We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fab !”
Review of The King's Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The King's Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Didmarton B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We arrived on a beautiful sunny afternoon and enjoyed a few drinks in the garden before checking out our room, we had room 7 as I wanted a room with a bath, we loved it, spotlessly clean, everything top quality for not a lot more than a travelodge room.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and food was as good as the room. Not over priced and not microwave or pre prepared rubbish, breakfast again was good quality not cheap sausages as served on many breakfasts. Last thing, the staff were all friendly and made the stay one to remember, thanks guys.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshcple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue p, General Manager at The King's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

We are very grateful for your glowing review,as we have only re-opened in February it is tremendously gratifying to know that our refurbishment is matching our guests needs.
Our team have all worked so hard to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and are always thrilled when their hard work is recognised.
Kindest regards,
Steve,Sue and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for The King's Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 168 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The first time I have been in since the refurb. Whilst the dark colour is not my cup of tea, it has been done to the highest standard (the ladies' loo in particular is a vast improvement).
The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The food has improved enormously and so, noticeably has the wine list!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank stantonhousejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue p, General Manager at The King's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Your kind comments are so much appreciated,our new team are thrilled and very proud that all their hard work and dedication is rewarded with such a lovely review.
We do hope that you will come and visit us again very soon.
Warmest regards,
Steve,Sue and a very elated team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had been at Westonbirt for an Easter Egg Hunt, and stopped here afterwards for lunch with our two year old and five year old. Food for adults was very good, my partner chose from the fixed priced lunch menu which was good value though I spent a bit more on the full menu. Drinks prices seemed normal for the area except the Prosecco which at £7 a glass seemed a little expensive. We had booked a table and requested a high chair which was waiting for us. The children's menu was good with quality ingredients, while they were waiting they were given some colouring-in sheets and crayons, and we asked for their food to arrive before ours which it did - all in all great food, great service in a warm and friendly Cotswold pub.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunfarmin1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue p, General Manager at The King's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review,we strive at the Kings Arms to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable visit ( even the little ones) our chefs buy locally sourced produce and pride themselves on an ever changing seasonal menu.
It is always delight to the whole team when we have a lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again very soon.
Warmest regards,
Sue,Steve and all at the KA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having stayed here because my usual hotel in the area was full, I will definitely be returning for another stay.

The Kings Arms is a attractive country pub/inn in S Gloucestershire. It is a bit like a Tardis being much bigger on the inside than it appears from the road . Having arrived at the pub quite late the staff were very welcoming and layed on some bar snacks even though the kitchen had closed.

The bar has a good selection of real ales and the restaurant menue looked interesting. The rooms are full of character and quite unusual. There is no fridge in the room but the staff supply a little bottle of fresh milk on arival so that you can make tea and coffee

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue p, General Manager at The King's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We are so glad that you chose to stay with us at he Kings Arms and that you had an enjoyable stay,it is always a huge boost to all the team when all there hard work and dedication is recognised.
We do hope you will stay again when next in the area
Warmest regards
Steve,Sue and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed in the newly refurbished stable the night before my wedding with my mum and 3 bridesmaids. It was beautifully decorated and well equipped inside. It was a comfortable and an enjoyable stay. We ate in the restaurant on the evening and the food along with the service was brilliant. In the morning we went for breakfast which was to a very high standard...even though I couldn't eat much due to the nerves of my wedding day! The landlord/lady were extremely accommodating and saw to our every need.

I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJaney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue p, General Manager at The King's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Many many thanks for your wonderful review,we were very honoured to be a small part of your big day and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.
May we wish you and your husband all the very best for your future life together,and do hope you will come back and visit.
Kind regards,
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I would second the really nice, friendly, informed and efficient service that the two waitresses gave us from the start. This counts for a lot. Unfortunately there was an extremely loud and obnoxious table really near us in the restaurant - they were so loud we couldn't hear each other talk over even the short distance of our own table. We knew that to ask them to be quieter would cause more trouble than it's worth and it was obviously difficult for the staff too. The lack of soft furnishings and hard floor in the new decor probably does little to help damp the sound.

An honest appraisable of our meal would be that overall it was great but spoilt a little bit by lack of attention to detail. The bread we were offered at the start, rosemary focaccia, was stale - always a worrying start that seemed to sign a lack of awareness of food quality. But starters were good - smoked salmon, my wife's and my main course were outstanding and the chef accommodated a wish for mashed instead of the richer lyonnaise potatoes. The desert of chocolate brownies and ice cream was fantastic.

To escape the noise of the small main dinning area we sat near the great fire place in the main bar. There's a really nice ambience here in this room. Unfortunately they have a problem with the chimney draft and the whole room was covered in a thick smog of wood smoke, almost enough to make you cough.

I think the new paint is elegant in places, and there is a nice new meeting room upstairs which seems to be well light with a chandelier. I like the blackboard paint on the walls where the menus are written in chalk. But it is dark and there's no let-up from the pigeon grey throughout the whole building - all shade and no light.

So over-all everyone is trying hard and deserves more custom.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hersedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and i stopped at the Kings Arms tonight and the best part of the evening was the young girl from Monmouth behind the bar who was on her second day of employment,and worked really hard to make you feel welcome.
The pub has just been refurbished and they have got it horribly wrong whilst very clean far to dark could not even read the very limited menu, the food was very over priced, and the quality not that good fish and chips £11 plus and a small steak and chips £17.00 plus two drinks over £40.00. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue p, General Manager at The King's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Our lovely new member of the team was very touched with your very kind comments,a huge boost in her first week!
We are dismayed that your experience at the Kings Arms did not meet your expectations,we strive to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable visit and are sorry this was not the case in this instance.
We are thrilled with our beautifully refurbished pub and have been thrilled with the positive responses since opening which has also been the response to our food offering.
Warmest wishes,
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Didmarton
3.3 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
4.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
811 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
574 reviews
8.4 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,590 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Arms

Address: The Street, Didmarton GL9 1DT, England (Formerly Kings Arms Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Didmarton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Didmarton
Price Range: $103 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King's Arms is a cosy country inn nestled deep within the stunning Cotswold countryside. Combining modern comfort with rustic elegance, each of our cottage-style bed and breakfast rooms have their own individual character. Named after the prize-winning hounds from the nearby Beaufort Hunt, each room includes sumptuous features such as king-size four poster beds, ivory sheepskin rugs and luxurious Feather and Black mattresses and duvets which altogether ensure a relaxing and comfortable night's slumber. Two spacious self-catering cottages are ideal for families and larger parties looking for their own private Cotswolds hideaway. Our restaurant is renowned for using the freshest locally sourced produce. Fresh daily specials are handwritten on the restaurant blackboard and are cleverly complimented with an imaginative selection of lighter snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The King's Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Inn - Didmarton Hotel Didmarton
The King's Arms Didmarton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing