We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Connemara coast hotel Galway not worthy of 4 star status”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Connemara Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furbo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on first week of August 2013. When we walked into our room the first thing we noticed was the smell, which seemed to be due to poor ventilation in bathroom and like the smell was coming from sewage. We pointed this out at reception who said they would check it out, when we asked what they found they claimed that there was no problem with odour. We turned on taps and shower in bathroom and flushed the toilet on numerous occasions, left windows open all night (which was difficult as the sound of the launderette just below window kept us awake all night!!) The door in bathroom was falling apart at the bottom, the side of the bath that meets the floor also was in bad condition. The shower curtain looked dirty. The walls of bedroom needed to be painted and carpet needs to be replaced. Beds very uncomfortable. Water very cloudy in swimming pool sometimes! On the plus side - views were excellent and food was good with
very friendly staff. We paid peak holiday price for this hotel and are very very disappointed - maybe we should have complained more while we were there but decided that we did not need the stress and opted to spend only very little time in bedroom and hotel and tour the beautiful west of Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebelcounty7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 678 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our second visit to The Connemara Coast Hotel.And we were not disappointed.
The service was second to none,the staff were truly brilliant,they were really helpful and not intrusive,they couldn't do enough for us.They all said good morning/ afternoon /Night,
They were all in good form,which is what makes all the difference to a hotel stay.
We had rooms 220 and 222 ,Which were more spacious than most hotels we have stayed in,
The bathroom had all the toiletries required and more,and lovely fluffy white towels. We had a TV and tea and coffee making facilities along with an Iron and Ironing board.The bed was huge and extremely comfortable.
Complimentary cookies were brought to our rooms and later,we were offered a turn down service and mint chocolates .
We had dinner in the restaurant and it was fabulous ,gorgeous steaks,and such great service,food was beautifully presented and waiter was very attentive same at breakfast too.
The views were stunning,we could stroll from the hotel down to the ocean.
The leisure centre was a real bonus with a gym and massages available also.
It is a perfect location for access to Connemara ,Spiddal And Galway city centre.,all within a few minutes drive.
All in all this was one of the best hotel experiences we have had,we will return,our children age 14 and 16 loved it,and thought the staff were very nice to them.
We loved it!!

Room Tip: We had rooms 220 and 220 ,fab views very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed one night at the Connemara Coast and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a lovely hotel in beautiful setting.The location is spot on for touring Connemara, would recommend a visit to Kylemore Abbey to anyone, beautiful place. We were lucky in that when we went it was during the heatwave that gripped Ireland, fantastic time.
I must add that the staff at the Connemara Coast were excellent and very friendl We had a lovely meal in the evening and a very good breakfast.
The only let down was that the room we stayed in was dated, but we did appreciate that it was very late when we checked in (8pm) and availability was limited, so I have to say whilst everything about location, staff and quality of our meals was very good the room did not justify the 200 euro for one night. I cannot comment on the spa facilities as we did not use them do to our limited time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sutton2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was really looking forward to a cocktail on the deck, but the rain came. We had an oceanfront room and it was very nice. We were on a brendan tour and this was a a great hotel selection. Very comfortable beac resort. Nice pub, but were out of connamera whiskey, yikes! The bartender was gracious in trying to hunt some down. I will return to this hotel on our next trip

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are very picturesque
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaileysJazzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Connemara as part of our bus tour. It was a great hotel and we also enjoyed walking the beautiful grounds! The food was very good, the service overall was wonderful. Our entire group was very satisfied and would come back to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vbayliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Connemara for one night as part of a bus tour of Ireland. We were there during the recent July heatwave. We were in the newer section of the hotel and our rooms did have AC. The older section (main section facing main road) did not have AC and we heard the rooms were extremely hot.
The hotel is located right on the ocean, but is not near anything that you could walk to. The coastline is very rocky so can not safely be walked on.
The rooms we stayed in were very nice, updated, sunny and clean. We faced a side street, but it was very quiet, no street noise. We noticed rooms facing ocean had balconies. Kids were happy the Wi-Fi was included and worked well.
The hotel had a very nice pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna rooms. We enjoyed using these after a long day of sight seeing. All people need bathcaps to use the pools (men and women regardless of hair length). I had purchased 2 caps for daughter and I, but not for son and husband, so we had to buy 2. I think they were 2.50 euros.
Had a very nice dinner at hotel that was included with our tour. Dining room overlooks coastline, but was not air conditioned so it got warm in there. Had typical Irish breakfast the next morning-selection of cereals, toast, eggs, etc.
This is a great hotel if you want to be away from the action. If you want to be closer to Galway and nightlife, this would not be a spot to stay.

Room Tip: If you go in warm weather ask for room with AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4travelers_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My Husband and I recently got married in the Connemara Coast Hotel taking with us a bunch from Newry & Naas (That’s how good it is - travelling up to 3 hours was worth every minute!)


From start to finish everything was perfect, this is not an easy "feat" as we are the fussiest people I know!


There are a number of things that make the Connemara Coast what it is, we will try to summarise as best we can:

1) The Feeling
There is a feeling in the Connemara Coast that engulfs you the moment you walk through the door. This feeling of "homeliness" - A home away from home as such!

2) The Staff
Never have we met staff which are willing to go the extra mile as much as this bunch. Special mention to Cathy the wedding coordinator, Anne the manager and Carolina our Polish waitress who were all superb.

3) Attention to Detail.
It’s the small things that get us excited in a hotel and by goodness Connemara Coast comes up trumps in this department.

4) The Food.
The food was excellent from breakfast to lunch to dinner and especially our wedding meal, everyone complimented us on how wonderful everything tasted.


Since our wedding 10 guests have returned individually to the Connemara Coast thus was their enjoyment there.

Do yourself a favour and book a stay and enjoy breakfast looking over the Aran Islands or a walk on their fabulous beach.

If you are considering getting married anywhere consider here because we're positive there is no place that will beat it for all of the above!

The sadness we feel knowing that our time in Connemara Coast, that we had so looked forward to has come to an end is a compliment to all at the Connemara Coast.

We can't wait to return and we know that forever more the Connemara Coast will be a very special place to us!!

R&R

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Culture_Vulture1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furbo
2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,778 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
4.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.8 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,733 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connemara Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connemara Coast Hotel

Address: Spiddal Road | Furbo, Furbo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Furbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furbo
Price Range: $121 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Connemara Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Connemara Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Connemara Coast
Connemara Coast Galway
Connemara Coast Hotel Ireland/Furbo, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing