We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptionally welcoming B&B+++”
Review of Hilden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilden Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptionally welcoming B&B+++”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been staying at Hilden through the week for 6 months now and cannot rate the service I have experienced highly enough.

Wayne and Melissa are such friendly, welcoming hosts and have made my stay in Cheltenham so comfortable it has felt like home from home.

Having stayed here for such an extended period I have sampled almost all of the rooms in the place and they have all been very comfortable fitted with a shower or bath room, TV and DVD, tea and coffee facilities and modern decor. The beds are comfy and the room is always made up to a good standard with nice touches such as fresh towels folded into a design on the bed and extra biscuits provided.

Despite being on a fairly busy road it is quiet during the night and I haven't once been disturbed by other guests walking past rooms.

Even after all this time Wayne often goes out of his way to greet me at the door when I arrive and will always have a smile and joke to offer at breakfast.

The choice of food for breakfast is lovely and Melissa does a great job of freshly preparing all requests- even the occasional off menu request! There is also a decent choice of food in the evening again cooked to a great standard.

The Hilden has a relaxed atmosphere and welcomes couples, business people and families. There are car parking facilities out the front, and a fenced off garden and decking area. This makes it the perfect place for families with children or couples/singles looking to have a cold drink at the end of a long day.

It is walking distance from town and there are local shops and pubs nearby. It is also on the London Road making it a perfect base from which to explore Cheltenham, the historic Painswick and the Cotswolds.

I would definitely recommend making a trip to Hilden Lodge if you are looking for a comfortable, friendly, reasonably priced stay in a location that is much more than your average B&B.

Room Tip: Room numbers 4 & 5 are, in my opinion, the best with big windows letting in plenty of light, lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your recent review, you will be sadly missed when you leave us after your long time with us, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, it was always a pleasure having a bit of fun with you at breakfast and you always had a smile.
Thank you again for the lovely review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    58
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
99
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

i am sorry but i stayed in several 4 star hotels but this hotel was not 4 star. allthough the place looks perfectly painted and the service is great it is missing some fundament of 4 star hotel industry. no in room safe, no iron board, no hairdryer. room is clean but very small. flush in bathroom you can hear all night long and unfortunatleywe were on the first floor and had to hear all conversations from other guest in the bar. anyway will not be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubistalles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest

I am very sorry if you were misled by the booking site that you booked on, but we are not and cannot attempt to be a 4 star hotel. We offer 4 star guest accommodation which means a clean comfortable bedroom with ensuite facilities in a friendly environment and a home cooked full English breakfast, rather than a breakfast buffet. Our prices reflect this. We do not have in room safes. We are sorry that you did not find the hairdryer all our rooms have them in the draw. Ironing boards are available on request. Our bar closes around 10pm, we are sorry that you were disturbed before then.

Regards

Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stay for one night at Hilden Lodge in July 2013.we were greeted with a warmed welcome. The room is a bit small and bathroom but very clean to high standards.We ate at the hotel and food is good ,my starter was a delicious garlic mushroom,a thai curry to die for,and I ended up with a homemade cheesecake.the manager is to well helpful, and very friendly,we did not see the chef who made our good meal,as few guest are eating ...wish we saw her so we could asked the recipe for garlic mushrooms..anyway all and all we have a lovely ,comfortable stay and a good night sleep ,came down for breakfast with freshly prepare fruit plater ,selections of cereals and toast.the manager /owner is very attentive, and given us what we asked for extras....we will come again in november.we booked this Hotel and we looked at the reviews in different site so we did not disappoint ourselves really.
I saw another review on here and I think who ever it is ?he or she is looking for a 5 Star Hotel with 24 hour reception and a private butler...no offence... Not a quaint guest house
See you soon Hilden Lodge

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 621Sparky1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely words, Melissa was really pleased wtih your comments about her food, we do hope you stay again with us in the future.
Regards
Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed in Room 11, a double ensuite on the night of Thursday 22 Aug 2013. The pre-booking via LateRooms.com and the subsequent confirmation from the Hidden Lodge was very efficient. However, the levels of customer service from arrival to departure left a lot to be desired. Wayne [--], one of the Managers, opened the front door to me but didn't seem very welcoming...there was no 'Good evening' or 'may I help you with your luggage'. He just confirmed my name, asked me to sign a form and showed me to my room. The room, although quite small, was comfortable but many of the surfaces, including the light bulbs, had significant layers of dust on them. The 2 single mini-biscuits (not packs of 3 but a single biscuit) were a poor offering, in my opinion, bearing in mind the room rack rate of around £90 per night (immaterial that I got a promo rate of £55 as would have expected more, even for that price). I had previously requested upon booking for provision of fresh, instead of UHT, semi-skimmed milk for medical reasons. Wayne promptly brought this to my room on request but when I smelt and tasted it, it had a sour and tainted taste. When I politely mentioned to this to Wayne whilst perusing the dinner menu there was no apology or offer to replace it at all, just a very abrupt 'well, no one else has said anything' comment. On the subject of dinner, although my choice of Gammon, Chips and Peas was hot and quite tasty, I had to wait nearly 10 mins before anyone came to greet me at the bar/restaurant, despite having said on arrival that I'd like to sit down for about 7.15 which Wayne seemed happy with. Yes, there was a 'seek attention' bell on the bar but, as I was the only one in the restaurant at that time, I think it would've been nice to have been greeted once I arrived there. At the end of the meal when the table was cleared there was no 'was everything ok for you' request, just an invitation to have dessert.

The next morning, despite having previously requested fresh milk for my room for my wake-up morning tea, this was not forthcoming. I went along for breakfast, having read a very attractive menu in the room, looking forward to some fresh strawberries and pineapple....only to find the buffet selection had tired and brown looking pineapple chunks, unappetising strawberries and under-ripe green bananas. I helped myself to cereal and returned to my table. Wayne came to the table to take my hot food, tea and toast order promptly but when I politely asked for a refill of my milk jug he was, yet again, acutely lacking in friendliness and enthusiasm and said 'Ok, but there's milk round there (pointing to the cereal/fruit table) that you could have helped yourself to'....not the sort of response I would have expected from an establishment which supposedly prides itself on excellent customer service! The hot food was of a reasonable standard apart from a pink sausage (but, according to a management response to an earlier post, this is typical of Old Gloucester Spot sausages?). There was no invitation to a replenishment of tea or toast nor, again, an enquiry of 'was everything ok for you?'.

Checking out was fairly swift as I only had my dinner and drinks to pay for but, yet again, no enquiry as to whether everything was ok with my stay, no offer of help with luggage and no 'have a safe journey and hope to see you again soon'. In fact, after settling up after breakfast and then returning to my room to have a shower and gather my things, I was simply left to leave my key in a basket and there was no one from Hilden Lodge to be seen anywhere! I would further add that my room was conveniently close both to the reception and dining areas so would have certainly expected to have seen more of Wayne...perhaps not Melissa as I understand that she is the chef so would've been busy with breakfast.

Overall, a lovely establishment on paper...but a real disappointment in practice....a positive management response will be gratefully anticipated and, hopefully, received.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggerandgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We pride ourselves on our customer service so we were extremely sorry to hear that you were disappointed. So many other reviewers have commented on our friendly, helpful, warm and attentive service, that it is very distressing when we fail to hit the mark. There are only two of us to manage our 12 bedrooms and cook the breakfasts and evening meals so we cannot always be on hand to greet guests at the bar and to see them when they leave, which is why we have the seek attention bell. You have made some nice comments about our services. As a manager I do take any and all comments seriously, however I would differ with your statement that I don’t welcome every one when they arrive as I try to greet everybody warmly when they arrive, and we did have, what I thought, was a friendly conversation when I welcomed you into your room. Apologies about the milk, I thought you said it was sweet, so my fault entirely there. Speaking to other guests that stayed on that day, they said our fruits were fresh as we are very keen to make sure they are fresh. Again we are very sorry that you were disappointed and would try to make amends if you wished to stay with us again.

Regards

Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed one night at the Hilden Lodge in August (2013). The communication prior to arrival was excellent. The room was clean and cosy, with a nice ensuite. The member of staff we met, was friendly and very efficient. Breakfast was also delicious, and just what was needed before we ventured back to the racecourse for a very wet festival. Would recommend this to anyone, and would certainly come again if visiting the racecourse as it's very close by car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments, we also enjoyed your stay with us, at least it was better weather this year, than the floods of last year, hope to see you again next year.
Regards
Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Would stay here again. Arrived a little late. A great welcome. We were shown our room it was spotless, to a high standard. We asked if the restaurant was open and the proprietors assured us it was no trouble to make us a meal. This was of a high standard. The bed was comfortable and the lodge was quiet which enhanced a good night's rest before continuing our journey. Would stay again if in the area in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrezeNwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad we were able to help you with food when you arrived, Melissa is always pleased to help as we both are. We look forward to your stay again in the near future.
Regards
Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I spent the last two nights at Hilden Lodge and departed with memories of a well-run hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, spotlessly clean and comfortable room and ensuite, and the most delicious food at both dinner and breakfast. We would be delighted to return should we ever wish to visit Cheltenham again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basso333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne F, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased with your recent review, which we have passed to our housekeeper, and Melissa is also pleased with your comment about meals and breakfast, we do hope you an stay again, and thank you again so much.
Regards
Wayne & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Kings
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.5 mi away
London Inn
London Inn
#3 of 6 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilden Lodge

Property: Hilden Lodge
Address: 271 London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6YG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilden Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilden Lodge is in the Heart of the Cotswolds only 1.5 miles away from the centre of Cheltenham, with close links to Trains & Bus services. We are only 3 miles from the famous Cheltenham Race Course known for the Gold Cup. You can enjoy the local shops & sights as well as venturing out into the Cotswolds where you can enjoy breathtaking views. We have number of guide books to help you decide. With fully cooked breakfast included in the price of your room, hospitality tray with complimentary water & toiletries. We have 12 rooms of varying size - from Single, Double, Twin & Family Rooms, we also have a suite of two adjoining rooms when booked together. Some of our Superior Rooms have Bath & Shower. We also have a small bar with a good selection of wines, beers & spirits. So if you are on business, seeing family or looking for a getaway why not base yourselves here as we intend to make your stay comfortable and a pleasurable one. We are continuing to upgrade the property as we speak, while ensuring that the beauty and integrity of the building remains intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hilden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilden Lodge Cheltenham/Charlton Kings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing