We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Stay”
Review of The King's Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The King's Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Didmarton B&B and Inns
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Charming Stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We almost didn't book here because of some of the other not so favorable reviews, but I'm so glad we decided to give it a try.

First off, our room was fantastic. Fabulous furniture, comfortable bed, vaulted ceilings, claw foot tub. It was well appointed, clean, and did not disappoint. The decor at the Inn and restaurant was so charming and beautiful that I'll be copying a few things at home.

Mark and the bartender were extremely friendly and accommodating, dinner was delicious, service impeccable and the atmosphere was inviting and cozy (Spoof the adorable house pup was definitely a perk). It was a perfect stopover on our trip, and definitely the most affordable part!!

Some of the negative reviews may be from locals looking for something comparable to other local pubs, which didn't feel as refined or high end in my opinion. As for the rooms being dingy or unkept, I was worried but did not find that in any form. Everything was crisp and clean and spotless. Then again I'm not searching for imperfections, I'm looking for a wonderful experience, which is what I got here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Niquienique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    50
    21
    13
    5
See reviews for
24
70
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

When you are asked how you'd like your burger cooked, it can go one of two ways. At this place you end up with a fantastic, juicy burger using local produce and cooked to perfection. We will return! New landlord really friendly and obviously doing a grand job.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank massivefoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Our recent stay in the three bedroom self catering cottage at The Kings Arms could have been very pleasant had the cottage been well maintained and properly cleaned. Instead, the cottage had an air of neglect about it with a low standard of cleanliness and a smell of damp, lots of blown light bulbs, an absence of bedside lights in the main bedroom so that the only lights switched off near the door, shower thermostats which were broken resulting in blistering hot water even at the lowest temperature setting, a kitchen fan with a broken bearing and an oven encrusted with grease.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2014SJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was in Bristol on business and rather than stay in the usual travelodge style place I did a little google search and found The Kings Arms in Didmarton.

The welcome was genuine and the staff were all very open and friendly. I had the smal single room, which though small was very well equipped and decorated. Classy touches such as a towelling robe, decent tea and coffee (a real cafetierre) making facilities and quirky period furniture really set the room apart. The decor was not remotely old fashioned and the wall mural was especially cool!

In the bar, the atmosphere mathced the look and feel. Both were warm and modern! The only old thing was the funky little dog snoozing on a seat.

I enjoyed a few pints of superb condition Bath Gem Ale and the food was comparable. The menu was not vast (and I am always suspicious of menus that are as most often that means pre made food or food that has been hanging around) and well balanced. Local produce and seasonal variety was in evidence as was more 'unusual' cuts of meat and fish. I started with pigeon and local black pudding with a pickled homemade slaw. It was very well cooked and the pigeon especially tender and pink. I followed this with Megrim and new potatoes. Megrim is a great flatfish the French and Spanish love but is hardly seen in the UK...it was perfectly cooked and was served on the bone too which is best as this keeps the fish moist. The dill butter worked a treat too. I spoke with the chef as he popped into the bar to see if all was ok and he was both informed and commited to local produce and lesser known products, hence the Megrim.

My breakfast the following morning was also very good, local produce with dry cured bacon, decent sausage and real bread for the toast, not the damn Mothers Pride rubbish usually proffered!

A great find and my only dissapointment is the fact I don't go to Bristol more.

A few reviewers have commented on the costs, but good honest food, responsibly sourced and with sound provenance is never 'cheap'. Cheap Food comes at a price...!!

Highly Recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennelli_Tribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stopped here for Sunday Lunch as it looked a lovely pub from the exterior. The interior of the pub was lovely, and we were given a warm welcome on arrival and throughout our visit. Our Sunday lunches were nice with massive yorkshire pud sand fresh veg, but at £14 each, we had 2 pieces of meat on each plate. My roast beef was nice, but slightly chewy around the outside. The 2 slices were thin, and only rare in the very middle. Again, for £14 I'd expect melt in the mouth rib of roast beef which proclaimed to be from a local source. This didn't quite hit the mark. Drinks were very pricey and a large glass of white wine was nearly £7. Yes, we did enjoy our visit and our food, but I think the prices are at the top end for a village pub and I don't think the portion size or meat quality matches. We would have left a small tip, as the service we received was good. However, upon getting the bill, I noticed a 10% sc had been added on. I'm sure there is some small print somewhere to mention this, but I certainly never noticed it. I've given 3 stars, which is a good. Not fantastic, but not bad either! As mentioned, the service was very good, and I was very grateful for the free glass of wine due to it being my birthday!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have recently returned back home to Manchester after a 2 night stay at the KA, from the moment we set foot into the bar to check in we were greeted with friendly, polite staff. Our room was excellent and was across the car park in a barn conversion and we had the top floor. The food in the evening and breakfast were excellent. We were made to feel very welcome and were given some good advise involving our travel plans. If we are in the Cotswolds again we will be definitely returning - hope spoof enjoyed his photo shoot !!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the barn conversion rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Booked a birthday meal here but fell quite a bit short of expectations.

Arrived and waited to be seated by the entrance area to the restaurant section for a good 5 minutes. Despite only one table taken in the restaurant the waitress continued to walk passed and ignore us. We then went to the bar and said we have a booking for 19.30 only to be told they had no bookings listed. When we told them we had booked online and received a confirmation from their website we were told ‘oh yeah that system doesn’t work very well’! Luckily, as already mentioned, there was only one other table taken so we were able to get a table. The food itself was actually very nice – albeit a limited menu, and whilst the service was…. Okay, the staff didn’t really go out of their way to ensure things were to our liking. Not once were we asked if we wanted extra drinks so ended up having to go to the bar ourselves due to a lack of visibility of the staff. Now if the place was busy or that was the policy like some other restaurants then I’d be fine with that but this wasn’t the case. The staff seemed to be more bar staff than restaurant staff!

On the whole, whilst the food was nice, the general service was lacking so wouldn’t return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Didmarton
3.3 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
4.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
781 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
504 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
521 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Arms

Property: The King's Arms
Address: The Street, Didmarton GL9 1DT, England (Formerly Kings Arms Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Didmarton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Didmarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King's Arms is a cosy country inn nestled deep within the stunning Cotswold countryside. Combining modern comfort with rustic elegance, each of our cottage-style bed and breakfast rooms have their own individual character. Named after the prize-winning hounds from the nearby Beaufort Hunt, each room includes sumptuous features such as king-size four poster beds, ivory sheepskin rugs and luxurious Feather and Black mattresses and duvets which altogether ensure a relaxing and comfortable night's slumber. Two spacious self-catering cottages are ideal for families and larger parties looking for their own private Cotswolds hideaway. Our restaurant is renowned for using the freshest locally sourced produce. Fresh daily specials are handwritten on the restaurant blackboard and are cleverly complimented with an imaginative selection of lighter snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The King's Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Inn - Didmarton Hotel Didmarton
The King's Arms Didmarton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing