We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Connemara Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furbo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel looks like a nice lodge. I think we would have enjoyed it more hadn't we just come from two excellent and higher standard places (Inchydonya Island and Aghadoe Highs, go there instead if you can). The place is on the road and you will need to drive to go anywhere. Don't expect long walks along the bay (rocky). The view of the bay is nice (all rooms seem to have it). Very few rooms offer a balcony. My husband had the feeling of being "institutionalised" (many signs with rules, compulsory dinner, families with children not admitted in main restaurant, you need a swimming cap in the pool, the general atmosphere). Breakfast was just fine.

Room Tip: No elevator - take ground floor room if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank merphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 665 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had a three night family break at this hotel and have returned home feeling really rested and very well fed! Our rooms were 201-203 with a partial sea view in 203. The rooms were very comfortable, very clean. Bathrooms though dated were spotless. There was a welcome plate of homemade cookies and lots of bottled water in our rooms when we arrived .
Food was delicious - the breakfast buffet had everything and lots of it. Dinners were wonderful. Staff were really pleasant and efficient and kind to our fidgety children. I would recommend that the kids eat the dish of the day for dinner as it was great value for money.

There is lots to do - swimming pool, pool table, kid's club, tennis courts, playground, walk around the grounds down to the sea. The reception areas are big and very comfortable and the magnificent sea views are everywhere. As the weather was good, we swam in Silver Strand in Barna every day, went walking in Barna Woods (suggested by the hotel newsletter - thank you) We really didn't need to do much else combined with the hotel facilities. There was good music in the hotel on Wednesday night. Our kids attended the kids club and really enjoyed it.
The hotel has a fridge, washing machine and dryer for the use of guests. I found this really helpful.

I would gladly return again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lastchancebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked this hotel at Galway races time. It is about 10Km west of Galway city. Staff are warm and helpful. Breakfast was everyting you could wish for with buffet cold food and hot food served to order and piping hot. Certainly a great start to any day. Dining room staff were just so well organised and friendly. Another couple who joined us were in what appeared to be an updated or new area to the hotel. The room was brightened by a large bay window. They had a safe. The room was spacious and new. On the other hand, we were in the older part. It had a more dated appearance but very comfortable nonetheless. Rooms were cleaned and refreshed every day with clean towels supplied. We did not have a safe which I would have used. More importantly to me I would have liked a fridge or the option one the use of one on request. These two things were my only faults with the room. I like my cups of tea and milk could not be kept in the room with the heat. They do seem to be updating though and I hope these items will be included. I would return if the occasion arises.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are bright and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seedies1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Connemara Coast hotel as part of our "Once in a Lifetime Trip" in July 2014 to Ireland. We were thrilled to be staying at a hotel with a Coast View. When we arrived in our rental car, we were disappointed to see three tour buses there. When I asked about the tour buses, the staff said this is normal.

The rooms: they haven't been updated in 20-30+ years. 20" tube TVs in the rooms, one room key on a key chain, peeling wall paper, scary gas station sinks, WiFi only in the lobby. All rooms have a "Partial Coast View" if you press your nose and cheek against the window. Staff missed our 5am morning wake up call as we found them sleeping on the hotel lobby couches when we check out.

Compared to the other 4-5 star places we stayed, the Connemara Coast was a dump. Don't make the mistake we did to "upgrade" to this hotel if your tour package calls it that. This hotel compares to a Motel 6 in the United States.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
15  Thank Erick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had a weekend break in Connemara recently that included an overnight stay in the Connemara Coast Hotel. I booked the room because of it's convenient location between Galway city and Spiddal. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and we also used the pool and outdoor jacuzzi (great views of Galway bay) before we left. When we arrived, we were given a room with three single beds and no double but the staff were more than happy to move us to another room that suited us perfectly and gave us a nice view of the three Aran Islands off the west coast.

As a gateway to Connemara, I would definitely recommend this hotel as a stopping-off point or a staging point. Particularly if you want to also be close to Galway city's restaurants, shops and bars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dimples09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently brought our 85 year old mom to Galway to where her mom was from. We stayed at the Connemarra Coast Hotel and I have to say the rooms were lovely and had beautiful views of the bay. The staff was great and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. Because there were eight of us they set aside a table to accommodate our large group for our breakfasts and dinners. It was a very enjoyable stay and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Myself and partner stayed here for 2 nights in March. The check in staff were fine and friendly. The problem was the spa area. I specifically booked the hotel for the outdoor jacuzzi. Only to be told it was broken!! I was later informed that the jacuzzi had been broken for a long time, not just that particular weekend.

I was naturally very disappointed, I would not rate this hotel as a four star, rooms are average, as was food. Spa area was grubby and very small, and lastly no jacuzzi.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furbo
2.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,749 reviews
4.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,246 reviews
4.8 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
376 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.5 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connemara Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connemara Coast Hotel

Address: Spiddal Road | Furbo, Furbo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Furbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furbo
Price Range: $125 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Connemara Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Connemara Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Connemara Coast
Connemara Coast Galway
Connemara Coast Hotel Ireland/Furbo, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing