We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely experience”
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely experience”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We found this hotel to be superb in every way,staff were very attentive and friendly,we were made welcome from the moment we arrived,room was so comfortable and spacious,perhaps a little dated as you would expect as it is an old Abbey.We had dinner at the Pullman resturant which is an old coach from the Orient Express,Food and service were superb,defnitely 5 star, enjoyed the whole experience,Thanks to our family for sending us to this gem of a place,ww will return,

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryI4167AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear MaryI4167AJ,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and I am delighted to read your comments regarding our friendly and efficient front office and restaurant teams. The team pride themselves on exceeding our customer’s expectations and we were delighted to receive your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards,
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    212
    93
    54
    29
See reviews for
197
599
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
limavady
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

If you like character, charm, comfort, and elegance, this is the place to stay, we had a wonderful time at the Glenlo abbey this is truly worth its 5 star award.
Through an error of "HOTEL CLUB" booking company, we arrived to find we were not booked, the staff in glenlo abbey did their utmost to make our stay in galway an experience we would enjoy, we were upgraded to an idyllic suite which overlooked the gardens, the staff were friendly and very accommodating, and we will definitely return, but will book directly with them in future.
Thank you all very much for a lovely time in Galway.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank averil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear averil w,

That you so very much for your kind words and we are happy that you enjoyed yourself while in Galway, more importantly with us here at Glenlo Abbey.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Galway.

Warm Regards,
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Checked in here for a special occasion today, which has now been completely ruined. This is a horrible, horrible, horrible excuse for a hotel. Room is far from 5* : a low 3* at the most. Lumpy, uncomfortable bed. The bedroom walls are filthy. The dated, cheap and damaged 1990s furniture has seen better days. Bathroom is disgusting - dirty (and tiny) bath, stained tiles, filthy grout and cracked, filthy sink.

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Aipco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Aipco,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are disappointed that you had an unpleasant stay. We pride ourselves in offering a clean, comfortable and relaxed experience in Glenlo Abbey and are saddened to read that we did not achieve this during your stay. I can assure you that your review has been noted with management and in particular the cleanliness issues you mentioned, as this certainly is not the norm.

Since we took over the Glenlo Abbey Hotel over a year ago we have been continually refurbishing over 20 of our bedrooms, along with updating the furnishing and fixtures throughout the hotel and as such we are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your overall experience.

If you would like to contact me directly to discuss further, the details of your review I would welcome the opportunity to discuss them with you.
My details are stefan.lundstrom@glenloabbey.ie.

Warm Regards,
Stefan Lundstrom

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
376 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Hotel is very nice and confortable. Ample rooms with very nice view of the green golf course.
The Breakfast Buffet very complete and the cooked part to it a la carte was well done.
I visited this Hotel based on the high recommendations on Trip advisor as well as local friend from the Board of Turism
My complaint is referred to the terrible sleep time we had due to the noise generated by our neighbour from 0.30 pm to 3 pm. This people had two room one next to us and the other across the corridor and they spent two hours going from room to the other speaking in loud voice and slamming doors. I reported to the night manager on duty (Ali ) who reacted positevely , spoked to the noice people buy no attention was payed to his words. On the following morning I explained the situation to the General Manager but nothing happened other that some protocol words. Any reaction from him could have worked.
I would say that anything between a minimum bottle of wine to a reimbursement of the cost of the night spent could have been appropriate.)
But there was no reaction at all. Not a single minimal attention.
At that time anything culd have worked perfectly.
Two weeks later without any reaction its late. Recntly having dinner with friends at the local golf club we talked about the issue and was a general opinion that they will have in mind when deciding to golf in Galway
I write this lines with the purpose of letting this manager know that there are many options of hotels availabble and customers fidelity to a hotel its build with paying attention to the customers needs.
My intention was to sleep that night.
We customers are the ones that generate the revenues that pay salaries to managers. and profits to the board.

best regards

Room Tip: Be sure that you obtain a quiet room in the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Marcelo P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We understand that each guest stays with us for a variety of reasons, some attend family weddings and celebrations, others are on romantic breaks and others looking to enjoy the local golf, fishing and tourist attractions that make Galway such a popular tourism destination. We were saddened to read that your stay was interrupted from noise coming from other rooms and thank you for bringing it to the night manager’s attention at the time. It is unfortunate that his attempts to address the matter with the other guests failed. We are also sorry that you feel that the duty manager the following morning did not react in a more favourable manner to your complaint. Rest assured that we value each and every guest and strive to offer them the best level of comfort, service and attention and apologies that we failed you in this instance.

We will be discussing your review with management team, both the positive comments about rooms, views and dining, and the negatives about noise levels and service standards. We apologise again and we dearly hope to welcome you back to stay with us at some stage with a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for you.

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed in the Glenlo Abbey for two nights and brought a friend with me. Both of us were delighted with its classic elegance. The room was very comfortable and clean and the drawing rooms around the hotel were lovely. I'm surprised to read negative reviews! Breakfast was in a charming room, with wonderful windows and superb views and there was plenty of choice. We dined in the Pullman restaurant both evenings and had great fun and delicious food. The waiter who looked after us was a pet as was the waitress, the second night. In particular, I thought that the staff were lovely - very friendly, very charming. My only criticism would be that the price of a glass of wine is rather high! Being very familiar with many 5 star hotels, I would definitely rate the Glenlo as one. A delightful stay. Superb! I will most certainly return!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniloo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Daniloo62,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your “superb” stay with us and thank you for taking the time to mention some of your highlights in your review. We will pass on your kind words to the service staff in our excellent Pullman restaurant. We look forward very much to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Warm Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Do you want memories of guests and locals singing inside the pub IN the castle? Do you want friendly staff, and the feel of a real castle? Come here! Do you want good food, sound bed, and actually hear a Babbling brook outside of your room? A year later - and my 17 year old Son and I still remember playing golf in the soft, drizzling rain outside, knowing we were but steps away from late Summer warmth of the luxurious castle inside....
I can still see my son cautiously trying to pet a large beautifully feathered but grumpy parrot (perhaps the parrot was yearning for a pint?).

Come here - like this Yank did, and leave with memories so dear of Dad and Son.



(or you can do the tired Radisson thing- it's ok too)

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hubbard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear hubbard k,

While we would dearly love to take the credit for this wonderful review and treasured memories, we must truthfully point out that it’s not our hotel, perhaps kind words should be shared with the rightful owners…we are guessing perhaps the Abbey Glen Hotel in Clifden?

However we are cheekily inviting you to call in and sample the delights ( minus a parrot ) that the Glenlo Abbey hotel can provide on your next trip to Galway.

Warm Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The TripAdvisor reviews on Glenlo Abbey were fair and accurate. The hotel feels like it was refurbished in 2000 and has festered ever since.

The good stuff includes:
1. Pancakes at breakfast were the best I have had
2. Nice location with a golf course outside
3. Free wifi across the whole hotel + free parking

The mediocre stuff included:
1. Staff were keen but poorly trained + managed so it is all a bit amateurish
2. Bedroom decor is dated but not bad

The bad stuff included:
1. The worse bed I have slept in - it slumped 6 inches when I sat on it
2. Towels are threadbare
3. Cigarette burns in the net curtains

All in all it would be a reasonable hotel for EUR 100 per night but at EUR 200 per night it is better avoided. I couldn't recommend the Glenlo Abbey and wouldn’t stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear BertBantham,

Thank you for a comprehensive review of our hotel, the good and the not so good.
Firstly the good, we are delighted you enjoyed the pancake breakfast and will pass on your kind words to the breakfast chef and team.
Secondly, that you enjoyed the location, the ample parking and hotel wide wi-fi. Of course we thank you also for highlighting areas that we need to improve upon, and can assure you that we will be reviewing your comments at management meetings.
We strive to offer a friendly professional service and your comments will help us to focus on areas for improvement for training. We review and refurbish rooms and décor on an ongoing basis and apologise again that your stay with us fell short of our normal high standards.
We hope to welcome you back to stay at some stage in the future.

Warm regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Property: Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing