We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury historic property with abbey set in peaceful surroundings”
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury historic property with abbey set in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at Glenlo Abbey in May and very much enjoyed our visit. The reception rooms of the hotel are beautifully furnished and just waiting for you to relax. The guest rooms are spacious with marble baths and beautiful views from each window. The staff is friendly and attentive. Previous to our visit, the front desk staff was great about answering my e-mail questions. This property makes a great base for exploring the Connemara region. There is an adjacent 9 hole golf course, and the property is set off from town on it's own spacious grounds. Yes, you will want to take a taxi into Galway as parking is a hassle, but when you return, you will enjoy the serene, quiet setting even more. The food is delicious with fresh fruits and vegetables delivered each day for preparation. We enjoyed every meal at Glenlo. If you are in the younger crowd and looking for the pub atmosphere, this might not be the place for you. However, if you want a quiet, relaxing retreat, this is a beautiful property, which I'm sure you would enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tall-Traveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    218
    97
    54
    29
See reviews for
203
625
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a 5* Irish experience, in the way that it should be done. There is no attempt at doing a Starwood lookalike, no Spa, no false smiles, no pretence, just friendly efficient welcoming staff offering great fare, in peaceful surroundings. There are so many hideaways, in which to spend time chatting or reading (or snoozing). It is a few miles or about 15 minutes taxi ride from the city Centre, so you can pop in for noise, craic, music and variety, but it is great to come back to the peace and quiet, looking out over the Corrib. If you are 22, maybe the G, in the city centre, is for you, but for me the Glenlo is a true gem. I like my 5* to have its own grounds, space and a good setting. Yes, I am over 22. Oh and there is a golf course in the grounds, along with a lake and a Abbey.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelmacginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

She promised so much and I'm sure during her halcyon days she saw dignitaries, fat Fianna Fail senators and most definitely Hilary. We were the only guests that I could see that night and when we went to bed that night, I was expecting 'Here's Johnny'. The staff were wonderful, the Pullman Orient Express carriage closed, a rusty relic to glorious empires long gone, a bit like the Glenlo.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Merpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We recently stayed at Glenco Abbey with our three children. We had booked two double rooms, but were upgraded to a suite plus a twin room. Everything was ready for us on arrival, including the extra roll-out bed for our third child.

We cannot fault the hotel. The staff were attentive, rooms incredibly comfortable and the views were very relaxing. Room service tea always arrived within five minutes of ordering!

We also ate in the Pullman restaurant - a great setting and very good food, certainly the best roast potatoes we've ever eaten at a hotel.

We will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank brightspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Stayed for two nights for a friends wedding. Hotel was excellent, such character, wonderful friendly staff, food was fantastic. Would go back time and time again.

  • Liked — The hotel character and friendly staff
  • Disliked — That we didnt stay longer!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotsoflaughs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2008

I'm 22 and stayed there one Friday night with my boyfriend two weeks ago.
We both lead working lives and love to get away, usually to the g hotel, Galway but this time I wanted to choose Glenlo Abbey as it looks beautiful.
The room rate was €240 for both of us, which you can expect from a 5 star hotel on a weekend.
However I was extremely disappointed. Everything was old and outdated. I mean the building itself is lovely, and the reading rooms are nice, but we were put into a downstairs room, the carpets were extremely light, there was a bulb missing in one of the lights, the bed was hard with very old blankets, the robes were threadbare and the shower was literally a drain in the floor, seriously.
Like you would get on a ferry.
We walked to the nearby pub for a bite to eat and some atmosphere, when we returned around midnight our room had been refreshed which was nice.
The next morning we got up early for breakfast, there was a great buffet but the fry was terrible, the scrambled eggs tasted like butter and there was so much grease on the plate it was sickening.
We were preparing to leave around 11 when there was a light knock at the door and then one of the staff opened the door with their own key and walked in, mumbled an apology and said "I'll come back later". I was absolutely horrified that this happened.
I was extremely dissatisfied handing over the €240 at the end of it and can honestly say that while the building was impressive, I left with an extremely dissatisfied, and slightly greasy taste in my mouth, and I won't be returning.

  • Liked — The old building was pretty
  • Disliked — The price, the food etc etc
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rodeokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

Wow--this was the nicest castle hotel I've ever stayed in. I loved the details of the room, including homebaked cookies in a cookie jar. We also received a free upgrade upon check-in and was greeted with superb service. The room was fantastic, very spacious, big tv, and 2 desks.

Even the waiter in the bar below was extremely friendly, offering to bring us some brochures as we just arrived and have not had time to explore Galway yet.

We also played golf at their 9-hole course. It's a good course for our level (intermediate) and we enjoyed the sunshine. The course was surprisingly cheap by the way! The green fee was only 30 euros!

I'd definitely return.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moolie_loo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,682 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,049 reviews
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,747 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Property: Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing