We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave”
Review of The Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at The Swan, infact my husband is still staying there due to work commitments and I am extremely jealous. Check-in was painless and fast, we had a double booked for one night and then a single for my husband for the duration of his stay, on checking in the gentlemen informed us that due to a cancellation my husband was welcome to stay in the double and not have to move his bags etc to the single, at no extra cost, that was just the beginning of what continued to be an excellent stay, the room was lovely, in one of the outbuildings by the car park, everything we needed was supplied, tea, coffee making facilities, hair dryer, T.V, dressing table, wardrobe, the bed even though smaller than our own which was a concern of mine when I first saw it was extremely comfy and size was not a problem! Bathroom was clean, bath with a shower overhead, being a low ceiling the shower head is not very high on the wall so ideal if your 5ft or under but obviously can be taken off and hand held so no real problem there, must add the towels are exceptional. Our evening meal was fantastic, nicely presented and tasted lovely, all the staff are great, really friendly, and all seem to get on with one another so well which was nice to see. The breakfast was lovely, self service on the continental table then a lovely young lady takes your order for your cooked choice from the menu, full English to eggs benedict, it all sounded lovely, and what we had set us up perfectly for the day. My husband is still there so he will experience another few nights of great food, lovely staff and a good nights sleep, am I jealous......Very!

Room Tip: We had room 17, first floor in the coach house (outbuilding) squeaky floors etc so glad we were upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armygirl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Many thanks for your review on your stay, I am pleased that you enjoyed both the evening meal and the Breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again soon...for possibly a longer stay.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    143
    61
    49
    45
See reviews for
59
205
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at the Swan Hotel Thaxted, last weekend with my husband and parents in a lovely little village probably one of the best Old English Inns we have visited and we have been to quite a few. Checking was simple and table was reserved in the restaurant for both nights. Room was very good for the age of the building. Breakfast and evening meals were excellent.
The biggest asset the place has is all the staff from the cleaners to Chris the Manager, but Chris Jade and Christina went the extra mile to make it a great weekend.
Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you want the view of the church, front of the main building is ideal but you have slight traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Swan Hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the food and service to be of a high standard, the team look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at The Swan again in January for two nights in room 9 which is lovely we have stayed many times before even though we live locally but meet up with friends from Enfield so we can have a nice meal and drinks and not worry about driving after. The hotel is very warm and welcoming the staff very friendly and we found the food very nice. The breakfast is good and not rushed. Glad I chose to spend my birthday there again and will be back again during the year. Its nice to have a busy pub with a good atmosphere. Thaxted is such a lovely old town which makes The Swan a good place to stay at any time.

Room Tip: Have stayed in quite a few rooms at The Swan over the years and have liked all of them our favourite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobiasEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at The Swan Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your Birthday weekend and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Chose to stay at the Swan on an Old English Country Inn Christmas break and to be near family in the area.. When we arrived on a miserable, dark and rainy evening, and went into the main bar, the beautifully decorated tree, olde worldly features and open log fire immediately created a Christmassy atmosphere and the friendly reception we received from the staff made us feel welcome. We had our dog with us and were allocated a ground floor room in the Coach House which was comfortable although rather too warm. However nothing was too much trouble for the Managers, Chris and Jade, and our request for a lighter covering was promptly dealt with. They managed to keep a personal eye on everything to ensure the festivities went smoothly and were really "hands-on". Meals were well presented and hot and lunch on Christmas day was excellent - compliments to the chef!. Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable break at a very reasonable price in an attractive, historic inn in an attractive and historic town. The fact that our dog was also genuinely "welcomed" rather than just "allowed" was really appreciated.

Room Tip: Coach House is separate from the main building and bar area and face car park yet room 15 was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 567Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, feedback is always important. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night when meeting up with friends. Thaxted is a lovely,picturesque location and the Swan is typical of its very old buildings. Very cosy inside and obviously very popular meeting place for the locals, which is always a good sign. Rooms in the inn itself are a little tired and could do with a facelift, but there is everything you need for a comfortable night's stay. Food was good and the breakfast excellent both for choice and quality. The staff are most welcoming and friendly and our accommodation was extremely reasonable. Would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovegoldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, feedback is always important. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just dropped in whilst out for a walk. They do excellent snacks and the food that others enjoyed appeared to be excellent value; so much so that took the wife back a week later & was unable to get a table on a Monday lunch-time (well it was 10th December). The Adnams ale was well kept, nice log fire and plenty of atmosphere. Will go back in the new year, take a short stroll round town to admire the architecture, the chuch and the Windmill & put my feet up and browse the excellent value menu. One course for £5.95; two for £7.95 & three for £9.95.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, feedback is always important. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were going to a function in the local area so booked two rooms for one night, the pub itself is an old inn, lovely with plenty of original features. The room itself was in an out building at the rear of the pub, parking directly outside. The room was comfy and had everything we needed included extra pillows, iron and board. It was very cold outside and the room itself had heating throughout the night.
Breakfast was a slow affair, there were quite a few guests being served so this may have been the issue. Full english breakfast was very good when it arrived, suffolk sausages were fantastic!

Great value in a great location.

Room Tip: Upstairs would be quieter in the out buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiTash77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, feedback is always important. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaxted
6.2 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
258 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
191 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
172 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,267 reviews
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Property: The Swan
Address: Bull Ring, Thaxted CM6 2PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thaxted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Thaxted, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing