We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“saw it once discribed as faulty towers and found its true and got worse!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartpury
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“saw it once discribed as faulty towers and found its true and got worse!”
Reviewed May 1, 2011

we expected clean dry towels, showers that have hot water(warm would be nice) tv's that work. we got shrugs from staff and owners. prices vary depending on who you speak to and who you are. the dog cocks its leg up on table legs so the smell of disinfectant does put you off your food. do watch where you put your feet even outside as the dog does leave what it does any where. the pony does bite and there is a family member staying for the remains of their life and there is an atmosphere. DO NOT check behind beds, under pillows or the bottom of draws or you find used condons, dirty undiees....... its disgusting for kids to find. the place needs a dam good clean. the prices of drinks gets more expensive as the night goes on. some of the doors do not lock so dont forget that. not for women, families or kids. men who fish and dont care, great but dont believe the storys about size or quantity of fish.

Room Tip: pillows are dirty and sheets damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sawdust111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    32
    13
    16
    50
See reviews for
30
31
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

This place is an absolute joke. It is oversubsribed, people are allowed to leave their tackle out on pegs for the whole week, so you are lucky to find a peg, their are no fish in the front lake and about three in, the side lake so if you cant get on the main pool you have no chance. Our rooms had used sheets on the bed when we arrived , and although they were changed , that was the only time in the whole week. Same with the towels , if you wanted clean towels you had to ask, for them. The restaurantis dirty all the time tables are never cleaned off , food still on from the night before, cutlery is disgusting , hard egg on the knives and forks, i wouldent go back here for free.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PINNOCHIO09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hartpury hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights to go to a friends wedding. We were in the new block, the family room was not great and the main bed was not at all comfortable. There was a light right outside the door which blazed all night and inside the room all the lighting was very bright so it was either on or off depending on if you wanted to wake the children up. The restaurant was dirty and the dogs although friendly would have been preferable if they had stayed outside! There was also dog mess around in the mornings which is not pleasant. Location is great and does have the potential to be better but we won't be going back. Would look for a Room in a generic chain if we were stating in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toastiepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed here on a long fishing weekend friday to monday had a lovely weekend. We had a lovely room right over looking the lake on the balcony . Really busy when we arrived nearly every peg around the lakes were taken . The food was really nice , plenty of it especially the breakfasts they were huge . Everyone was really friendly and the 2 dogs were lovely. Will most certain be going back there . For a place with so many rooms for fishermen its brill , so relaxing .

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank coz95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed with our kids for a friends' wedding. I was really disappointed with the standard of room we got for £150 for 2 nights. The room was in the old block, which was cramped and smelt musty (which transferred to all our clothes) with a double and 2 singles squeezed in, It was freezing cold all night, had a tv with dodgy reception, a tiny shower room and unbearably noisy pipes all night and a lumpy bed which made for a very poor night's sleep. For all the noise the pipes made, at least I was looking forward to a decent shower in the morning but alas the piddly water pressure and luke warm water (along with the various insect life that lived in the shower tray) made for the briefest of showers before I came shivering out (unheated bathroom). If it had been budget price then I wouldn't have felt so aggrieved, but I couldn't see the fairness in having to pay the same price for our room as our friends did for their family room in the new block which had loads more space, was warm and had a spacious bathroom with bath and shower. When we questioned this when paying, there was no concern or flexibility, just the response "it's a flat rate". If you're booking here my strong advice would be to check out beforehand whether your room is in the old or new block, and don't go ahead with staying in the old block unless you don't mind very basic accommodation.
On the plus side, the breakfast wasn't bad. But that was it. Don't ever want to go again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elsapelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

From the road building looked pretty and inviting. Closer inspection revealed that this was a facade. Meal started well but very slow to arrive. Cutlery not very clean. Meat of low quality. Food generally unremarkable but we all suffered the consequences.

Grounds seem rundown and tired, No attention to detail.

Avoid unless you are fishing fanatic with cast iron constitution.- Eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemhunterCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

I stayed here for 1 night on the way down to Cornwall in a 'newly refurbished' room - what a dissapointment. The room was dirty, curtains were hanging off, the wardrobe nearly fell on us when we opened the door because the top of it wasn't fixed on, the toilet had blood on the seat, the water ran out when I had run the bath (and I mean ran out - it just stopped and you couldn't get any more out) There was a metal pipe sticking out of the floor about 2 inches that had just been left from the refurb. The only saving grace was the stunning views - I think we had the best room because we were overlooking the lakes and that could not be faulted.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillianth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartpury
2.6 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel
5.8 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre

Property: Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre
Address: Gloucester Road, Hartpury, Gloucester GL19 3BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Hartpury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartpury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watersmeet Hotel Angling Centre
Watersmeet Hotel Hartpury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing