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip advisor regarding your stay at The Swan Hotel, I am pleased you had a nice stay and enjoyed the breakfast, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 412 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

booked this as we were flying from stanstead the next morning. quite a spacious room with a comfy bed. everything was very clean. well stocked tea tray. we ate in the hotel and were very pleased with the food and the service. it was a thursday night and was quite busy, probably due to the elvis tribute act who we stayed and watched. very entertaining! we found the all staff to be very helpful and polite. the village is very pretty with old timber framed buildings. we had to leave before breakfast and were provided with a tray with a yoghurt, apple, a danish pastry and chocolate muffin. we would have liked to have had more time there but will definately use this hotel again, even though our room was directly above the car park and the outside seating area (room no.1) and was a bit noisy. it was very affordable at £39 for the double room

Room Tip: we were in room no.1 over the car park and outdoor seating area so it was a bit noisy but we were ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannyknowsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Swan Hotel, We are please you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon when Elvis may be back in the building.!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel does have a small park which soon gets filled up, we did manage to get a parking space each day and there is additional parking not far away. The first evening we decided to have a walk around Thaxted village and ended up dining at an Indian restaurant, which was probably a good idea as the next morning a number of guests were complaining about service at both the evening meal the previous night and breakfast that morning. As we were one of the later ones down for breakfast the waitress had to clear a table for us by relaying the plates and cutlery and then wiping down the table, service was slow that morning. However the next morning and a different waitress service was excellent and very satisfactory and the breakfast was enjoyable and plentiful. For evening meals we decided to eat out at the Indian restaurant except for the last night when we elected to eat at the Swan only to find all the table reserved so again it was Indian meal. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels each day although we had not requested a change of towels each day. Walking round the village was very pleasant although you do get the impression the village can be very clicy, some villagers, and perhaps hotel staff, you talk to and are nice, others just see you as an intruder into theirs daily lives.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Reborn2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at The Swan Hotel, I am disappointed you found Breakfast service slow, We take all feedback seriously and I thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We found this hotel at the last minute and are so glad we did. It is a charming old pub and hotel and the service from the staff was superb.
We decided to have dinner there and were so glad we did as the food was excellent. Breakfast the next day also very good and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at The Swan, I am delighted that you enjoyed both the food and the service from the team, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Lovely 400 year old pub situated in small village opposite an imposing church with Alms Houses. There is also a windmill just down the road, open for viewing at weekends. The staff were really friendly, helpful and attentive. The meals were excellent with a wide choice, particularly breakfast. The pub was very busy when we arrived (a bank holiday) and was quite busy daytime and evening for the rest of our stay but this didn't have any impact on the quality of the food or the service we received. Our room was upstairs in one of the coach houses, there was ample space in the bedroom and the bathroom and the bed was very comfortable. The only down side was that the bathroom had a sloping ceiling and the shower head was positioned at that end of the bath which meant that if you were any taller than 4ft 6in you couldn't actually stand under it. Also, the shower curtain could hang properly as the rail followed the slope of the ceiling and therefore the floor got very wet! The only other problem might be that the hotel is directly under one of the flight paths for Stanstead airport. This didn't bother me as I live on a busy main road and am used to noise but they are very loud when overhead and for those few seconds completly drown out the television! Obviously, this may be a problem for some visitors.

Room Tip: Don't have an upstairs room in the coach house on the right-hand side of the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at The Swan, I'm pleased you found the staff friendly and the service good. We look forward to seeing you gain soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hi, we stayed her with another couple for a weekend recently. We stayed in a room in the outside annex which was okay. Their was new carpet and furniture but the windows were still a bit grotty and the bathroom was a bit tired. Our friends stayed in the main part of the pub and although I didn't see their room they did say ours was much nicer than theirs.
However we really enjoyed our stay. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and the food was very good.
We'd booked it as a 'cheap' deal so got exactly what we'd expected. If we'd have paid full price not sure I would have been so happy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenandkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your review I am pleased you found the service and the staff friendly, we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for 1 night (4-5 May 2013) at the Swan Hotel as we were attending a wedding reception nearby.
We were welcomed warmly and checked in smoothly.
Our room was comfortable with plenty of tea, coffee etc. The ensuite bathroom could probably benefit from some updating but this did not effect our stay.
We had dinner in the evening which was very nice and good value. Breakfast in the morning was also very good. Service from all staff was excellent!
Overall, a very nice, friendly pub and hotel which we would not hesitate to return to if we find ourselves in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare_BearLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for you recent review regarding your stay here with us at The Swan, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and am pleased that you enjoyed both the food and the service from the team."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaxted
6.2 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#1 of 3 in Saffron Walden
269 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
320 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
209 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,463 reviews
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Address: Bull Ring, Thaxted CM6 2PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thaxted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Price Range: $75 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Thaxted, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing