We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing evening”
Review of The Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dissapointing evening”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went to the Swan for an evening meal with friends, whilst the food was good, service was very unprofessional, from being called darling by the waitress when serving us, to being shouted at across the room by the manager just after finishing our meal, telling us to move in to the bar area so that the waitress could lay the table for breakfast, our evening out came to an end as we felt we were not welcome, as this was only about 10.15 we were dissapointed at having to conclude our evening. If we had been asked in a polite professional manner we would have gladly moved.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing your recent visit to us, I am pleased that you enjoyed your food and have taken on board comments regarding service standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    141
    61
    48
    45
See reviews for
58
204
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last weekend and had a great time, the management and staff were very friendly and welcoming, the food was always delicious and well cooked, the rooms are a little tired, but very clean and comfortable, there are some lovely walks and lots of places of interest in the area, Thaxted is a charming village, visit the church, windmill and it even has Dick Turpins cottage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyO66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at The Swan, I am pleased to hear that the staff were friendly & welcoming and that you enjoyed the food. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Visited The Swan with a group of friends for a reunion meal and overnight stay. Bedrooms and furniture are dated but this adds something to the charm of this ancient building that has lots of wood beams, creaking floors and dated sanitation, but its a gem.

The bar/restaurant with its roaring log fire was very welcoming on a cold winters night. Dinner was good value, good menu choices and all reasonably priced with excellent service. There is a great selection of beers and wines to choose from. B&B was only £44.00 so can't knock the value and all topped off with an excellent breakfast. (the croissants and danish pastries were fantastic) It didn't matter to us but the wifi was not working, apparently they regularly have broadband issues so don't rely on it.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room to the rear of the hotel because the church opposite chime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beemermal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for review about your recent stay, I am pleased that you enjoyed your time here and that both the atmosphere and the Breakfast selection was to your liking. I am pleased to say that the issues regarding WIFI availability has now been rectified. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Such friendly and helpful staff in a gem of pub in a pretty village - what more could you want? Room was a good size, warm and with TV/tea/coffee making and wifi. Meal in the pub was super and great value steak night offer is 2 steaks and bottle of wine for £25). Beer was great too with selection of the usual suspects plus guest ales too. Breakfast excellent and a choice of cooked options. Nothing was too much trouble for Jade - When I asked if they had any mini cheddars (instead of crisps) behind the bar, they didn't but she went to her room and brought me down some of her husbands supply instead (gratis)!!!
Without doubt we will return and I do not hesitate to recommend this pub to anyone. Its excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peewam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the Steak night offer and the selection of Real Ales. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at The Swan, infact my husband is still staying there due to work commitments and I am extremely jealous. Check-in was painless and fast, we had a double booked for one night and then a single for my husband for the duration of his stay, on checking in the gentlemen informed us that due to a cancellation my husband was welcome to stay in the double and not have to move his bags etc to the single, at no extra cost, that was just the beginning of what continued to be an excellent stay, the room was lovely, in one of the outbuildings by the car park, everything we needed was supplied, tea, coffee making facilities, hair dryer, T.V, dressing table, wardrobe, the bed even though smaller than our own which was a concern of mine when I first saw it was extremely comfy and size was not a problem! Bathroom was clean, bath with a shower overhead, being a low ceiling the shower head is not very high on the wall so ideal if your 5ft or under but obviously can be taken off and hand held so no real problem there, must add the towels are exceptional. Our evening meal was fantastic, nicely presented and tasted lovely, all the staff are great, really friendly, and all seem to get on with one another so well which was nice to see. The breakfast was lovely, self service on the continental table then a lovely young lady takes your order for your cooked choice from the menu, full English to eggs benedict, it all sounded lovely, and what we had set us up perfectly for the day. My husband is still there so he will experience another few nights of great food, lovely staff and a good nights sleep, am I jealous......Very!

Room Tip: We had room 17, first floor in the coach house (outbuilding) squeaky floors etc so glad we were upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armygirl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Many thanks for your review on your stay, I am pleased that you enjoyed both the evening meal and the Breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again soon...for possibly a longer stay.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at the Swan Hotel Thaxted, last weekend with my husband and parents in a lovely little village probably one of the best Old English Inns we have visited and we have been to quite a few. Checking was simple and table was reserved in the restaurant for both nights. Room was very good for the age of the building. Breakfast and evening meals were excellent.
The biggest asset the place has is all the staff from the cleaners to Chris the Manager, but Chris Jade and Christina went the extra mile to make it a great weekend.
Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you want the view of the church, front of the main building is ideal but you have slight traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Swan Hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the food and service to be of a high standard, the team look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at The Swan again in January for two nights in room 9 which is lovely we have stayed many times before even though we live locally but meet up with friends from Enfield so we can have a nice meal and drinks and not worry about driving after. The hotel is very warm and welcoming the staff very friendly and we found the food very nice. The breakfast is good and not rushed. Glad I chose to spend my birthday there again and will be back again during the year. Its nice to have a busy pub with a good atmosphere. Thaxted is such a lovely old town which makes The Swan a good place to stay at any time.

Room Tip: Have stayed in quite a few rooms at The Swan over the years and have liked all of them our favourite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobiasEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at The Swan Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your Birthday weekend and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaxted
6.2 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
252 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
187 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
277 reviews
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
12.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Property: The Swan
Address: Bull Ring, Thaxted CM6 2PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thaxted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Thaxted, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing