We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay at Charlton Kings Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charlton Kings Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at The Charlton Kings Hotels for two nights as it was conveniently located for a flying experience we had booked and made a well deserved weekend break out of it... did not disappoint.

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted straight away and taken up to our room, which was a Superior Room overlooking the beautiful gardens. The gentleman was very welcoming and told us all about the local area, and information on the hotel, ie. breakfast times.

Room was very nice, clean with a king size bed. Lovely modern bathroom with a great shower as well.

Breakfast in the morning was a mixture of help yourself items such as fruit, cereal and juices and a selection and cooked breakfasts (full English was delicious). The lady in the morning again was very welcoming, even mentioning the reason we were at the hotel (we had told the gentleman the night before) which was a great personal touch.

All in all we had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay at the hotel, they were very helpful and accommodating, which topped off our weekend break just lovely.

If we find ourselves back in the area, we would defiantly re book this hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 10, overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Many thanks for your review, and thanks for the full marks. Glad you enjoyed staying here - and glad the flying went all right as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 211 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

The last review i put in was for the charlton kings hotel not the cheltenham park hotel i am sorry about this i did notice till the hotel commented on the buffett breakfast when i checked i noticed no dogs allowed also could you rectify this sorry for inconvience .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skysluesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We chose this hotel specifically as it was a dog friendly hotel and we also emailed the hotel to confirm this was ok.

Unfortunately the gentleman on our arrival did not look too pleased that we had our dog. He advised us that if we wanted to eat in the hotel we could leave our dog in the car !!! (On a very hot afternoon) as humans take precedent over animals he said, when we asked where we could eat locally with our dog after our long drive from cornwall he said there wasn't one nearby it was around 15 miles away !!!! We were not sure if we wanted to stay in the hotel even though we had paid or if to drive on elsewhere by now.

We decided ask in reception if there was anywhere locally to eat,
We met a nice lady who was very helpful. She advised us there was a lovely pub about at 10 min walk away. We went for a lovely meal in the pub but then spent the rest of the evening in our room in the hotel as we didnt feel welcome.

Maybe it is only a certain type of dog welcome here (small) or if we hadn't met the gentleman and only met the lady on our arrival we wouldn't of had the most unfriendly welcome we had. The hotel itself was very nice the breakfast was also nice (which we were allowed to take into our room).

Although the owners had an elderly dog of their own which was in reception we can only go off our personnal experience and most unfriendly welcome and because of this if we were ever in the area again we would not stay here.

If you have a dog and want to stay here think carefully, our dog is a huge part of our family and not to be left in the car at any time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabdog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thanks for your review. Guests' dogs are allowed in bedrooms and in the bar (if it's quiet) but certainly not in our small dining room (except guide dogs). It would be an extremely unusual hotel which allowed dogs in their dining room. Guests with dogs either leave their pets in their bedroom or their car while eating. The place I mentioned to you has a large, pubby, dining bar, where dogs are allowed. I mentioned it because I thought you wanted to eat inside and it's unusual in this respect, it also has an exceptionally large and beautiful garden. On a point of information, it was evening not afternoon. Yes, humans come first: we are a hotel, not a kennel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We enjoyed the hospitality of the Charlton Kings Hotel for our seven Day holiday to the Cotswolds.
And I can say what an excellent choice it was, from the beautiful Gardens, this Immaculate hotel, absolutely spotless in all areas, from the tastefully designed bedrooms to the Public areas with lovely Furniture and Wall decorations, it was a pleasure to enjoy the atmosphere and take in the ambience.
After a Days sightseeing we always made it our business to return in very good time for Dinner in the Hotel as we knew after the Breakfast experience it would be special, we were not disappointed,
Mine hosts, Stuart and Lin were the most charming helpful hosts to two travellers from Edinburgh.
P.S
Wife thought the world of Charlie.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your kind and generous review. We're pleased that you like staying here so much, and that you appreciated our efforts. Hopefully we'll see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great hotel accommodation on the outskirts of Cheltenham very close to the Cotswold Way long distance footpath as well as very convenient to Cheltenham. Excellent rooms, very clean, well appointed, quiet, plus a very good restaurant, Very helpful staff (owners), probably our best overnight stop in 10 days. A good base for exploring the Cheltenham area by car and a good overnight stop for walkers on the Cotswold Way.

Room Tip: The Inn is on a busy road, there may be some rooms that overlook the road so probably those on the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Many thanks for your review and your appreciative comments. Glad you liked staying here. It's particularly gratifying that you thought we were good value. We think so too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

A realy nice stay, warm welcome, and shown to your room, the room was very nice, modern, clean with a huge very very comfy bed. GreaT shower. We ate in the resteraunt and the food was excellent... Couldnt fault the food at all the breakfast too... Boiled egg and soldiers.. brilliant... Great nights sleep. The only thing i could say was the t.v in the room was a bit small. Would definately stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Many thanks for your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed staying here - and that your boiled egg was cooked to your liking! On TV size: we didn't want the screens to dominate the rooms (as we've encountered in some hotels) but, yes, maybe they could be bigger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A nice welcome. The room was very clean and tidy and well equipped. The bar was a nice place to have a drink (we were outside until the cold drove us in!). Breakfast the next morning was fine and the B&B rate was excellent value for money. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaJiWiAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdoughty, Owner at Charlton Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Does What It Says On The Tin is a great slogan and we're very pleased that you think it applies to us. What else is there to say?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
380 reviews
2.2 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
250 reviews
2.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
566 reviews
2.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
570 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 23 in Cheltenham
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Kings Hotel

Address: London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range: $84 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlton Kings Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're small but sophisticated, informal but tasteful, individual but professional. We're more friendly than a corporate hotel and offer much more than a B&B. Quality and attentive service from the owners. Close to the town but also on the edge of the country. Ideal for Cotswold Way and walkers. Dogs welcome. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charlton Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton Kings Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing