We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Connemara Coast Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$134
$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clybaun Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Salthill Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$189
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ardilaun Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$144
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
$301
$291
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Crest B&B(Galway)(Great Value!)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Twelve Hotel(Barna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveler rating
309
206
106
43
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
206
106
43
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalway citytennis courtsleisure centregames roomoutdoor hot tubgallery restaurantsea viewan upgradelovely hotelsteam roomsuperior roomrelaxing breakbar foodeach eveningoverlooking galway baykids clubwild atlantic way
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 694 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Connemara as part of our bus tour. It was a great hotel and we also enjoyed walking the beautiful grounds! The food was very good, the service overall was wonderful. Our entire group was very satisfied and would come back to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vbayliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Connemara for one night as part of a bus tour of Ireland. We were there during the recent July heatwave. We were in the newer section of the hotel and our rooms did have AC. The older section (main section facing main road) did not have AC and we heard the rooms were extremely hot.
The hotel is located right on the ocean, but is not near anything that you could walk to. The coastline is very rocky so can not safely be walked on.
The rooms we stayed in were very nice, updated, sunny and clean. We faced a side street, but it was very quiet, no street noise. We noticed rooms facing ocean had balconies. Kids were happy the Wi-Fi was included and worked well.
The hotel had a very nice pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna rooms. We enjoyed using these after a long day of sight seeing. All people need bathcaps to use the pools (men and women regardless of hair length). I had purchased 2 caps for daughter and I, but not for son and husband, so we had to buy 2. I think they were 2.50 euros.
Had a very nice dinner at hotel that was included with our tour. Dining room overlooks coastline, but was not air conditioned so it got warm in there. Had typical Irish breakfast the next morning-selection of cereals, toast, eggs, etc.
This is a great hotel if you want to be away from the action. If you want to be closer to Galway and nightlife, this would not be a spot to stay.

Room Tip: If you go in warm weather ask for room with AC.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4travelers_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My Husband and I recently got married in the Connemara Coast Hotel taking with us a bunch from Newry & Naas (That’s how good it is - travelling up to 3 hours was worth every minute!)


From start to finish everything was perfect, this is not an easy "feat" as we are the fussiest people I know!


There are a number of things that make the Connemara Coast what it is, we will try to summarise as best we can:

1) The Feeling
There is a feeling in the Connemara Coast that engulfs you the moment you walk through the door. This feeling of "homeliness" - A home away from home as such!

2) The Staff
Never have we met staff which are willing to go the extra mile as much as this bunch. Special mention to Cathy the wedding coordinator, Anne the manager and Carolina our Polish waitress who were all superb.

3) Attention to Detail.
It’s the small things that get us excited in a hotel and by goodness Connemara Coast comes up trumps in this department.

4) The Food.
The food was excellent from breakfast to lunch to dinner and especially our wedding meal, everyone complimented us on how wonderful everything tasted.


Since our wedding 10 guests have returned individually to the Connemara Coast thus was their enjoyment there.

Do yourself a favour and book a stay and enjoy breakfast looking over the Aran Islands or a walk on their fabulous beach.

If you are considering getting married anywhere consider here because we're positive there is no place that will beat it for all of the above!

The sadness we feel knowing that our time in Connemara Coast, that we had so looked forward to has come to an end is a compliment to all at the Connemara Coast.

We can't wait to return and we know that forever more the Connemara Coast will be a very special place to us!!

R&R

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Culture_Vulture1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Chose to stay in this hotel as it was close to the gaeltacht area where my daughter was staying and we decided to stay overnight and make an enjoyable family weekend of it when visiting her.
We had booked a triple room as our younger child was accompanying us. The hotel states that all bedrooms have wi-fi access which is not the case - as we were to discover when we attempted to access it from our room. The bedspreads were absolutely filthy as were the carpets in our bedroom and I contacted reception regarding same. We were shown another rooom which had wi-fi access but the bedspreads were removed and there was just a duvet on the bed We had no choice but to move to a doulbe room and our child had no option but to sleep in a camp bed which she found very uncomfortable. there was no reduction in our bill when I queried chage on check -out We went to use the swimming pool but they were in the process of decorationg the hallways leading to it and sections of the carpet were removed -- the carpet that remained was affixed to the floor with tape.
Definitley not a four star hotel--- and overpriced

Room Tip: Hotel states all rooms have wi-fi but was advised by receptionist that it is no available in all rooms. --
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mg1234_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had a one night stay here recently and it truly was a delightful experience. Hotel public areas are nicely maintained and the views are magnificent. Lovely walkway down to the rocky seashore. The room was "ok" but apparently we were staying in the older side of the hotel and could definitely do with updating. However it was spotless. Had dinner in the bar and this was top class. Staff were professional and friendly. Would stay again. Well done to all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bredaCoMayoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews