We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Christmas break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Christmas break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Chose to stay at the Swan on an Old English Country Inn Christmas break and to be near family in the area.. When we arrived on a miserable, dark and rainy evening, and went into the main bar, the beautifully decorated tree, olde worldly features and open log fire immediately created a Christmassy atmosphere and the friendly reception we received from the staff made us feel welcome. We had our dog with us and were allocated a ground floor room in the Coach House which was comfortable although rather too warm. However nothing was too much trouble for the Managers, Chris and Jade, and our request for a lighter covering was promptly dealt with. They managed to keep a personal eye on everything to ensure the festivities went smoothly and were really "hands-on". Meals were well presented and hot and lunch on Christmas day was excellent - compliments to the chef!. Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable break at a very reasonable price in an attractive, historic inn in an attractive and historic town. The fact that our dog was also genuinely "welcomed" rather than just "allowed" was really appreciated.

Room Tip: Coach House is separate from the main building and bar area and face car park yet room 15 was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 567Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, feedback is always important. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    139
    59
    46
    44
See reviews for
57
194
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night when meeting up with friends. Thaxted is a lovely,picturesque location and the Swan is typical of its very old buildings. Very cosy inside and obviously very popular meeting place for the locals, which is always a good sign. Rooms in the inn itself are a little tired and could do with a facelift, but there is everything you need for a comfortable night's stay. Food was good and the breakfast excellent both for choice and quality. The staff are most welcoming and friendly and our accommodation was extremely reasonable. Would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovegoldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, feedback is always important. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just dropped in whilst out for a walk. They do excellent snacks and the food that others enjoyed appeared to be excellent value; so much so that took the wife back a week later & was unable to get a table on a Monday lunch-time (well it was 10th December). The Adnams ale was well kept, nice log fire and plenty of atmosphere. Will go back in the new year, take a short stroll round town to admire the architecture, the chuch and the Windmill & put my feet up and browse the excellent value menu. One course for £5.95; two for £7.95 & three for £9.95.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, feedback is always important. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were going to a function in the local area so booked two rooms for one night, the pub itself is an old inn, lovely with plenty of original features. The room itself was in an out building at the rear of the pub, parking directly outside. The room was comfy and had everything we needed included extra pillows, iron and board. It was very cold outside and the room itself had heating throughout the night.
Breakfast was a slow affair, there were quite a few guests being served so this may have been the issue. Full english breakfast was very good when it arrived, suffolk sausages were fantastic!

Great value in a great location.

Room Tip: Upstairs would be quieter in the out buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiTash77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, feedback is always important. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights..Unfortunatly they had scaffolding up which was a bit disappointing but repairs and maintenance have to be done..Chris the Manager and staff were lovely, yes the rooms were a bit tired but they are in the progress of improvements..Beds comfy, bags of hot water,,a bit noisy re traffic..The breakfast was excellent and the lady who served us could not have been more helpful. Great value for money..

Room Tip: Would avoid room 8 due to a big light on the pub that stays on all night. but curtains help block ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brattonview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, feedback is always important. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The big problem with writing reviews is you feel obliged to comment on the not so good as well as the good, consequently if you paid attention to many of the reviews on TA you would never stay anywhere, so thought I'd write this to try and give an all round picture (I hope).So rather than give the wrong impression, the answer to the the question - would you stay there again? the answer is yes.

If you want 5 star luxury with all mod cons (and a price to match) then the Swan probably isn't the place for you, If you want to stay in a large and busy country pub with a nice and cosy atmosphere, feel part of the locale and are able to put up with accommodation which is perhaps a little "tired" and quirky, and sometimes a little noisy, but with staff who are very warm, friendly and helpful, contributing to a relaxing stay.with good beers and an excellent breakfast with plenty of options to choose from.then this is the place for you. I loved it.

My experience started a month before travel, I rang the Swan to explain I was taking my elderly mother and stepfather who had mobility issues and was concerned about their rooms. I Spoke to Paul he couldn't have been more helpful, he told me the rooms he had allocated should be fine (2 7 and 8) as they were among'st the nicest, although, he said, all the rooms were nice. He explained their location, told me which rooms overlooked the church (7 and 8), and that they were in the main building and were pleasant and not noisy. Our party consisted of 11 people in 6 rooms, both in the main building and the courtyard, the rooms are perfectly adequate and the following comments are not to put you off but to let you know what to expect.

I found the double bed a bit small (room 7, main building, overlooking church and road) at 4' 6" but I am used to a six foot bed and am 6' 2". The macerator toilet is a bit of a pain although manageable, and the handle needs to be pumped several times to empty it. Our party stayed for 3 nights, the first two nights the shower was fine in my room but a bit hit and miss in the other rooms and also in ours on the third night, no pressure at times (probably when several people showering throughout hotel at same time) The decor was acceptable and I nor did any of the others, find any of the rooms to be unduly noisy, there was traffic noise during the day on the infrequent occasions I went to the room in the daytime I did not find it excessive and it wasn't a problem at night. The room was warm and I left the window open, again, I didn't find this a problem and in November it's better warm than cold! This would tend to be the consensus for the rest of the group regarding rooms, the main bug being the water pressure on the showers - wait for none peak times! The courtyard rooms 15, 18 and 19 were not considered to be noisy as has been mentioned in other reviews.

The breakfasts were excellent, freshly cooked not greasy and lots of choice, full english, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, kippers, eggs benedict, not all on the same plate you understand, with a selection of danish pastries, croissants, fresh fruit and cereals, Jade, the manageress even bought black pudding and hash browns for us because someone mentioned they liked them to her.

We ate in the hotel on two nights and to be honest found the food to be a bit variable,it seemed to be better when the group numbers were smaller (we varied from 5 to 16 in number) this would tend to indicate the kitchen staff struggled a bit when under pressure. Some of the meals were a bit overdone when the numbers eating were greater, Of the 6 mixed grills ordered the sausage and chicken was tough and overcooked on 5 of them, at £15.95p this was therefore not particularly good value, mind you the gammon and steak was lovely. This was a shame really because we had a great time with very attentive, pleasant and helpful staff.

Because it's more of a pub with rooms the main bar area is closed at midnight (officially), this means if you wanted to stay up late talking with your family you couldn't unless you went to someone;s room, the hotel would benefit from a residents lounge separate from the pub. Having said that, we didn't actually find it to be a problem as we had drunk enough by midnight and on the saturday there didn't seem to be much of a rush to chase us to bed and we sat around chatting till 1 ish.

All in all a great place with lots of character, a good staff team who were warm, friendly, helpful and pleasant, and managers who are about and available. I was particularly looking forward to meeting the very rude man on the bar (mentioned in another review) he must have left!! Well done Chris and Jade (managers) Sam (reception), Paul (bar) and the rest of the team who couldn't do enough for us, Hope to see you again.

Room Tip: Room 7 double, and 8 twin, overlook church are in the main building and were not noisy. Room 2 twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skoobidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, feedback is always important. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I visited The Swan for a one night's stay whilst in the area on business.

The evening meal and breafast were very good and there was a good selection of real ales. There was a good selection for both meals, which was good value. I found the Dining Room to be too dimmly lit, but this is not significant.

The Dining Room staff were very friendly and teh srvice prompt, and the reception staff were efficient.

The bedroom (room 14), however, was very hot and smelt of fried food from the Kitchen - even the corridors held this smell as there was very little ventilation due to closed fire doors. I opened the window and turned off the radiator as soon as I reached the room, but this made little difference. As a result I had a poor nights sleep. The room is quite cramped, but this is a single room so is perhaps what could be expected. The shower was hot enough (if you let it run), but the power was low. I couldn't get the advertised WiFi signal in the room, but I did not take this up with reception so this may be my fault. If this is important to you, check availability when booking.

Overall I would stay here again (if the location suited my visit), but I would ask for a different room and for it to be aired first.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter10023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, feedback is always important. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaxted
6.2 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
10.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 4 in Braintree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Property: The Swan
Address: The Bull Ring, Thaxted CM6 2PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thaxted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Thaxted, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing