We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and views”
Review of The Royal Exchange

The Royal Exchange
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Hartpury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $33
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Country pub serving real ale, cider and perry. Home cooked, local, seasonal food. Large beer garden, terrace and covered deck with views over the Malverns.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I have driven past this place so many times and had never been in as I assumed it was just a pub. We sat out in the garden as the sun was setting one evening and the views were stunning. The 4 of us all had starters and main courses and all dishes were delicious, although slightly heavy on the cream in some of the sauces. Service good too. The only bug bear was the group of scruffy beer drinking lads that came and sat next to us shouting and swearing loudly and chain smoking roll ups which wasn't very pleasant. It wouldn't stop me visiting again though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Girl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Many thanks for the review you left on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We have noted your comment about the creamy sauces and fed this back to the team. We hope we will see you again soon.
With kindest regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 237 of 264 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Recently under new management with a nice refurb tidying it up but keeping the original features. Good traditional pub food all freshly made and from very local farms. Really nice beer on tap (HPA). Lovely garden with lots of space and nice views. Child friendly, very friendly staff and good service. Will be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Many thanks for the review you left on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and hope that your next experience with us will be just as positive!
With kindest regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have visited this pub numerous times, and overall it has been a good experience. We have had food in the evening in the garden, with it's amazing views, and it was fabulous, though not much for a vegetarian on the menu, the staff were happy to amend items from the menu to suit.
We have also visited on a Sunday lunchtime when the pub has put on a BBQ option, and again the food was lovely.
The garden is lovely, a paved patio area with an amazing view, a large wooden 'gazebo' with fairy lights and heaters, and a large grassed garden with tables, with plenty of room for children. The garden in enclosed, with a gate, so children are kept away from the car park and main road.
The inside of the pub is newly decorated and clean.
The down side is that in the winter, young regulars take root around the bar, making it difficult to get served and the bar staff although friendly make no attempt to ask people to move away from the bar which is very off putting. There also seems to be a bit of an issue with staffing levels, on occasion as more than once we have been told, early evening, that the kitchen can't take any more orders, when last call for food is advertised as 9pm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SharedThoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Many thanks for the review you left on TripAdvisor and I am pleased that, on the whole, your experiences when visiting us have been positive ones.

We have recently updated our menu and there some more vegetarian options as well as always featuring vegetarian specials.

If dining with us, we do offer table service for drinks and if you have not been offered this, please do ask your server.

I was surprised to hear that you have been turned away for food although this could have been to do with space in the kitchen rather than staffing - our current kitchen for the size of establishment (including the outside area) is tiny! When busy, this makes it very difficult for the kitchen team. We are in the process of building an extension which will greatly enhance the size of our kitchen and should mean that you no longer get turned away for food. It should be ready December time.

We hope you visit us again soon and thank you for your feedback.

With kindest regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

excellent menu. great prices. very helpful staff and a lovely refurbishment!! brilliant for lunch :)

Thank lesley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for the lovely feedback you left for us on TripAdvisor! We've just changed the lunch menu for the autumn so do visit us again and see what we may be able to tempt you with!
With kindest regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Experienced brilliant evening dinner here recently, so tried lunch time for a group of 9 friends. Fantastic service, staff smiles all round, excellent quality pub type lunch menu, beer battered cod delicious, even provided smoked salmon salad & chips which wasn't on the menu! Average main meal cost just £7...amazing value! Don't drive by, stop & enjoy the scenic views & the high quality of service & food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Many thanks for the feedback you left on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your dining experiences with us. We have recently updated our daytime and evening menus so do visit us again and see what we can tempt you with! And instead of the scenic views, you can enjoy the roaring log fire (when it gets cold enough!)
With kindest regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Exchange also viewed

Norton, Gloucester
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Royal Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing